We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Hostel
Ranked #4 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here for one night in July. Excellent location, just a short walk from the central station / bus station. Super friendly staff and the room was large and clean. The bathrooms was also clean. All in all good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Central Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very nice and cozy hostel. Enough space in double-bed room, great style and nice price. Plus, you get breakfast for free there ;) This hostel is a bit further from Old Town but it is still 10 min walk. By the way, way have yard and barbeque place - suits for those who love outdoor parties;) nice price and quality ratio.Thanks!

Room Tip: double bed room is much better than twin room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

It's a problem that the kitchen is to small for all the guests and it would have been nice if there were som brown bread in stead of all the white bread in the morning. But all in all a nice place to stay for resonable money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank jeanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Skoladan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We really enjoyed this hostel! We had a private double bed room w/ a shared bathroom, but it was right outside our door and always available, so it felt like our own. It is a 5 minute walk to old town Riga which is stunning, buses and trains are only 5-10 minutes away, plenty of places to eat & shop nearby. The staff was also excellent and very friendly. The hostel also provides coffee, tea and coco 24 hours which was nice since it was chilly!! Also you can use their kitchen any time, which is a bit small, but has everything you need AND the offer a little breakfast in the mornings from 7-11am which consists of juices, toast, a TON of different spreads (butter, cheese, jam, etc.) cereal, milk and of course coffee. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and for the price you can't beat it! This hostel was better than some of the hotels we've stayed out throughout our journey!

Room Tip: Room 24 was our room and it was very cute and in a great location of the hostel
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Great location! Not quite in the Old City, but within a 10 minute walk. It's closer to where the locals shop and eat! The staff is friendly and knowledgable. Free breakfast which includes bread, spreadable cheese/jam/butter, cereal, milk, juices, coffee, and tea! Sundays they splurge and have hard boiled eggs along with fruit and veggies too! Free wifi and a computer to use in one of the common rooms. I stayed in a five bed mixed dorm room and had no issues. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned daily, 24 hour reception. Laundry facilities available, close to the train/bus stations. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polie175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stay in this hostel once night each time (usually between flights) and every time I can say only the best about it. Each time I choose private double room with private or shared bathroom. Hostel is very clean and service is very friendly. They make you feel like a home :)

Last time we had early flight and they even offered to give breakfast to us earlier than it's suppose to be. And all evening we could go to kitchen and drink tea and coffe for free. Also wireless internet is for free. Just excellent place to stay in Riga!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 110 in Riga
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#15 of 110 in Riga
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#1 of 110 in Riga
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
Seagulls Garret Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Address: Ernesta Birznieka-Upisha iela 20, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: £10 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing