We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Central Hostel
Ranked #4 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Marseille, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We staid just one night in Riga, the location was pretty good, even though 15min by walking. Advice: taxi, really cheap in this country 5€ to go to downtown, 8€ from the port to the hostel.
the Hostel Looks clean, and the room we booked for 4 people was quiet big ! The personal was really nice and smiling.
To sum up: cheap / clean / well located (a bit far away if you are lazy)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujuseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    92
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
67
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

There were no problems with this hostel.

I liked:
Big room - we had th biggest room in the place, I think it was room 7 apt 2
Clean bathroom - only share with people in your "apartment" so never more than 8 people
Wifi works in the rooms
Free towel
Reception will book your taxi so it's waiting for you in the morning

Dislike
The breakfast was very basic, didn't bother with it after the first day
Reception staff could have been friendlier - they were nice but not overly friendly
The bed was a big piece of foam and only got one tiny pillow

NOTE: this hostel is not that 'Central'. I wouldn't say the area around it is "unsafe", it's a typical rigan st but I always had someone walking with me. If you're someone who is a bit jumpy walking alone at night I'd recommend staying somewhere closer to old town.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the biggest for a private
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 656melaniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good price,clean,rooms are big breakfast is good. ı stayed in another hostel when ı was in Riga at winter, however this hostel is better. It is not easy to find hostel like this. Only problem is more far away from city center ıf ı compare with other hostels,5 minutes more walking not much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spent 10 days at the Central Hostel before starting my Erasmus Experience and while waiting to find an apartment.
I can say only good things about this place. People were extremely nice and friendly. The room really spacious and well-designed. The location is not properly central but if you've been to Riga before it takes just 15 minutes walking and it's basically impossible to get lost. Plus, the department of Foreign Languages is just around the corner and bus stops really close as well.
Great first place where to stay if you need to move to Riga or simply spend a few days in this amazing city!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IC_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I had a very nice stay in Central Hostel.. I felt like at home. The lounge is like your own living room, cosy and comfortable and so is the kitchen. I was impressed about the selection of herbal teas and there was a coffee maker with real coffee.There was free internet in the lounge and in the hallway and I could use it any time I wanted. No queing. I would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerttu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Positive points: free wifi and internet computers, friendly staff, quiet hostel and neighborhood, close to bus station( 15 min by foot). Cheap hostel.
Negative points: there isn’t a lavabo in the single room, the free breakfast is only juice, jam and bread.
In general is a good place to stay in Riga, with good cost-benefit relation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gbrm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krosno
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The triple-bed room is smart and clean. Toilette and shower also very clean. There was no noisy. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only minus is the very small kitchen, but breakfast was quite good. Great place for weekend in Riga.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kowcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#62 of 109 in Riga
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#37 of 109 in Riga
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
0.6 mi away
Seagulls Garret Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Property: Central Hostel
Address: Ernesta Birznieka-Upisha iela 20, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing