We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and inexpensive hotel”
Review of Annabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Annabella
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly and inexpensive hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Very friendly small hotel, very good from the point of view on staff and pricing. Room and bathroom were clean and well maintained, offering good level of comfort and quiet sleep, thanks to location. Reception is open 24h, parking is free and under video surveillance, free hi-speed wireless internet is available. Breakfast was included in the price, very basic but OK to start the day. One of the Riga's largest shopping centres is located few hundreds meters from the hotel, you may spend a half of the day there.

On the other hand, the hotel is located quite far from the centre, however bus/trolleybus stop is near about 30m from the hotel, estimate 15-20 min driving a car or riding a bus. I have also noted that some equipment in the room (e.g. TV) should be repaired or replaced.

Conclusively would stay at this hotel again and recommend as a good budget accommodation for a short-stay or transit travellers in Riga, suitable both for single or family trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheese13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I was on a training course in the same area of the city so the location suited me down to the ground. Taxis to the city centre are cheap and there's tram & bus stops within minutes of the front door.

Rooms were huge and very comfortable. Likewise the bathrooms. I'd certainly return here if I were visiting Riga again. It's great to find a reliably decent hotel in this area. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, providing a very welcome "tea time" of an evening where tea and biscuits are made available in the breakfasting area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ortuther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Very nice hotel just a bit difficult to find, it is located outside the city center on the north side of town. Room was very good and so was breakfast.

  • Liked — Nice big and confortable room and bath.
  • Disliked — Location hard to find
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We are a Dutch couple and a 20 years-old Student son from Amsterdam. This year we travelled The Baltic. One week in Tallinn (very charming), one week in the Gauja National Park (rural) and the last week in Riga. We went by our own car and took the ferry from Rostock (Germany).

I found the Annabella Hotel via Trip Advisor and booked a triple Junior Suite via Internet. The contacts I had with the staff this spring when booking the hotel were very friendly, quick and highly professional.

When we travelled to Riga (early August) it was a bit difficult to find the hotel but as we had a good map of the Latvian capital we finally found the place where we would stay the last nights in the Baltics.

Well, it was great !! The welcome was charming and helpfull concerning our car. We could park in in a place where there would be constant video surveillance.

The room was spacious and really spotlessly clean. The bathroom was enormous and the beds were truely comfortable.Coffee- and tea making fascilities were in the room and every day clean towels. We als had a smaal fridge.

Breakfast was really good; a kind of buffet. Not the buffet you will find in the expensive posh places, but more than adequate. And again : It was so clean !!!

The staff, Latvian Girls, all spoke very good English and were so helpfull and genuinly interested in our plans. And : constantly hoovering the place and polishing the numerous glass doors.

The only -minor- disadvantage of the Annabella Hotel is that it is located in the outskirts. At night you cannot go for a walk and have a drink somewhere. But : after having been downtown all day it was nice to relax and "chill" in the room or outdoors on the small terrace. The bus stop is next to the hotel and it is roughly 15 minutes by bus to the centre. We bought a Riga-Card which gave us unlimited travel on all the busses, trams and trolly-busses, plus entrance to most museums, a free sightseeing (by coach and on foot) plus reductions to a lot of things.

My son especially enjoyed the Wireless Internett at he hotel. He had his lap-top with him and could make contacts with his friends home in The Netherlands.

So : we enjoyed our stay in the Annabella Hotel very much. It couldn't have been a better choice. For 5 nights we paid 300 Lats

If you consider to have a nice, clean, safe stay in Riga I highly recommend the Anabella Hotel !!! Especially if you come by car.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — too far from the centre
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JanfromAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

This really is a very nice hotel set some way from the centre of Riga but still simple enough to reach by public transport. A tram from the city centre took about 20-25 minutes depending on traffic, but the hotel wasn't far from a tram-stop and was set in a really quiet residential area.

The staff at the hotel were all brilliant and were only to pleased to help with any questions. Breakfast was also very good and whilst there wasn't any hot food the choice was really good and everything was kept topped up.

Our room was nice and large and modern (semi-luxury double costing 50 GBP per night) and the bathroom was also new and clean.

Careful when walking back from the bathroom with the lights off as there is a pillar in the middle of the room :o)

Overall, this hotel is really nice but somewhat out of the centre. However, it isn't all that far and I doubt there are hotels at this price that are anywhere near as good in the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank torko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

After booking a flight to Riga at the end of 2006 I decided I would book a hotel early also. After hunting the net for accommodation in Riga, I ended up at [--].
I looked through several options, wanting somewhere that looked relatively nice but yet seemed good value for money. I found Hotel Annabella after a little searching, reading through it's description it said that it was a family run business, the building recently having been updated. I wasn't quite sure where in Riga it was situated at the time of booking, but didn't really think about it that much at the time.
When we arrived in Riga, driving though the old town area I thought to myself "hope the hotel isn't far from the centre". The hotel is out of the centre, but this isn't a problem at all, it is only about 10-15mins from the centre by bus, there is a bus stop just round the corner, with a choice of 5 buses travelling into the centre regularly, you shouldn't have to wait any longer than 5-10mins. The bus journeys only cost 0.20 lats each, so it's an easy and cheap mode of transport. The Hotel is situated in a quiet area which is nice when you want to sleep, but you are only a short bus ride to the hustle and bustle of old Riga, the bus services run very late also, so no need to worry about having to be back early!!
The facilities in the Hotel were highly satisfactory, well equipped room with television, the option of internet access (using your laptop). Each room also has lavatory, sink and large shower, all very new and well kept.
There is also a sauna in the hotel, although we didn't use it.
Breakfast was included in the price which was really good, a double room only costing 45 lats per night!!!! Breakfast was buffet style, with lots on offer, cereal, toast, cold meats, fried egg, yoghurt, fruit, orange juice, bottled water, tea or coffee.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, helping us out with bus times, shopping suggestions etc, couldn't have been nicer
I was so impressed I have booked it again for September, when I am over to watch Northern Ireland play Latvia.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank bigashfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

Recomended Place.
The staff were always polite and helpfully giving directions to locations, museums, pubs, restaurants and helping with what public transport i needed. The hotel room was spotless, bright and very modern. Breakfast was great every morning with a large selection of teas. The hotel its self is set back off the main road so no traffic noise over night, i also noticed good parking facilities so am planning to hire a car on my next trip.
Best of all is the price, just love it.
A+++++

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank Pixy-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
5.7 mi away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#77 of 109 in Riga
38 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
183 reviews
6.8 mi away
Xcelsus
Xcelsus
#67 of 109 in Riga
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Hotel Riga VEF
Days Hotel Riga VEF
#57 of 109 in Riga
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Viktorija Hotel
Viktorija Hotel
#40 of 109 in Riga
497 reviews
2.4 mi away
Avitar Hotel
Avitar Hotel
#64 of 109 in Riga
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annabella

Property: Annabella
Address: Caunes iela 15, Riga 1006, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Annabella 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Annabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annabella Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing