We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bhoemian hostel!”
Review of The House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House
Ranked #35 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Riga
palermo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bhoemian hostel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

It's a wonderful place: excellent atmosphere "old bohemian style", nice host and a lot of facilities: you can use the kitchen, you can have coffe or tea whenever you want and if you are a smoker, you can have a cigarette in a charming old style balcony, typical of Riga. It's really like to stay at home...the home of yours dreams!
For me, it's one of the better place in Europe. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miravale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Karlis was a fab host - he lets you know where and and where not to go; the hostel is great - the comfy lounge area makes meeting the other hostel dwellers easy (I think I eventually met everyone who was there in the 3 days I stayed there); the dorm is big enough that it doesn't feel crowded; the kitchen is better than most other hostels I've stayed in; the bathrooms are adequate (prob The House's worst feature, but not bad enough to warrant a complaint). I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again, and the location (in the new town) wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantosphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

make sure you confirm your arrival time, as the hostel is not staffed 24 hours a day......

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2006

After choosing to spend the first weekend ever in the Baltic states and Riga have become like an addict and as soon as we stepped down the airplane trap wanted to go back again. Riga is a must and "The House" hostel is by no doubt the most adorable place I have ever stayed at when abroad and it is certainly not the first experience with hostels. You feel so welcomed there and so at home, that it is hard to resist the temptation to stay longer in bed in the mornings, reading a newspaper and drinking a cup of coffee. The old apartment situated in the very centre in Riga has been turned into a small journey itself with all the rooms in different styles and the living room wich is just outstandingly cozy and home like. old wooden floors, high ceilings, beautiful bathroom, the rooms itself and great music collection is spoiling, as well as all the small cozy&crazy bars in the surrounding area. Ever thought about going to Riga. DO IT and do it soon. And if I would be a marketing specialist I would definately try to promote "The House" as it is definately the best and the cheapest hostel I have been so far. It was like good music with a sip of calvados...

  • Liked — the staff, the surroundings, the idea of the interior, internet and kitchen facilities, the price
  • Disliked — there were not so many other people ate the hostel at the time I was there
  • Tips/Secrets — go across the street to gallery istaba, they serve wonderful food, Theatre bar is a must, I jeard it from the locals and experienced it myself. They had song wars in the bars and luckily there were also some french people there so lthe Latvians got at least some competition
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank matisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Residence Riga Barona
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Julia Lacplesa Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barons Bed&Breakfast
Barons Bed&Breakfast
#19 of 63 in Riga
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mr. Hostel
Mr. Hostel
#14 of 141 in Riga
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
MultiLux
MultiLux
#18 of 63 in Riga
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House

Property: The House
Address: Krishjana Barona iela 44, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing