We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Riga Centre
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Ufa, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good price, good location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for three nights. Mostly flawless experience: hotel was easy to find, no problems at check-in and very kind and efficient staff on check-out. Perfectly located: next to railway station, large ORIGO mall, 15-20 minuts of walk Old Riga, parks etc.
Big plus: they correctly handled blocking and unblocking deposits on my credit card! A big plus to hotel staff!

Room was very spacious, i really appreciated silent air-conditioning, slippers, tea-coffee making facilities, bathroom amenities and dental kit (on request), nice small "wellness area" in the basement. Breakfasts were acceptable for such duration of stay.

Not appreciated: no free drink water on arrival (at least small bottle, cmon) and large window in the bath room, which theoretically allowed all the people from highest floors of opposite building to "enjoy" viewing me naked during shower. Would be good to make that window completely mat or mirrow or provide curtains - whatever.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms, as they have windows in bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tx3hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    271
    70
    20
    6
See reviews for
72
201
72
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montcuq, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a short stay in late May 2014 at this hotel and had quite a few issues with the room(s) I was given.
Before everything I have to say the hotel is conveniently located, though not directly on Elizabeth Iela (though not far), in a district now under reconstruction, close to the Central Station.
Style of the hotel mixes both the old district (art nouveau) style, with a more modern one.
There is a small (paying) parking in front of the hotel, otherwise few options of parking in the neighbourhood.
Wifi is free and effective.
Staff is young, enthusiastic, willing to help and (most of the time) competent.
Breakfast area is clean, food is fine, varied (but music is not, if you are a fan of U2 it's OK though )))
I started my trip within the hotel by a nice but small room (I suppose that since I booked on internet, they gave me what was available then, hotel beeing full). There was no bath although I mentionned it in my reservation, just a shower. But hotel being full, they wouldnt change my room, arguing no other room available.
Then I had a first issue : electricity suddenly went down. I complained and within minutes had another one, with a bath !
But... the conditioner of this room did not work. When I noticed the temperature started to reach 23C in the room I asked the overworked technical staff to help but they could not change anything. As I started to loose my patience they understood my situation and proposed me a superior room which I accepted. All in it was the best room of all, although with a shower.
After all a good stay, but I hope that after the first "installation" period is over this hotel will work better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice new hotel, close to old centre. brand new rooms and interior. very spacious rooms. Mediocre breakfast. Expensive drinks, but nice bar. upon entering my new room, i saw that the toilet had been used and not cleaned, not even flushed. Very nasty. Upon making a photo and informing the staff, I was not offered a drink at the bar while waiting for the cleaning. very careless.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed one night only. Nice hotel, clean and lovely in good location. We got there at 16:00 and checked in. I was having a shower and my girlfriend was just resting on the bed. Someone opened the door. Then when opened without warning and a hand stole the key card from the card slot! The person then shut the door and scooted off. My girlfriend, half naked, jumped off the bed to chase the idiot person down the corridor. The person then simply handed the card back and said sorry in Latvian and ran off. We complained to the hotel management who it was ONE OF THEIR STAFF!!!! The hygiene manager then promptly marched the idiot maid back to the room to apologise.
The excuse given by the hotel manager was that the maid had forgotten her spare key. However, if that was the case she would have gone to reception and asked for another key. That key could only have opened that room anyhow. I believe the truth is that she heard I was having a shower and she took a chance to steal the key and that by the time I had realised what had happened, because the lights went out, she would have been able to hand the key to another person to come and burgle the room later when we were out in the town for dinner. She hadn't thought that my girlfriend would jump up and chase her. This is a serious security breach for guests and the cleaning staff are clearly not trustworthy and honest.. Maybe even more of the staff are in on it? Who knows! The shame of it is that the hotel itself is really lovely and I suspect the majority of staff are good as we found in the restaurant and reception.
Another negative, although minor was that the air con was weak, during hot weather.
Positives were, easy low cost on site parking, clean and spacious, great breakfast selection and in a good central location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front tend to be more shady..useful in summer when temps get to 32C
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureRigaCentre, General Manager at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Davide L,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the shock you experienced during the incident with our staff member.

It is of utmost importance to us to ensure our guests feel safe and we certainly failed to meet our own internal policies and procedures, I have taken serious steps to ensure this can never happen again. We appreciate your feedback and if you would like to get in contact with me directly I would be happy to speak with you about this matter.aigars.gerhards@accor.com

Aigars Gerhards

General Manager
Mercure Riga Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
455 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was there a week after the hotel started activities. I felt I was there before they should have started operating. Place is nice but lack some critical things (water takes minutes before comes hot, wifi signal very weak in certain areas,...). Those are problems that hopefully can be fixed. Worst of all (and that I will never accept) was the last night when staying in my room after 11pm (already in bed) somebody just opened the door and came inside the room (!!??). He just saw I was inside, said sorry and left. Felt very unsecured staying in a place where people (dont know who) can just enter in my room in the night without even knocking the door (I asked an explanation to reception but they did not know the reason). I travel often to Riga. First and I am afraid last time in this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armando_74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureRigaCentre, General Manager at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Armando_73`s,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay with us here in Mercure Riga Centre.

I am sorry that you were unhappy with several aspects of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the mistaken late night entry of your room. This was our staff member with incorrect information.
We appreciate your comments and rest assured we will continue to improve our service.
If you would like to get in contact with me directly I would be happy to speak with you about these matters. aigars.gerhards@accor.com

Aigars Gerhards

General Manager
Mercure Riga Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#26 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#17 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Riga Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Riga Centre

Property: Mercure Riga Centre
Address: Elizabetes iela 101, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Riga Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel located in the very heart of the historic Riga and housed in a beatiful 1901 Art Nouveau building, Mercure Riga Centre is 400 metres from the Old Town and next to the Riga Train Station. This 4-star designer hotel offers air-conditioned accommodation with free access to a fitness centre.The elegant rooms at Mercure Riga Centre will provide you with an LED FHD TV. The spacious private bathrooms also come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Extras include a minibar. Privilege rooms come with slippers and bathrobes, 40” TV and Nespresso machines.Guests of Mercure Riga Centre can relax in the on-site spa centre, which is perfect for body and mind regeneration. Our guests can relax while enjoying various treatments and facilities including massages, whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath.They are also welcome to dine at the hotel restaurant, which will offer grand new concept by using open kitchen "teppan", as well as unique chance for customers to follow up the ice cream making process and of course taste it afterwards. Fresh pasta and exquisite wine card with selected wines. Summer terrace will be available as well.Lobby Bar located on the first floor of the hotel will be a perfect venue for informal business meetings and convivial evenings.Mercure Riga Centre is 13 km from the Riga International Airport. The hotel is within a walking distance to the city’s main sights, such as the Freedom Monument or the Dome Square. Outstanding interior design, proximity to the landmarks of the old town along with great business and leisure facilities guarantee a comfortable stay for all the guests visiting Riga for recreation or professional purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Riga Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing