We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so excited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Riga Centre
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not so excited”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I always try to stay in Accor hotels, when possible, cause here you can expect consistent level of service provided. Therefore I was quite excited knowing they opening Mercure in Riga - as travelling here regularly, didn't missed the opportunity to try. But some things didn't impressed me.
Hotel is brand new, opened just 1-1,5 month ago. However it's placed in old building, but absolutely fresh, you can even feel remains of paints and plaster smell. There is a parking lot for appr. 50 cars in front of hotel. Location itself is not the most premium in Riga - while it's still pretend to be in city center, it requires a certain walk to old city.
Positive: absolute cleanliness & freshness; free wi-fi; good breakfast; heated floor in bathroom; very comfort beds
Negative: no ideas why hotel provide 2 wi-fi's - one over hotel with one password, and another - with in-room pasword ( you must obtain it from interactive tv ) - it looks to be complicated and not up to local standards; HVAC system in room can't be completely switched off, furthermore duct placed so, that all the time blows on to the bed; switches over the bed didn't function properly, so needed to get up to switch off lights; parking charge of 15 EUR per night for outside parking - that's a real robbery.
Overall this hotel doesnt' match price/quality balance for Riga accomodations. While adding extras ( like parking cost ), you could find probably better hotel in more premium Riga location for the very similar price level. On other side, 4* hotels located very little far away from city center charge considerably less for stay, compare to Mercure. So what is the main point about Riga Mercure ? Accor loyalty program members and tourist groups ? Well, we'll see. Not sure if would stay again here soon...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekspertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    271
    70
    20
    6
See reviews for
72
201
72
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

For the money this is the best deal we found. Good location, free breakfast with a wide selection, clean, safe...what more could you ask for. Read a couple of negative reviews on here, but we only had a positive experience :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One night stay - even though the hotel is new, taxi found it easy enough and the hotel is well located for where I needed to be. Check in very pleasant. Free Wi-Fi password given for public area and informed room Wi-Fi password is on the tv instructions/guide. Asked if I wanted to become a member of the rewards scheme.

Allocated a 2nd floor room, but unfortunately, it had remnants of previous occupiers stay. Went back to reception, who immediately apologised and upgraded to the 'Privilege' room.

Room was much larger, and as you expect from a new hotel, virtually spotless. Interactive TV, wifi instructions easy to find, however, thought 12/13 channels were not great.

Double sinks in the washroom, with a range of added requirements, such as shaver, dental kit, etc. Comfy double bed. Good speed on Wi-Fi connectivity. Room overlooked the front of the hotel and large windows over the left side.

Breakfast was included, and it was totally fine and fit for purpose.

Didn't try the spa/gym, but the staff is friendly as you walk around the hotel. Space on verandah to dine/drink outside.

Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good location about 10-15 minutes easy walk from the old town of Riga. Parking facilities are fine, and quite good value (10 EUR per night), considering it is so close to the main city sites. We stayed for 2 nights during the week and thought the overall hotel service was very efficient. Check in and out was very easy, and the front desk staff were polite and friendly.

The room was brand new, with comfy beds, a decent shower, a safe, and very fast (free) wifi (as well as all the other things you can expect from a hotel of this calibre).

Breakfast was quite substantial with a lot of variety, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, this hotel is very good value considering its location and general service. It is typical of the Accor hotel chain - if you're looking for a functional hotel for business or leisure then you can't really go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommyy_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufa, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for three nights. Mostly flawless experience: hotel was easy to find, no problems at check-in and very kind and efficient staff on check-out. Perfectly located: next to railway station, large ORIGO mall, 15-20 minuts of walk Old Riga, parks etc.
Big plus: they correctly handled blocking and unblocking deposits on my credit card! A big plus to hotel staff!

Room was very spacious, i really appreciated silent air-conditioning, slippers, tea-coffee making facilities, bathroom amenities and dental kit (on request), nice small "wellness area" in the basement. Breakfasts were acceptable for such duration of stay.

Not appreciated: no free drink water on arrival (at least small bottle, cmon) and large window in the bath room, which theoretically allowed all the people from highest floors of opposite building to "enjoy" viewing me naked during shower. Would be good to make that window completely mat or mirrow or provide curtains - whatever.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms, as they have windows in bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tx3hrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montcuq, France
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a short stay in late May 2014 at this hotel and had quite a few issues with the room(s) I was given.
Before everything I have to say the hotel is conveniently located, though not directly on Elizabeth Iela (though not far), in a district now under reconstruction, close to the Central Station.
Style of the hotel mixes both the old district (art nouveau) style, with a more modern one.
There is a small (paying) parking in front of the hotel, otherwise few options of parking in the neighbourhood.
Wifi is free and effective.
Staff is young, enthusiastic, willing to help and (most of the time) competent.
Breakfast area is clean, food is fine, varied (but music is not, if you are a fan of U2 it's OK though )))
I started my trip within the hotel by a nice but small room (I suppose that since I booked on internet, they gave me what was available then, hotel beeing full). There was no bath although I mentionned it in my reservation, just a shower. But hotel being full, they wouldnt change my room, arguing no other room available.
Then I had a first issue : electricity suddenly went down. I complained and within minutes had another one, with a bath !
But... the conditioner of this room did not work. When I noticed the temperature started to reach 23C in the room I asked the overworked technical staff to help but they could not change anything. As I started to loose my patience they understood my situation and proposed me a superior room which I accepted. All in it was the best room of all, although with a shower.
After all a good stay, but I hope that after the first "installation" period is over this hotel will work better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcpointcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

nice new hotel, close to old centre. brand new rooms and interior. very spacious rooms. Mediocre breakfast. Expensive drinks, but nice bar. upon entering my new room, i saw that the toilet had been used and not cleaned, not even flushed. Very nasty. Upon making a photo and informing the staff, I was not offered a drink at the bar while waiting for the cleaning. very careless.....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHK1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Opera Hotel & Spa
Opera Hotel & Spa
#26 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.3 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 mi away
Pullman Riga Old Town
Pullman Riga Old Town
#17 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Riga Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Riga Centre

Property: Mercure Riga Centre
Address: Elizabetes iela 101, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Riga Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel located in the very heart of the historic Riga and housed in a beatiful 1901 Art Nouveau building, Mercure Riga Centre is 400 metres from the Old Town and next to the Riga Train Station. This 4-star designer hotel offers air-conditioned accommodation with free access to a fitness centre.The elegant rooms at Mercure Riga Centre will provide you with an LED FHD TV. The spacious private bathrooms also come with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Extras include a minibar. Privilege rooms come with slippers and bathrobes, 40” TV and Nespresso machines.Guests of Mercure Riga Centre can relax in the on-site spa centre, which is perfect for body and mind regeneration. Our guests can relax while enjoying various treatments and facilities including massages, whirlpool, sauna and Turkish bath.They are also welcome to dine at the hotel restaurant, which will offer grand new concept by using open kitchen "teppan", as well as unique chance for customers to follow up the ice cream making process and of course taste it afterwards. Fresh pasta and exquisite wine card with selected wines. Summer terrace will be available as well.Lobby Bar located on the first floor of the hotel will be a perfect venue for informal business meetings and convivial evenings.Mercure Riga Centre is 13 km from the Riga International Airport. The hotel is within a walking distance to the city’s main sights, such as the Freedom Monument or the Dome Square. Outstanding interior design, proximity to the landmarks of the old town along with great business and leisure facilities guarantee a comfortable stay for all the guests visiting Riga for recreation or professional purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Riga Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing