We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ivy_bergen
Stavanger, Norway

great base for exploring the city

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2017via mobile
Stayed 3 nights in the Mercure Riga Centre Hotel which is a stone's throw from the train station and about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the old town. The service at checkin was prompt and friendly and we even got a quick explanation of where to go and what to see. The room was very large for a twin room and was originally set up with an extra folding bed which was removed promptly upon request. The room and bath room were spotless and street noise even when facing the busy road outside was hardly discernible. Breakfast had a good selection as well.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £162
0.7 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Tripadvisor
£59
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Radissonhotels.com
£102
  • Tripadvisor
    £102
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£308
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £92
0.5 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Expedia.com
    £64
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £116
  • Expedia.com
    £120
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £55
  • Expedia.com
    £59
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Priceline
0.8 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
371
416
137
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
371
416
137
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town nice hotel recommend this hotel the bus convenient location reception staff on foot breakfast was excellent wifi tv jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Well located.

New and nice.

The room was new and nice but a bit stressful in size, but I got a great comfortable and great bed.

Bathroom clean and new, perfect.

Breakfast; good quality.

Friendly and attentive service.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 169sidgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Mercure Riga Centre is a great place to stay if you want to visit as much as possible but at the same time rest a bit. It is located just a step away from the train station and two steps away from the Old Town. Our room was spacious, clean and the bed confortable. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommendable.

Room tip: Upper story rooms on the main facade offer decent views
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HappyFrogTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Spent three nights here. The room was OK, the bed was too soft to my taste. The cleanliness of the bathroom could be improved (floor), but the amenities were OK. The breakfast buffet is well above the average with some specialities.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gergelyfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed here for four nights during the (awesome) TechChill conference and where temperatures were 16 degrees during the day.

While it was always a relief to get back to the hotel after braving the cold, the hotel itself wasn't anything special. The bar is plastic and the staff unfriendly, one TV screen talking to itself, the drinks OK, the food not so good.

The rooms are acceptable, but a really weird WiFi system where the TV has to be on to connect, not good for drifting off to sleep to. Also, a buzzing every night that was disruptive.

Receptionists are very good, though, really helpful and knowledgable of the city. The hotel just about passes, but probably not for four days... and visitors should eat/drink outside the hotel bar.

Room tip: The higher the room, it seems the warmer the room was.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This hotel is situated in 5 minutes walk from old town. Hotel itself is exactly what you pay for - nice, clean, welcoming service. Breakfest is quite average - there is not a lot of choices but they do very good potato pancakes :)

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews