We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
somapal_25
Billingham, United Kingdom

Great hotel for a weekend in Riga

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024via mobile
Great hotel, perfect location and good breakfast! Perfect for a weekend in Riga! Very close to tourist attractions and very comfortable! Hotel staff very friendly and the hotel has a lovely atmosphere. Very close to the main shopping centre.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Somapal,

Thank you for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your weekend getaway in Riga. Providing our guests with a memorable stay is what we strive for, and we're delighted that our central location, delicious breakfast, and comfortable accommodations met your expectations.

It's great to know that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. We're also pleased that our proximity to tourist attractions and the main shopping center added convenience and enjoyment to your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Riga. If there's anything we can do to make your future stays even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to reach out. Safe travels until we meet again!

Warm regards,
Santana Baitīte
Front Office Manager
Mercure Riga Centre Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£115
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £98
0.5 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Booking.com
£180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £163
  • Vio.com
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £162
0.7 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Booking.com
£58
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Trip.com
    £51
  • Priceline
    £57
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£115
  • travelup.com
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
    £116
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£51
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • Vio.com
    £46
  • Priceline
    £50
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£60
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • Vio.com
    £54
  • Hotels.com
    £60
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£73
  • Hotels.com
    £73
  • Trip.com
    £71
  • Expedia.com
    £73
0.6 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Radissonhotels.com
£102
  • Booking.com
    £102
  • Priceline
    £100
  • Expedia.com
    £102
0.5 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£78
  • Expedia.com
    £77
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Priceline
    £76
0.8 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£308
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £308
  • Official Site
    £306
  • Expedia.com
    £308
0.4 miles from Mercure Riga Centre
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Riga
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
371
416
137
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
371
416
137
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town nice hotel recommend this hotel the bus convenient location reception staff on foot breakfast was excellent wifi tv jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

We have been very loyal customer for this hotel more than 6 years. We come to Riga every month. Mercure Riga is going down. Sad but very true. They have a good situation, nice building but the service is horrible nowadays. They shouldn't be part of Accor anymore. So sad. We have had such a nice time over there. For this price you can find more in Riga.

Room tip: There is Ibis near this hotel. Go there.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Getaway43471176711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay experience did not meet your expectations, especially given your long-standing loyalty as a customer. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the decline in service you have noticed.

Maintaining high standards of service and guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we take your concerns seriously. Your loyalty means a lot to us and we are committed to regaining your trust and making your future stay enjoyable and memorable. And we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the refurbished and improved Mercure Riga in the future.

Warm regards,
Santana Baitīte
Front Office Manager
Mercure Riga Centre Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

Very weird policy to have to pay €50 on check in despite whole stay was pre-paid with an American Express card the hotel doesn’t accept American Express for some reason.

Not Apple Pay either so had to give a €50 bill or use my emergency physical credit card to a great surcharge and despite receptionist promising the surcharge would be refunded as well this of course never happened either.

Old Soviet building that is literally falling apart in some places.

Not properly cleaned room carpet and bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was in very small room and very poor service and dirty and constantly running out of items such as scrambled eggs a breakfast must and you had to wait for everything. Grumpy breakfast staff.

Argumentative, rude and very unprofessional staff in general and reception staff in particular many staff members with fluctuating English proficiency.

“Forgot” to give me a welcome drink voucher on check in. Got an old smoking room inthe annex part where all but my room were privilege marked. No upgrade despite the hotel was almost empty couldn’t been more than max 50% capacity.

Only seven TV-channels on TV.

Very fluctuating and unreliable quality of Wi-Fi.

The climate station in the room was nonfunctional for colder or warmer temperature. Remained unsolved during whole stay and was refused to change room.

No stationary in room not a pen or a piece of paper and dirty in 2/3 of the cupboards I looked in for this. Upon request the receptionist didn’t even understand what stationary is.

There is a Ibis on the opposite street that not only is cheaper but much better on every level.

This hotel is not up to Mercure standard and I really don’t recommend it.

Accor should discontinue it being a Mercure it’s hurting and gives a bad name to the brand.

No proper invoice or receipt on check out only a document that clearly stated “This is not an invoice”.

I never got my points either after over ten days and had to contact Accor All help desk because this hotel also “forgets “ to give the points to guests.

General Manager who makes herself unavailable and unreachable and who responds to legitimate complaints with a very rude and bad attitude and does likewise on this website too from what I can see, this is really a disgrace for Accor S.A and Mercure and unacceptable behavior.

M

Room tip: Avoid the whole hotel altogether you’re very likely to be disappointed and there are much better and cheaper Accor hotels very nearby.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank A_Traveller122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey following your recent stay at Mercure Riga Centre hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure Riga Centre hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us!
Due to the expanded list of payment options at Accor, our guests can conveniently prepay for their accommodation using one of the many available methods, including American Express. This option is accessible to guests on the Accor website during the booking process. However, according to the hotel's internal policies, guests are still required to provide a deposit upon check-in.
Regarding the deposit, this is a standard procedure for all guests of our hotel. The deposit is provided for additional hotel services, such as a minibar, visiting the SPA zone, orders from the lobby bar and restaurant, room orders. Information regarding the deposit is also indicated in our profile and on the confirmation of the guests.
It is not an additional charge; on the day of the guest's departure, it is fully refunded, except in cases where the guest wishes to pay for additional services using the provided deposit. During check-in, we offer several options to guests to ensure their stay is as comfortable as possible. We would like to emphasize that this is a standard procedure for all guests.
To avoid misunderstandings during check-in, it is important for guests to familiarize themselves with the hotel's internal rules beforehand. While we highly appreciate Accor loyalty club members, please note that Accor does not assume responsibility for guests.
Mercure Riga Centre Hotel has undergone multiple renovations, not only in the common areas such as the lobby bar, reception, restaurant, relaxation area, and conference halls, but also in the guest rooms. Our rooms are now equipped with new beds featuring very comfortable mattresses for a restful sleep, and the flooring has been replaced with more modern materials. Plasma TVs in the rooms meet the high standards of our chain, allowing guests to enjoy television as well as an interactive hotel menu where they can find all the information about our hotel and the services we provide.
The Mercure Riga Centre Hotel comprises two parts: the historical building of Riga, constructed in 1901, where we have preserved the historical staircase landings for guests to safely use and experience the ambiance of the historical building, and the main building, which was purposefully built to accommodate the hotel. Your room was situated in the historical part of the hotel. These rooms can be visually distinguished only by their exceptionally high ceilings, which are not typical of modern accommodations.
For you, we prepared this particular room as you requested a room with a bathtub in the bathroom, and this was one of the few rooms that met your preferences. As you may have noticed, in the historical part of the hotel, mostly higher-category rooms are located, and the high ceilings nicely complement the overall upscale feel of the room. Unfortunately, not all rooms in the historical building can be provided as Privilege rooms due to their square footage, so there are a few standard-category rooms located there. Your reservation was for a standard room, and the room of the reserved category was provided for your accommodation.
Regarding the Wi-Fi network, routers for wireless internet connection are not only located in each room but also in the corridors, restaurant, reception, and all areas accessible to guests. With static internet usage, we have not received complaints about the quality of internet connectivity. Any delay in playback may occur when devices reconnect to different routers while moving around the hotel, but this is merely due to the device connecting to a new transmitter. In our hotel, there is a unified wireless internet network, so guests do not need to manually select a new network every time they leave their room.
In each room, our guests will find two controllers mounted on the wall. The first controls the floor heating, while the second regulates the climate control system. Once guests set their desired temperature, they may need to wait a short while for the system to adjust and lower the room temperature accordingly. Additionally, if the room temperature remains higher than expected, we are pleased to offer coolers or fans to ensure our guests' comfort. At the request of the guest, we can arrange for a room change, provided that there are available rooms in the reserved category. If all rooms are occupied, we will take the guest's preference into account and arrange for a room change on the following day.
Regarding loyalty points for your stay, these points are automatically credited by the Accor platform. The hotel does not handle this procedure. If you have not received your points after your departure, you should contact the Accor support service. They will verify the payment and process the points transfer accordingly.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed review, as it not only serves as a warning to potential future guests but also provides valuable insights for the hotel management to improve upon.
Once again on behalf of the entire Mercure Riga Centre Hotel, we apologize for the inconvenience you met during your stay in our hotel.
On behalf of the entire Mercure Riga Centre Hotel team, we wish you a great day!
Best Regards, Jelizaveta Konko Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Booked a double room and we were offered twin room (2 single beds). Requested to change and we were offered another twin room. Long story short, after 4 attempts and 45 mins wasted time we were allocated a decent double room as we had booked.
Besides that, the breakfast was well below standard for Mercure. Empty dishes at times. No orange juice. Drinks and coffee served in disposable cups..... and the worst is yet to come. During the morning of 1st January, the place was a mess after the previous night's party which wasn't even cleaned. Leftovers everywhere. We had to eat on tables with dirty plates stacked right in front of our faces and nobody to clear them. I wonder where the management team was. Absolutely disgusting!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2024

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback to us. We are very sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We try to serve huge variety of food so all guest can choose what they like the most. Please be sure that we will learn from your concerns as we aim to improve our services in order to make all our guests happy. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in near future. Best Regards, Jelizaveta Konko Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2024

THE BREAKFAST WAS EMPTY FROM 9 ..THERE ARENT SPOON KNIVES GLASSES AND FOODS, YOU MUST WAIT HALF OUR TO DRINK COFFEE ..THE WIFI IS TRAGIC YOU CANT SEE VIDEO FROM YOUTUBE..THE TV IS SMALL AND OLD .THE BREAKFAST AREA IS SMALL AND WE EAT AT RECEPTION(!)NEVER AGAIN ..YOU ARE THE WORST MERCURE WHEN I MET

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Manolis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2024

Dear Guest,We would like to thank you for sharing with us your experience during your stay at Mercure Riga Centre Hotel. I'm sorry your experience didn't live up to your expectations; let me express my most sincere apologies. We are delighted to observe your appreciation for the picturesque views from our hotel. It brings us great satisfaction to share that our meticulous location planning places the hotel in close proximity to the city center. This strategic positioning facilitates convenient access to key tourist attractions, as well as swift transportation links to the airport and other international hubs for our valued guests. Regarding breakfasts on 01/1/24, the standard breakfast time has been changed for this date, as we wanted to give guests the opportunity to attend breakfast later than the standard time. Due to the high occupancy of the hotel that day, our staff did not physically have time to clear the dishes from the tables after the guests had enjoyed breakfast. For such situations, guests have the opportunity to sit in additional areas or order breakfast in their room. Once again, we like to apologize for the inconvenience you have met during your stay in our hotel. We always do our best to satisfy the wishes of our guests, and always look for different ways to solve the problem. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Best regards, Jelizaveta Konko Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2023

It was my third time staying here and I enjoyed it as always, and it will be my hotel of choice when I next return. All of the staff that I met were friendly and welcoming and it had all of the facilities that I need. The location is ideal and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore the wonderful city, and with the railways station close, it's good if going further afield. My only down point is that I have sent an email, but have not had a response, otherwise I would have given the hotel 5/5.

Room tip: Well placed for Riga old town trains to the nearby coast, trams and buses
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Adventure01852481722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Accor Latvia, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Riga Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2023

Dear Guest, ,First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with your experience during your stay in Mercure Riga Centre hotel! At Mercure Riga Centre hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; Thank you for highlighting our location. We are located in the very center of Riga and our guests can easily get to the main tourist attractions of the city, railway station, bus station and airport. It is a pleasure for us that our guests enjoyed our staff's professionalism, as we take great pride in providing our guests with the most professional attitude and service quality since it's our main pursuit to ensure our guests receive as highest service quality possible. We always do our best to satisfy the wishes of our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Jelizaveta Konko Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews