We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #64 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a great find. An excellent hotel, very conveniently located in the Old City and handy for the No. 22 bus to and from the airport. We had 5 nights in a Junior Suite: large, generally comfortable, a balcony, very quiet, beautifully clean, if a little old-fashioned. Only negative: the towels are small and thin. The shower didn't work on arrival (hose too short) but it was fixed immediately - no problem! Breakfast is a large high-quality buffet and caters for most tastes. Hotel bar a bit noisy but a good selection of drinks. Watch out, though, for the Happy Hour offer on cocktails; to qualify for the offer you have to buy two of the same cocktail, not just any random two. The normally excellent barman wasn't on duty that evening. All the restaurant and reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great value, too. We'd happily return and will recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Room 216 worked well for us. First floor, quiet, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

This small hotel is in a great location in the old town of Riga, just a two minute walk to th square and tourist informaiton office. The rooms are comfortable without being luxurious and the staff were very friendly. Staff at reception were very friendly. The hotel was good value for money, and if returning to Riga would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honestopinions77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Because the hotel staff at the Garden Palace Hotel were soooooooo nice. They were quick to answer my emails before arrival, and they upgraded the room for free..! The hotel is not far from the market and shops.. great walking around at night, a lot of live bands playing in the streets and cafes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Lovely hotel, excellent food, had best dinner!! Breakfast great. Room large and comfortable. Easy to get to by bus from the airport. On edge of Old Town, great to walk into town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glospurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The interior was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The ambience was so relaxing. The room was clean and the amenities were good enough. I can't forget the bartender in the bar of the hotel. He never ran out of stories - and I took it positively! :)

This hotel is near the Old Town and it was easy to navigate your way. Museums and churches are just nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarloLazado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our friend chose this hotel as the hotel is really convenient to the old town and sights etc and is very quiet at night which is nice.
However, the ‘Junior Suite’ was hardly what I would call ‘Junior Suite’!! There was no tea / coffee making facilities / no tissues in the bathroom / a shower that you negotiate as the pipe was coming directly from the tap and would not hold in place on the holder so effectively you can only have a ‘hose down’! / no full length mirror / no ironing board and iron / safe that didn’t work / carpet very grubby / the bed squeaked and only 1 small hard pillow each (although they did bring two more when asked!). The room felt very very basic. The breakfast was not the best either……no glasses set out / food was not that warm in their hot bowel / limited selection of pastries / no milk / limited selection of tea / limited selection of hot food.
The bar was quite funky and the bar staff very friendly. But would I go back there – No!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here having had an awful experience in another Riga hotel and were delighted we chose here. Our room was big, airy, clean and comfortable with comfy beds and a good bathroom. The location is perfect - not as noisy as some others and easy distance to the very centre. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had one with a balcony - definitely a plus!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 110 in Riga
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £38 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing