We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value and location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 3 June 2013

very centrally located and easy to find-one minute away from the airport bus stop..stayed here in december and was an unbeiievably low price-maybe to compensate for the seasonal chill!..room decent,very comfertable hotel decorated in an antique style that seems to struggle for an identity!..good communal areas and a very good breakfast indeed..no idea of the room charges at other times of the year,but was great value for us...pretty safe bet..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Garden Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Touristic sights are in a comfortable walking distance, as well as diners and clubs. The lobby, common rooms and the corridors are decorated nicely. The room was pretty small though (the furniture taking up much space) and lacked a nightstand. Also, the door was not closing properly, as I had to pull it firmly to be locked (which I did, contrary to the cleaning ladies...) - just be aware of that. The breakfast was appropriate but average. Overall nice experience.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms face a fountain - some people might be disturbed by its sound in the morning.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Awesome location, the staff is very frienfpdly (Karina, the girl at the reception is so nice). You can easily reach any placein Riga and the reception can call taxis to take you to Jurmala and an ethnological site close to the city. It is very close to St. Peter's Church, the House of the Blackheads, the town hall and Lido, a chain of restaurants very typical and cheap.
Breakfast is huge and there is a wide range of food, from fish to meat and then the normal "continental breakfast" as well, of course. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to go to Riga.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaramapelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We wanted to spend Christmas 2012 in a hotel that would be romantic, luxurious, atmospheric but wallet-friendly, so decided to try Hotel Garden Palace. This was our second time in Riga. The hotel was very dashing (public areas) and it's staff friendly. Our room (junior suite) was very pretty and antique in a good way, but after the first night we noticed it was very cold and hard to warm up. The heating didn't work properly. Also the bathroom (ceiling) lamp was broken, but it didn't trouble us.
We spent three nights in this room, then we had to change it because something leaked from the ceiling, straight above our bed.
We got a new room few floors lower. It was exactly same looking, but even colder and smelled like cigarettes. We don't smoke ourselves.
I think the hotel was overall an okay experience. These little details didn't bother us. The only thing really bothered was that one of the reasons we chose this was the complimented breakfast and it was a big disappointment.
The location is by the way truly good. It's easy to get here from the airport and you can walk almost everywhere. And the WiFi was cheap and worked fine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013, we were lucky and were upgraded to a huge room with jacuzzi and sauna, and a seriously huge flatscreen TV. The bed was comfortable and great for two. The decoration and furniture was a little too rococo for my tastes but that's just a personal thing.

The room was warm and stayed that way, which was great as outside was -10 on the warmest setting. To a point, I felt that we did not stay in the room enough to really enjoy having .

The only failing was the lack of a proper shower (something that the whole of Riga seems to not have bought into, probably down to low water pressure in the city).

The breakfast was great, the food endless and widely varied.

Had little interaction with the staff but what little we did have was polite, efficient and friendly.

There is a nightclub in the basement which is open only on Fridays and Saturdays and as we were on the floor above the bar which leads to the nightclub, chucking out time was loud but it passed away quickly and without trouble.

Room Tip: Try and get the Suite upgrade, those rooms are great.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chockbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The location is superb right across the road from the House of the Blackheads and only a couple of minutes from the buses. The reception area is well presented but we found our room to be a bit shabby with torn wallpaper, although the beds were very comfy. There was a plug in electric radiator stood in the middle of the room and no other heating, we were plenty warm enough but as we had a triple room which is designed for families I felt this was quite dangerous. There was no tea and coffee making facilities which would have been nice to have. The breakfast buffet was very good with a wide choice, most of the the staff were polite without being friendly, we found this to be generally the case in Riga.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here four nights in Jan-Feb 2013. Room 412.

Pros:
* Excellent location - just round the corner from the Blackheads building.
* Breakfast. Included and its all you can eat, with cereal.
* The room was a reasonable size, tastefully decorated, clean and the bed comfortable.
* Staff were polite and helpful.
* Interesting decor, quite charming in a vaguely baroque sort of way.
* Quiet

Cons:
* The name - sounds like a Chinese restaurant and I had some misgivings when booking because of it.
* The shower cubicle didn't allow a lot of room for stretching one's elbows.
* Dinner - the restaurant is nice and the prices are reasonable. However, its the sort of place where you feel that the chef is counting the ingredients. I had prawn ravioli and there were 5 pieces of pasta, 2 prawns, 2 pieces of asparagus...you get the drift. But there are plenty of other restaurants nearby that are more generous with their portions.
* You have to pay for wireless internet, though there is a computer for guests use in the foyer.

None of these cons bothered me enough to downgrade my 5* rating, made on the basis of the very positive pros.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabbit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 110 in Riga
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gutenbergs
Hotel Gutenbergs
#10 of 110 in Riga
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#44 of 110 in Riga
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £35 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing