We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and Uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Riga
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Shabby and Uncomfortable”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hotel Garden Palace is in a great location if you want to be close to the Old Town and bus and train stations; however, the room we stayed in was much in need of a renovation. Our room was a suite on the 4th floor and was quite large but extremely shabby. The carpet was stained, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the paint on the window sills was chipped, and there were holes in the drapes. The bed was uncomfortable, the mattress was ripped at the seams and looked about 30 years old, and only two small flat pillows were provided for our king-sized bed. Furthermore, we were greeted by about 20 small houseflies that were swarming around our chandelier when we first entered the room. Harmless, yes, but it took us about a half hour to shoo them out the window. We kept our windows closed our entire stay because flies would immediately enter the room if we didn't. Booking.com has the Hotel Garden Palace listed as a 4-star hotel - in my opinion, this is more of a 2-star accomodation. I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    215
    120
    42
    30
See reviews for
76
215
67
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Being a frequent visitor to Riga I have had experience with a number of hotels in the old town. Garden Palace is one of those places that can be ranked "not bad" - meaning that there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the place yet there is room for improvement for sure. Location - as it has been said - is good. The hotel is situated right on the edge of old town. The building itself is beautiful and it has a nice courtyard where you can sit and enjoy a cup of coffee. Reception was friendly and polite - even though they had made a small mistake and claimed that my reservation is for a single night and not for two. This issue was solved quickly. I had reserved a junior suite - the room smelled of some strong chemicals - I assume that someone before me had violated the non smoking policy. As a proof of that I discovered some cigarette burn marks on the curtains. The room had a balcony - which was nice, excpect it was shared with the room next to me. If you want to use internet you have to pay for that. Even though the charge is small - few euroes per week, you can use it across many hotspots around the country - it was still a bit weird as free internet is something most hotels in Riga provide you with. So in conclusion - it was far from a nightmare but if possible I will look for alternatives for my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We arrived in Riga by ferry and had a very pleasant walk to the Garden Palace Hoel. When we left, we went by train, and walked to thenstation from the hotel. We explored Riga by foot from the hotel. So, the first thing to say is that the location was excellent. The Garden Palace is located in the Old Town next to the Museum of Occupation, which is definitely worth a visit. The hotel itself was very beautifully decorated and had a sweet garden courtyard. The staff were very curteous and a porter brought our bags to our room. The room itself was a little dated but clean and tasteful. The minibar was well stocked and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was brilliant. There was a range of hot food; potatoes, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausages, bacon; as well as the cold food; cheeses, breads, croissants , pain au chocolate, boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, olives, fish, tomatoes, meats; and good quality coffee. It was excellent. So, I don't know how good value this was compared to other hotels, but it was one of he most reasonably priced I could find when I booked and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked a twin bedded room at this hotel in July 2013 as a low cost break. For the money we paid the room was reasonable and the beds were average size but quite comfortable although did need a little TLC. Our shower room was also perfectly adequate. There was no room safe available and although 50 out of 60 bedrooms here have air conditioning, ours did not. At first we didn't consider this to be a problem but the room did get very hot at night. We did have a slight problem with the shower and were given only one pillow each on the first night. However I spoke to the receptionist and both problems were rectified immediately. As the beds were directly in front of the windows it would have been helpful to have had blackout curtains because it gets light very early in summer and consequently we did wake early. The breakfast was very good and indeed all the restaurant and bar staff were helpful and friendly. The only downside was that our room was at the front of the hotel and it was noisy at night. On our first night the music went on until 5.00am and although on the other nights it stopped earlier we needed ear plugs to be able to sleep. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room overlooking the courtyard which may block out some of the noise. You cannot fault the location though situated in Riga old town within walking distance to many beautiful sights and museums. It was a great shame that our trip was marred slightly over the mini-bar. On checking out we were asked to pay for a bottle of Coke that had apparently been taken from the mini-bar. We never use the mini-bar in any hotel because of the inflated price of the goods and certainly hadn't on this occasion. However the receptionist interrogated us over this item and although I stood my ground it was unpleasant and I had to write an explanation on our bill before the money was deducted! In truth we did not pay 4* prices and so it would be churlish to have expected 4* standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the courtyard if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorfam_006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I booked this hotel largely due to the positive reviews this hotel received on TA. The hotel has an excellent location and the staff are friendly,however, the decoration is terribly outdated and the wall to wall carpeting has seen better days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badabinghotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My room (reserved through Booking.com) was very small, and so the bathroom (washbasin microscopic, wc not easily reachable, shower box only for thin people), and had a shared balcony (so not privacy at all). Wifi for money (all bars in Riga have free wifi!). No sweets at breakfast (luckily I usually eat cheese, and there was a fairly good choice). Sulky, not friendly waitresses (not all of them, thank heaven). OK the reception, and the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riga hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

While this hotel is in a great location, just behind the Old Town Hall Square, and some charming aspects, it has many rooms that are simply not close to 4 star level - we stayed with a group in early June and while some rooms are very large, others were tiny and extremely poorly designed, created out of a large closest. Our room had twin beds in line - foot to foot with about 1 metre of walking space down a corridor to a tiny bathroom. It faced a small courtyard which is great unless other residents decide to have a late night party...
The first room that we had had a hole punched in the wall.
For some unknown reason the hotel room amenities include a box of condoms???
Most rooms were supplied with 5 tissues daily and several rooms were without glasses after 4 days and repeated requests to the front desk.
Breakfast was adequate but certainly not the best that we experienced in the Baltic region. The front desk tried to help with our rooms but was not well trained. The hotel charges for internet and for their safety boxes - not what I would expect from a First Class hotel in this region.
I would not rate this as a 4 star hotel and certainly would not recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Avoid taking rooms than end with the numbers 11 or 10. The rooms facing the street are not air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 mi away
St. Peter's Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#43 of 109 in Riga
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#32 of 109 in Riga
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Property: Hotel Garden Palace
Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing