We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better than it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Garden Palace
Ranked #69 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed 5 days and I have to say that this hotel deserves 3* and 2* for the rooms. Breakfeasts were poor and every day the same... If you are not looking for 4* hotel I reccomend it otherwise not. The big advantage of this hotel is its location - right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is really a great value hotel in a brilliant part of Old Town. Taxi cost 9 euro from airport to hotel door. You can walk everywhere from the hotel and is very near lots of very nice restaurants and bars. Staff are very friendly and the breakfast is very good with a great choice of hams, cheese etc but also sausage, bacon and eggs.
Tv in rooms - think CNN was the only english language station. There is Free Wifi. There is a mini bar in the rooms and a hairdryer. Mini bar is better value than normal with a beer for 1.60 lat (around €2.40). We booked a normal room and not the larger suites. Room was a very good size with a big wardrobe and plenty of space.
The only issue we could fault the hotel on is exterior noise. There was a constant bass drum thud from a neighbouring night club which went non stop from around 6pm to past 4am every single day. The room was well double glazed but without earplugs you will hear the noise. It was not loud but we could hear it. Luckily I am a heavy sleeper and my partner brought earplugs but It may be an issue for light sleepers. It may not be an issue in other rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Had a fantastic trip - with three generations of women in familien.Supert that the hotel is located right in the center. Many activities that couples both young and old in close proximity. Good restaurants and a nightclub in relation to the hotel. Opera in Riga is recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I stumbled on this hotel by accident, and it ended up to be in the perfect location for the old town, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and I found the price to be great value. The food in the restaurant was also fantastic. Stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Post-cold war atmosphere, current cold atmosphere in the room. The staff was seemly friendly, but marginal in english. The breakfast is average. The outside temp was in the 35 degree range, and the room was so cold we had to request two heaters and extra blankets to make it through the nite. Parking is several blocks away and expensive (20 Euro according to the hotel) and there is no recommended place for unloading the luggage to bring into the hotel, unless you wish to block traffic on a narrow street or tote them from a pay-to-park lot a 1/2 block away. Bob Hope once complained about a hotel whose rooms were so small even the rats were hunchbacked. The room we had was in this same category. No rates, but small with barely enough room to open the suitcases and still walk around. The beds are throw back to hotels in Milwaukee in the 1950's. A 2 inch mattress and some oddity used more or less as a box spring. There are obvious differences in tastes, habits and preferences between travelers with different backgrounds, but every hotel should, at an absolute minimum, offer the basic requirements for sleep - a safe environment, with adequate temperature control and reasonable level sound control. The freezing Garden Palace can offer only 2 of the three, so does not meet basic expectations or requirements for travelers from any nation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel is perfectly located on the town square next to the river. You are directly across the street from several major sights (St Peter's Church, St, John's Church, Blackhead's House). You are within easy walking distance to everything in the city (which is truly a walkable city). If you take a right and walk about three blocks, there's a superb supermarket (Rimi) in a modern small shopping center (Galleria). I recommend buying some foodstuffs there and keep in the room, though there are plenty of small eateries in town all very reasonable. There's a small fridge in the room. I was on the courtyard side and it was very quiet all the time (perfect for me).
The hotel is very charming, decorated very lovely, exceptionally clean. The lift is very fast. Breakfast was incredible!!! Delicious blinis, assortment of cheeses, and some cold cuts, poached eggs, bangers, assorted breads, croissants, muesli cereal and American style, milk, coffee. Very elegant dining area. Really breakfast was over the top great. The desk staff spoke enough English. Really you don't require much help from them since the city is small and pretty easy to figure out. The room was small, but comfortable, bathroom was small but adequate. Overall, I was very pleased. Oh, yes, the price was very reasonable. I paid about $70 per night. Great hotel!!! Highly recommend. For couples, you will want a junior suite, or standard suite. The double room is small for two people.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richzimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I pulled up at this hotel and was a bit disappointed but when i went inside, WOW it was lovely and the mirrors and fire features in the hallways are beautiful.

Room spacious enough, breakfast beautiful also, staff very nice and helpful.

Not enough in the city to get me to go back again but enough waht i seen, 3 days enough in this city

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonDon1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Europa Royale Riga
Europa Royale Riga
#41 of 112 in Riga
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 112 in Riga
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Astor Riga Hotel & Conference
0.6 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#14 of 112 in Riga
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden Palace

Address: Grecinieku iela 28, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £34 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Garden Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most elegant and unique 4star hotel Garden Palace was opened in the beginning of 2007. 19th century building is superbly located in the heart of Riga, part of the city with ample opportunities for entertainment, business and acquitance with the Latvian culture. The fabulous panoramic view of the Old Riga, Town Hall Square, embankment and great river Daugava is one of the advantages of the hotel Garden Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Garden Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Palace Riga
Garden Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing