We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hanza Hotel”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hanza Hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The hotel is housed in a converted apartment block which has been refurbished to a good standard. The rooms are large although the layout was a little strange, the furniture was spread out but the door of the room and the shower room were next to one another so got in the way of each other. The windows are large and offer pleasant views of the local area but rather than curtains, they have internal shutters which are a bit flimsy and do not block out all the light. Breakfast is in the bar area and was reasonable for the B&B rate. One major disappointment was that the rooms are not air conditioned, which was noticeable in the height of summer.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
244
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Inexpensive hotel with a good buffet breakfast. I arrived early the first day and they said I could also eat breakfast that day. Windows have shutters so they don't completely block out the light. Although I booked a single room I was given a double room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toantarticaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My daugter and I had a really nice stay in this cosy hotel. The staff is really friendly and the food in the Hanza Pub perfectly to our taste. The room was nice, though the windows were not entirely keeping the chilly October weather outside. The location is quite handy with the bus & railway stations closeby, but it is a bit in the outskirts if the ole town is your target.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lette_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Location: Not the best part of they city, but the old city center is only 5 minutes walk.
Hotel: The interior of the hotel is very nice and the all design, looks like a 4 star hotel.
Room: very nice, modern... BUT we had a small bed for 2 so we could not even sleep.. :(
Breakfast: very nice and had everything we need BUT when the hotel is busy they open another room for breakfast with limited food selection.. :(
Staff: Ok, but not nice.. :(

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here as part of a city break. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff were polite and efficient. The single room was a reasonable size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious ... not many channels to choose from on the TV, but I guess this is to make you got out and explore the city! The hotel is located in a semi-residential area, so there's not much to see or do in the immediate vicinty, although there's a pretty wooden church directly across the road and a Soviet-type sky scraper a couple of blocks away. But it's an easy 10 minute walk to the central railway station and bus station, and a further five minutes to the old town and lovely parks which form the main tourist area of the historic city centre. In the hotel's basement you'll find the Hanza Bar, which is where breakfast is served (bland buffet fare) but also serves meals at lunch and dinner time ... there's also a decking area outside to enjoy the sunshine and fresh air (or if you want to smoke).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I spent 4 nights here and was very pleased with the hotel. The service was excellent from the restaurant staff to the reception. The single room size was a pleasant surprise with excellent bedding and and a very well designed bathroom with underfloor heating ideal in the colder months. The market is not too far and once you get the layout of the area you will find most places are nearer than you first think. The walking bus tour has excellent guides who take you to very interesting places. The museum of occupation is worth a visit and makes you aware of how this country has suffered.There are plenty of shops especially around the railway station. You cannot go home without trying the delicious pastries with a good cup of coffee and watch the world go by. To go to the airport get the number 22 bus it takes you straight to departures a lot cheaper than a taxi and only costs about a pound.

Room Tip: I stayed in 401 only 4 rooms in a quite part..not a good view but a good nights sleep is more import...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This hotel represents an excellent choice for those undeterred by its location slightly out of the way but only 10-15 minutes walk from the old town. Room was comfortable and relatively spacious as it was a corner room on the fifth floor with three windows overlooking the large pillored building opposite the entrance of the hotel. Breakfast was particularly good with a more than adequate selection of cold and hot. The Hanza pub provides good meals also although portion sizes are relatively small; one tiny fillet of fish as a main course was clearly not enough. The value of this hotel makes it an excellent choice for a short break in Riga, however, if you would prefer a better location and a more upmarket hotel, then the 'Ridzene' hotel is an alternative.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalacticoandMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing