We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“valoue for money”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“valoue for money”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights in June 2011. We booked for double room but when arrive we realize that double room very small for stay 3 night. We upgrade to junior suite (15 euro extra per night)

After upgrade everything is Ok for us. Suite is very large and comfortable. But double room not good. (I don't know all rooms same or not, but I asked to staff for another larger double room but They said that; not available !)

We arrived at night hours to hotel and we want to go Old Town by walk. We felt unsafe when going to Old Town. You must across the open market. At night this region is very dark and like unsafe.

When day time we saw that this area not unsafe like felt at first night. We use this this route to return hotel every night but we not feel unsafe like first night. But you must cross this area or you must take a taxi.

Hotel restaurant is very good. I have been in Chile and Argentina but I eat most delicious steak in Hanza Restaurant.

Overall we can recommend this hotel. If we go again definitely we will stay again.

Last thing: we recommend upper floor because of restaurant at the front of hotel every time busy and crowded.

Room Tip: If possible junior suite and upper floor for silence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enginersoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
244
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Good service, breakfast included good food, clean room, warm and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 for a 3 day city break. All I can say is that I was absolutely delighted with the hotel and feel that for the seriously low price we got an amazing bargain. As a young couple (25-32) we go to cities not to spend too much time in hotels so for us it's really just a place to stay. We therefore went for the Hanza due to the cost and reasonably central location. Previous reviews also seemed positive. For the cost we really were expecting very basic, all we really hope for is that a hotel is safe and clean. The Hanza was way above expectations. The room, although quite small was perfectly adequate, cleaned daily, lovely bathroom, underfloor heating, good shower, clean towels daily if required. The staff at reception were helpful and spoke good English. The breakfast, a buffet, was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food, juices, teas and coffees. Only minor criticism of the room was we had quite noisy neighbours, however this cannot be blamed on the hotel. Possibly the doors are not the best soundproofed thats all.

From previous reviews our one reservation of the hotel was the location which is reportedly not the best, so lets address this. The hotel is in the Moscow District of the city. Not the nicest part of Riga, clearly more run down that the centre itself however I would not let this put you off. Having lived in several cities in the UK it is no where near as bad as parts of cities I have been to considering how close it is to city centre. I would not say the area is a place to go for night time walks exactly, but there would be no real reason to do so if you are there to see the city centre. We walked back to our hotel on two nights (about 10-15 mins from old town centre) and got a taxi back another night which only cost about 5lats from centre. As part of our trip we went on the "Yellow briefcase free city tour" - well worth it by the way!! As part of this trip we walked all around the Moscow District and actually passed our hotel. If the place was that bad I doubt they would be taking groups of tourists tlo the area every day!!

To conclude - great hotel for the price, area not too bad but just use your common sense!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guitarz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We absolutely loved the hotel itself and the price was great. Unfortunately, the neighborhood was very rough. I would not advise walking around at night, so the price of taxis should be factored in when booking this hotel. If you can handle paying for a taxi at night ($10-15 to the old town), this hotel is great.

The kitchen was great for dinner, but offered a very mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanzaGM, General Manager at Hanza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Brad G!

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hanza Hotel!

We appreciate a lot you enjoyed your stay, room, dinner, prices and service provided by Hanza Hotel and that we met well all your expectations therefore we can be satisfied of our work we do.

Regarding of the location you find it as a disadvantage, I would like to admit that Hanza Hotel is located in City Center. Near the Hotel there are such a famous tourist attractions as Central Market, Academy of Sciences, different churches, cultural diversity at Spikeri district, Embassy of Belarus in front of the hotel and other attractions what make our district so special.
To the Old Town it takes only 5 – 7 minutes if you are walking therefore each guest is always welcome to ask for help at the Reception how to find the shortest way to the place you are looking for.
If you choose to take a taxi it shouldn’t cost more than 5-6eur to the Old Town and please do always ask for help at the Reception to order safe and reliable taxi.

Once again thank you for staying at Hanza Hotel and please feel free to contact me or Hanza Hotel team whether any further assistance will be needed!

With best regards,
Aigars Gerhards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Good location, across from one of the oldest wooden churches in the Baltic and a short distance from the town market and old town. Very quiet area and the staff is most friendly and very helpful. The cafe downstairs provides a great breakfast and will even cook eggs to your specifications. We also had dinner there and it was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maevans70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Best place to stay in Riga,very central and close to what must be the biggest market in europe, great value and a very cosy pub with a excellent kitchen, and a service minded staff.I will recommend this hotel to any of my friends when they go to Riga.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karl4961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just back from a three night stay at the hanza hotel and we were very impressed with the hotel's high standards, excellent breakfast and value for money. It is located in riga's Moscow district(a 15 minute walk from riga's old town). While it is not riga's nicest district we never felt unsafe and would certainly stay again at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemisssunshine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing