We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, a bit of a walk from Center”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, a bit of a walk from Center”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The Hanza Hotel is a nice place, comfortable rooms and beds, good breakfast, if a bit crowded at times. It is a little way from the center and restaurants and attractions. But you do get to walk through the Central Market every day. There are a few good places to eat nearby in the Spiken district off Maskava Road.
Definitely worth the $47 a night that I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    278
    80
    16
    6
See reviews for
60
248
84
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirby Muxloe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here in Nov '11 for few nights.
Just a short walk through the market area into the Old Town. Nice clean modern rooms and a lovely reception in a beautifully modernised building. Don't miss the restaurant in the lower ground floor. We normally avoid hotel restaurants, but arriving late in the evening we didn/t see anywhere else close by. We returned to the Hanza, my wife and I had one the best fillet steak meals in a long time, sauce was lovely, the kids (with simpler tastes) were also catered for well.
Thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iainjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hanza is a nice hotel near Riga old town, the rooms are average level in this price range. Breakfast is comprehensive and staff is friendly. The hotel also has a terrace and the bar closes at 23:00 (kitchen at 22:00). We liked staying in Riga very much. Old town is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Hanza hotel has 80 rooms in a lovely restored 5-storey building from the 1890-ies and is located close to Stalin's present to Riga which now houses the Latvian Academy of Sciences. Nearby you find the market halls and the railway station. The old town is at walking distance.

We found the Hanza a quiet, clean and pleasant hotel. We had a rather small, yet comfortable room with double bed, wardrobe, desk & chair and cable TV. No minibar nor safe in the room. The small-sized bathroom had a toilet, wash-basin and a shower cubicle and was, like the room, impeccably clean. Windows can be opened. The breakfast was good with a satisfying selection. Complimentory Wi-Fi internet in the room and a free internet access computer in the lobby.

The Hanza has a terrace and a good-value restaurant in the basement of the building where also the breakfast is served. When the hotel is fully booked the breakfast room appears cramped with windows that stay closed. Free parking in front of the hotel. Staffs are friendly and helpful. We found the Hanza to be nice, excellent value for money and we will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a pleasant comfortable hotel & I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here. Its location & close proximity to transport make it a great choice for tourists visiting the old town & for day trips out to Jurmala, Salaspils, the national parks, etc.

From the airport, on bus #22, get off at the stop after the big Stockmann Dept store on the right, passing under the railway bridge, on Gogola iela. Walk towards the towering Science Academy (or Stalin’s birthday cake / empire state building lookalike), then to the next street towards the pretty church to the hotel. The hotel is a 7-8 min stroll to the bus & train stations, both at the edge of the Old Town. If you’re only after domestic train travel, enter the train station at the quieter back LDZ entrance on Gogola iela, next to the Narvesen store. This will take you to 3 ticket windows, & then up a flight of stairs directly to the peroni or train platforms. In the main station complex, the peroni / platforms to the electric suburban trains are through between ticket windows 9 & 10 – the entrance was not immediately apparent to me. You can buy local/airport bus e-tickets from the Narvesen stores, among other places.

My clean bright room had a double bed, single wardrobe, desk, chair, luggage rack, cable TV, telephone. There was no minibar or safe. The bathroom & shower cubicle were comfortably-sized, & white towelled bathrobe & slippers were provided. A small toiletries shelf in the shower & a couple of coat hooks each in both the room & bathroom would make it more traveller-friendly. The breakfast was a very satisfying hot & cold spread with a good selection for everyone, apart from the powdered egg omelette. If you’re leaving early, you can get a takeaway breakfast, which is a comparatively sorry affair with a few slices of bread, cheese, ham, cucumber & water.

There’s a free internet access computer in the lobby. There’s also a good-value bar & restaurant. The Great Choral Synagogue memorial & the Riga Ghetto Museum are just around the corner from the hotel & well worth a visit. It rained the 3 days in Riga, so the warm fix from the several Coffee Inn & Double Coffee cafes in the Old Town were great breaks from the weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Great stay at the Hanza hotel. Very helpful staff. Bar and food was value for money and did not disappoint. Breakfast great. Easy walking distance to all of Rotas sites. Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luk3yRoper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed briefly for a stag weekend and the hotel was so much better than expected. Within easy access of the city centre and great rooms with superb beds and bathrooms. I don't think anywhere else will get close to this when the next one gets married

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
511 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#27 of 109 in Riga
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing