We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, no complaints at all”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Reviewed 22 February 2013

as per the title! hotel was great, all staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms was big and clean and comfortable, bathroom was modern and very clean , all round was exceptional experience.worked out at £12 per person inc breakfast!

riga on the other hand is very much different experience, it dark depressing place where and smile or the sound of laughter from a latvian person is as common as a Elvis sighting!!! riga isnt cheap!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garyedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a 7 night 4 hotel tour of the Baltics.

Very good standard of hotel with a decent spa, good pub restaurant and clean modern decor. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast which would easily compare with most other 4-5 star hotels in Europe and better than most.

Service was very good with all staff very courteous and happy/eager to help. The only slight drawback is location, in the Moscow suburb of the city. Returning to the from the old city you have to walk pretty much through the old central market which at night might appear a little daunting.

At no time did I feel under pressure or in any way threatened or intimidated but could understand why some might. I did not see any homeless, vagrancy, or any other intimidating behaviour in the many times I walked this way.

In fact the central market is housed in 5 old Zeppelin Bomber dangers which one should add to their sightseeing itinerary anyway.

Thumbs up to the Hanza Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swift0262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel was excellent value for money, located in a great part of the city. In particular, each morning could start with a walk through the must-see central market, which is between the hotel and the old city.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. If some people think that they are perhaps not that friendly, I would suggest it is because of their level of command of English (which, by the way, is a lot, lot better than most visitors' command of Latvian!) rather than an unfriendly attitude.

As for earlier comments about location, then if you are looking to spend late nights out in the old part of the city, drinking, being loud and generally drawing attention to yourselves, then I suspect walking back in the wee small hours might could potentially attract unwanted attention, as it would in any city in the world. However, we walked backwards and forwards at all times of day and up to 11pm at night and found it to be perfectly safe. Indeed, more safe than I would feel in most UK towns and cities at that time of night!

The rooms themselves are perfectly adequate and the breakfast is superb....fill yourself up on this and you won't be wanting much at lunchtime! Some comments have been made on various reviews about hearing other rooms through the walls.....this could be true but, again, the fault lies not with the hotel but with guests who decide to be loud and obnoxious.

Finally, as I mentioned above, Riga is a lovely city, populated by friendly, down-to-earth people. When you see the Brits arriving for drinking weekends, you realise that the locals have to put up with a lot of ignorant behaviour, but they do this with good grace. Avoid the obviously dodgy clubs, don't drink until you fall over, act like a local instead of a tourist and you will have a lovely time enjoying what this city has to offer. And take a trip to the Museum of Occupation to get an insight into the tough past that the people have had.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I have been to Riga a few times so I know my way around all the main sights. I picked Hanza as it offered a very convenient location and offered the best value for a single traveller with breakfast included. Situated just behind the magnificent Russian designed Latvia Science Institute Hanza is no more than a few minutes walk from the well known Stockmann department store where the No22 bus drops you off from the airport for just 50 cents. It's very close to Central Market, the old town with all the tourist sites and the Origo Shopping Centre and train station. All in all a perfect just off centre location in a nice quiet street.

My room was quite small with just enough room for a double bed and not much else! The bed was very comfortable and I had a nice LCD TV with some English channels to keep abreast of the news. The bathroom was a generous size with under-floor heating and a very stylish corner shower and was hand basin (see pictures). Soap and shampoo were provided and the room was cleaned daily to a very high standard.

Hanza staff are very helpful and welcoming and the hotel has a spa and massage facility which is free at certain times of the year. The corridors and reception area are very clean and bright with some extras including electronic city guide and a shoe cleaning machine which was handy after walking through the snow in February. The hotel had WiFi everywhere I needed it including my room, reception area and the pub where breakfast is served daily.

Breakfast was not just 'continental', there was a full range of hot and cold foods every day which was varied. Different types of rolls, breads and croissants, cheese, cooked meats, cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits, sausages, bacon, boiled, scrambled and egg omelettes as well as lovely potato cakes and pancakes with preserves and honey. They offer a range of coffee and teas and it would be hard not to be able to find something to your taste from the huge selection on offer. Breakfast was included in the price of my room which made a good deal even better value. A nice touch is the breakfast times. 7AM - 10AM Monday to Friday but 8AM until Midday on Saturday and Sunday. Perfect for those who want to enjoy the nightlife in Riga at the weekend!

I would be happy to stay at Hanza again in the future and would have no hesitation recommending it to others.

Room Tip: First floor rooms don't have a great view so perhaps one upstairs might offer a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I found the hotel did what it said on the tin, it was clean, simple and quiet if a 10-15min walk from the centre of Riga. It is good value for money and the breakfast is a highlight.
The service in the hotel was good if a little formal and the food was okay. However if you choose the beer-nachosi combo be prepared for no salsa or cheese.
The showers also have a quirk which means they run scolding hot and then cold.
Overall i would recommend the hotel but do not expect anything above what is advertised

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Very pleasant hotel with excellent service. We were initially assigned a room, but when entering, guests had clearly been smoking there. Immediately we were given another room. The room and beds were both spacious with very comfortable mattresses. The buffet-style breakfast is a real treat. Normally open until 10am, and in the weekends till 11am. The hotel is situated in a quiet corner of Riga to the east of the city centre. Walking to the old centre is not far, but there was a lot of snow when we visited, so we took nearly always tram nr 7, which runs from nearby the hotel, along the main train station, the Opera house, the National Theater, all the way to very near Albert street, famous for its Art Nouveau buildings. Trams run frequently and give a nice chance to watch Riga and the Riga people. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Our room on the front side had a nice view of a church across te road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the last summer (2012). The hotel is kind a boutique one in a very beautiful building a mile from downtown. Rooms are large and spacious, breakfast amazing with tons of selections and the neighborhood is very quiet. To get to Riga's main attraction you need to walk for 20 minutes, best path is through the city market which is amazing because in the summer you will be able to buy delicious fruits like cherries for outrageous prices (something like 2 USD/lb). I really fantastic choice if you don't mind to walk a little bit...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.6 mi away
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#25 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#18 of 110 in Riga
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#44 of 110 in Riga
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Riga
Price Range: £27 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing