We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be warned, very noisy at night”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Be warned, very noisy at night”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was an OKish hotel but I think better value is to be had in Riga. It is clean and adequate but no more than that. The room was characterless, tired and facilities minimal, not even tea and coffee making in the room. Staff were also OK but not outstanding. Breakfast was quite good with a lot of variety but on my second morning, a Saturday, did not begin till eight which meant it was too late as I had a business meeting. Requested a take away breakfast which consisted of lots of dry bread with some processed cheese and ham and an apple. The hotel is located in what seems like a quiet square, a good fifteen to twenty minutes walk from the centre of Riga. However, I had one of the worse nights of sleep in a hotel ever. Constant noise of cars revving, loud talking, blasts of music went on till after two thirty in the morning and then some. It was hot and no A/C so needed the windows open not that shutting them would have made a lot of difference. I think the noise came from the surrounding area, which a taxi driver told me was not the best in Riga. Would not return as I ended my business trip to Riga feeling very tired and wishing I'd stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
244
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good large room, with decent sized bathroom - nice decor. TV and wifi in room. Only thing missing was coffee making facility in room but otherwise lovely. Helpful staff who were very happy to sort us some breakfast out - when we had misread the time (on weekdays, breakfast finishes at 10am).
Within walking distance to old town (about 15-20 minutes).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DocCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Navigating your way from the bus station is a bit tricky because you have to zigzag through the market. Ultimately it's an easy find once you get it together. The location is about five minutes walk from the market and another few minutes from old town. 

It's in a bit of a sketchy neighbourhood, visually anyway, but the hotel is great. Reception staff are nice, elevators are small but they work! My room was listed as a small single and they weren't lying but I didn't need anymore being a solo traveler. Double bed with almost no room to get out of the bed, little desk, decent bathroom. My room overlooked the street and I was three floors up so it was a decent view. The shower, oh the shower. That shower could have hosed off elephants, it has POWER! It was awesome to get the humidity of Riga off you each night. I would stay there again just for that!

Breakfast, it's totally decent but occasionally can get a bit cramped. Sometimes you have to wait for a table but it turns over somewhat quickly. Breakfast consists of: tea, coffee, juice, yogurt, one type of cereal, meat, cheese, bread (w/toaster), cucumber, tomatoes, and hard boiled eggs. For hot food there is either crépes or pancakes, potato patties, small wieners, porridge and beans. The breakfasts are totally fine and there are servers running around cleaning plates and tables. 

Great hotel, I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

I first saw the hotel at night from the side and the retro illuminated sign did not give a good impression....but on finding the front door it was much nicer and larger than initial impressions. The man on the front desk was very helpful and checkin was easy.
The room looked very nice and clean. I was in a double as a single person...plenty of room for one but may feel slightly small with two of you. Facilities-wise there was a tv, hairdryer, wardrobe and desk with chair. No tea/coffee facilities. The en suite was good. Towels provided...not particularly huge or fluffy but useable! The shower was nice and powerful but like so many hotels, there was nowhere to put your shampoo etc. As the base filled up very quickly, I was soon standing ankle deep in water with bottles floating around.
Noise-wise I heard occasional sounds from neighbouring rooms but generally it was quiet.
Breakfast was a crowded and chaotic affair around the buffet. The area just seemed too cramped for the number of people. There was quite a selection of food : juice, tea, bread, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, hot dog sausages, cheese and so on.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowpingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Excellent service from the front desk and the restaurant..Good selection of food for the buffet breakfast. The room is clean and spacious, very quiet location, you can walk to the Old Town about 10-15 minutes. the bathroom is spacious but there isn't a shelf to put things on. overall, this is an excellent hotel and I definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Victor Thomas G... I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A great place to stay in Riga. A fantastic value for money.
Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were well equipped, clean, modern.
Breakfast was a pure joy, excellent I would say.
Location is not perfect but on your way form the hotel to the city center you will go through a famous local market which is a must see in Riga anyway :-)

Bottom line: A lovely hotel. Prepare for colder weather in April.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
203 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Good hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast with good selection of foods in the basement. Location is reasonably near nice old city center and the market halls. Old Zepelin halls which are worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenromp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#51 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing