We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
244
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

really nice hotel. great breakfast nice staff. nice and clean rooms with bathroom heating floor. good localisation near central stationa. i have forgotten one thing from room after check out and giveed me.back the same day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wojtynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
174 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights on my first visit to Riga.

The hotel is an older building that has a completely remodeled and renewed interior.

Check-in was quick and friendly.

My room was very nice sized and clean. The bathroom was quite large and had a great shower. The room had two big windows with a southern exposure. Great sun.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Great variety with a few changes from one day to the next.

I used public transportation from the airport to the hotel and only had to walk about five minutes once I got off the bus.

This hotel is only two blocks away from the central market. I was fascinated by the variety of goods sold. Portions of the central market is housed in old dirigible hangars dating from around WWI.

I really enjoyed my visit to Riga and would like to return again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSQ575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 October 2013

nice hotel but too far out of city .and when ask taxi in town centre they say not go to there .so had to walk in rain to hotel . but is nice hotel and clean .food good .staff nice .friendly . so would stay again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The room was decorated in modern styles and whilst small it was perfectly serviceable for one person. The room had an open wardrobe, side tables, and working desk. The window overlooked onto the nearby street. The bathroom had a heated floor and the usual facilities and was again decorated in modern tones. On the first morning I took a shower and found that the shower head didn’t appear to be securely fastened (as it appeared to be not the original) and hit me on the head but soon repaired once reception were informed.

The bed was comfy but I did find the quilt a little small for me but I managed it. The breakfast in the next morning was a selection of bread products, juices, two cereals, on a few days there was fruit and then pancakes too. The hot options were bacon, sausages (hot dog style) and omelette. The breakfast was appetising and serviceable if not expansive in its options.

I never ate in the restaurant at night but did have a couple of beers when an acoustic guitar/singer was playing and was certainly a nice place to relax after visiting the capital.

The final evening of my stay I asked if it’s possible to have an extended stay and was told that it may be possible but come back in the morning. So I woke up early on what was going to be a long day (flight at 22:00) and hoped that it would be possible. Sadly, they didn’t offer me an extended stay but do have a luggage store. The only disappointment was it not being possible to know this in advance to plan my day better.

Room Tip: TIP Use Baltic Air mini bus for easiest way of getting to hotel especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rother_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Friendly staff, especially in the restaurant. Nice big twin room with nice view of big wooden church. Breakfast nice, food in restaurant quite good. 20 mins walk to old town. I recommend walking on the river side of the market rather then through Central station as feels safer. Can get tram 7 from 2 mins walk from hotel into centre. I recommend this hotel, very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlamingoLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice environment, heated floor at bathroom. A quite good breakfast included, very close to the old town and international bus station. The only reason i don't give stars is cuz at night time the street leading to it is not that iluminated and tv channel selection has only news channels

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jfelipesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#32 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#44 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#58 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing