We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hanza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Park Hotel Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europa Royale Riga(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rixwell Elefant Hotel(Riga)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
227
306
89
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
306
89
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral marketacademy of sciencelutheran churchold townopen marketthe busquiet areanice hotelmin walkincluding breakfastroom priceby footrailway stationroom was spacioushot and cold foodbuffet breakfastsingle room
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Hanza hotel is not located is the best area of Riga but it is only 10 min walk to the old town, which is no problem during day time. At night, it is for sure wiser to take a taxi, which are extremely cheap anyway.
The hotel is clean and relatively nice. The problem when we were there was the noise caused by a group of 5-6 young English men which were in the same floor as us. It as been a nightmare. They were obviously completely drunk, yelling, running, jumping in the corridors for more than 2 hours (between 2.00 and 4.00 am). Even though I went out to try to calm them down and called the reception twice, nothing helped. I am really not satisfied with the fact that the reception has not done anything regarding this problem.
Otherwise, quite a good hotel, even though very cold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svarstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanzaGM, General Manager at Hanza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2009

Dear Svarstad,

Thank you for your stay at Hanza Hotel as well as the review, which certainly will help us to improve our service in the future.
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay and that we could not solve the situation and take a proper care of your peace.

With best regards,

Aigars Gerhards
General Manager
Hanza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (included) was ok. Rooms are nice and clean, and our room in the corner of the house on the 5th floor had a nice view overlooking the Jesus Church. It's close to the market halls, and you can also easily walk to the old town (just few minutes). If you ask the staff to call you a taxi they will probably call a black one, which is more expensive. You should always ask them to order a "red taxi", they are half the price than other taxis.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

The hotel itself is about 10 minutes walk from the main station. It is a very modern hotel but is very friendly and not at all pretentious like a lot of boutique places. The staff are friendly and informative. The rooms clean, spacious and modern. Only gripe about the hotel was the walls are quite thin. If you like hearing drunk latvian females singing Madonna at 2 am after they have been out on the sauce then this is not a problem!!! However for £31 per night its exceptional value. When you land at the airport either get the number 22 bus for about 60p to the city centre or the airport shuttle bus for about £4. Taxi drivers are quite happy to rip tourists off

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottyd783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Quite, clean hotel in a good location in the city. Took 2 minutes to walk to the market and on other side of the market was the city, never a need for taxi's, only to and from airport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We weren’t really expecting much having paid so little for the room, however from the moment we arrived at the hotel we were pleasantly surprised at the modern decor, friendly staff on reception and the spotlessly clean room. The rooms and public areas were modern and everything you would expect from a hotel 3 times the price.

The bathroom even had under floor heating, which given the fact it was February was a welcome luxury.

The breakfast was great - everything you would expect from a hotel in this part of the world.

I have noticed a few people have commented on the location of the hotel not being very central. Its only a few mins walk to the old town and whilst I can appreciate that some people may consider it as not being in the best part of town we felt completely safe. Whilst some have said that Riga is not the most g'gay friendly' destinations in the world we felt completely at ease both at the hotel and in Riga at large.

The only downside, and its hard to find anything negative to say about this hotel, is the fact that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Apart from that it was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ste_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews