We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately stay again!”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will definately stay again!”
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great hotel about 10 min walk from the old town and Taxi cost 10 lat from airport (£12)

Very clean, very modern and lovely staff.

Very good value for money, and trendy little bar downstairs which was very reasonably priced (you also have breakfast in the same bar) lovely decor.

About 10 min walk which may not be ideal for some but it is literally one straight road away from old town and you pass the university tower (which looks like a smaller version of the empire state building) fantastic architecture!

Loved Riga, and loved the Hanza. Aim to return in the next few years.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSheffield_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    278
    78
    16
    6
See reviews for
60
246
83
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Black Country
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here with the family [kids 3 and 10] in August for 7 days. OK it's a little bit out of town but for travellers on a budget it ticks all the boxes. We had a top floor room which had great views of the church opposite and the square, the area is very quiet but we never felt "insecure" in any way. Breakfast was ok, a bit hit and miss better when there were no coach parties in. We ate at the outdoor restaurant which was excellent value and good quality, beyond this it was a 15 minute walk to Cili Pizza by the Stockmann dept store. Staff were friendly and helpful. Its a 2 minute walk to Stalin's wedding cake, the museum of science which is an amazing building and well worth a look from the viewing platform for views of the city. The central market sells everything you could need, i wandered round there daily. Riga is Riga, just wonderful. Go to Jurmala just 25 minutes away on the local train, great beach, clean water and plenty of places to eat plus view the real beach fashion disasters; there's plenty of vintage property to drool over. We walked to the Hanza from the ferry terminal, don't do it just get a cab.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NbyNWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Even though we stayed only one night this hotel made very good impact. The location is little of the central Riga but you can easily get there by foot or bus. Less than 10 minutes if you walk.

While arriving we were greeted by polite staff, two young friendly girls. The hotel itself looks historical but is still modern and in very good condition - both outside and inside. Beds were comfortably, rooms spacey and very clean. Wifi also available, not too fast though. Views from our rooms were to little street, not a bit noisy. Only annoying noise was from hall when some customers yelled each other some minutes. Though, not really hotels fault.

For breakfast there were eggs, porridge, yogurt+muesli/different kind of flakes, toasts and usual stuff. It's probably not the best breakfast you've experience but you'll get your stomach full. I personally liked the light stuff (yogurt and fruits) but would've hoped things like ham and sausages.

All in all, we had very nice visit. The hotel definitely has an unique atmosphere, it's modern still being old and romantic. Some little flaws here and there just make it perfect still not being too perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Hotel was great value ,easy to find located just behind Russian skyscraper view from the top at 2 lat is a must.Some reviews state location not very safe but we found the area to be perfectly safe day and night.Room,staff and breakfast excellent.The evening meal we had in the hotel pub restaurant on our last of four nights at the Hanza was one of the best meals we have ever had and was the prefect end to a brilliant stay in a wonderful City and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil007h2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Hotel price is good and hotel is clean and safe.
You have to walk little bit to old city. In night time it is maybe better to take taxi.
No secured parking near hotel, but we keep our car front off hotel and nothing happens.
I recommend this hotel for good price!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taikuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We were positively surprised when we entered the lobby. Really great looking lobby with helpful and service minded people working behind the desk. They all spoke good English, so it was not hard to communicate.

The check in went fine, no problems with the pre-paid order.

The room was not as good looking as the lobby, but it was clean. We had much space, and a nice view. The bathrom was in good shape, but we had some problems with the shower temperatures.

The breakfast was great! Good food and lovely atmosphere in the hotel restaurant. We were positively surprised here as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oterpoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights and I think it was a good deal. The hotel is nice, clean, helpful reception, and nice price. Food was regular baltic food (not very tasty:). By walk it would take about 20 minutes to get to the center of the city. The only disadvantage was its location and the way to the city center. One needed to go through the station and the market area which is dirty and noisy. Not very pleasant when you go for a sightseeing. But I would stay in that hotel once again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aghvesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HanzaGM, General Manager at Hanza Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Dear Aghvesik!

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hanza Hotel!
It is a great pleasure for us to read guest comments on Tripadvisor.com of their stay at Hanza Hotel!
Therefore we are ready to react on each and every comment what gives us a feedback on what we should pay more attention or what should be improved.

Also after reading your comments of staying at Hanza Hotel – we appreciate a lot you enjoyed your stay and quality / service provided by Hanza Hotel and that we met well all your expectations therefore we can be satisfied of our work we do.

Only reading of the surrounding as you find it as a disadvantage!
In this occasion I would like to admit that Hanza Hotel is located in a very center of the City. Near the Hotel there are such a famous tourist attractions as Central Market, Academy of Sciences, different churches, cultural diversity at Spikeri district, Embassy of Belarus in front of the hotel and other attractions what makes our district so special.
To the Old Town it takes only 5 – 7 minutes if you are walking therefore each guest is always welcome to ask for help at the Reception how to find the shortest way to the place you are looking for.

And once again I would like to thank you for staying at Hanza Hotel and please feel free to contact me whether any further assistance will be needed!

With best regards,
Janis Meldrajs
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
0.7 mi away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#24 of 109 in Riga
504 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#60 of 109 in Riga
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#27 of 109 in Riga
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#45 of 109 in Riga
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rixwell Domus Hotel
Rixwell Domus Hotel
#38 of 109 in Riga
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing