We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, nice view, quiet location”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great value, nice view, quiet location”
Reviewed 25 December 2010

The Hanza hotel is about 10/15 minutes walk from the city centre - only 5 minutes from the train station in a quiet street next to a lovely church. There are some beautiful wooden buildings on the street too and buses to Salaspils stop just down the street. From our top floor room we had a fabulous view of the church - the only slight downside to this was when it was lit up at night it was slightly light in the room while sleeping. this would only bother you if you needed complete darkness to sleep, as there was only a blind rather than curtains. The bathroom had a bath with shower - although there was no shower curtain so the water did go on the floor. Usually we have issues with showers because we are both very tall but this one was great, the bathroom was huge and very modern. The beds were 2 singles together as in most other European locations and very comfortable. There was also a spacious wardrobe, table, TV etc. The room was very spacious and modern, the hotel staff were very friendly and the restaurant food was delicious and surprisingly good value. We ate a full dinner in the restaurant with big beers. There were also offers that came with the room for the restuarant as well. Breakfast was good there was a wide range of choice of hot sausages and egg plus bread and meats and cheese, a typical European buffet. This hotel would suit couples or families who want to get a good night's sleep but don't want traffic noise or crazy drunks keeping them awake. There was free internet on a PC in the lobby too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    276
    75
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
244
81
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, everything in the hotel we needed.

Really enjoyed the food and the live music.

Would recommend this to others and would go back. A little out of town 5 mins in a cab.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIGARIGA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The hotel is very comfortable and located within short distance of the city center. It offers a good variety of rooms (standard to suite) as well as a good breakfast buffet. Small disadvantage is the location is a little difficult to access/find at night, otherwise it's a great place to stay on a short vacation to Latvia. The staff were very helpful and their English was excellent. Rooms were quiet and spacious. I liked the new and modern decorations and the bathroom was roomy. It has no other amenities but Internet was available in lobby. The hotel rates were reasonably priced. We would definitely return there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murdocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed for one night only but based on that this hotel was spotless clean with excellent service. Rooms were quite small, but locating near to city center there was no time to waste in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent! I would recommend this hotel even for longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eskilstuna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2010

This hotel is so adorable, the rooms are amazing and the staff is unbelievably accommodating. Their English is great and they are ready to answer any questions you may have as well as offer assistance when they can. We loved this place and we especially loved our receptionist.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great hotel about 10 min walk from the old town and Taxi cost 10 lat from airport (£12)

Very clean, very modern and lovely staff.

Very good value for money, and trendy little bar downstairs which was very reasonably priced (you also have breakfast in the same bar) lovely decor.

About 10 min walk which may not be ideal for some but it is literally one straight road away from old town and you pass the university tower (which looks like a smaller version of the empire state building) fantastic architecture!

Loved Riga, and loved the Hanza. Aim to return in the next few years.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSheffield_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Country
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here with the family [kids 3 and 10] in August for 7 days. OK it's a little bit out of town but for travellers on a budget it ticks all the boxes. We had a top floor room which had great views of the church opposite and the square, the area is very quiet but we never felt "insecure" in any way. Breakfast was ok, a bit hit and miss better when there were no coach parties in. We ate at the outdoor restaurant which was excellent value and good quality, beyond this it was a 15 minute walk to Cili Pizza by the Stockmann dept store. Staff were friendly and helpful. Its a 2 minute walk to Stalin's wedding cake, the museum of science which is an amazing building and well worth a look from the viewing platform for views of the city. The central market sells everything you could need, i wandered round there daily. Riga is Riga, just wonderful. Go to Jurmala just 25 minutes away on the local train, great beach, clean water and plenty of places to eat plus view the real beach fashion disasters; there's plenty of vintage property to drool over. We walked to the Hanza from the ferry terminal, don't do it just get a cab.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NbyNWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Janne
Hotel Janne
#33 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#43 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bellevue  Park Hotel Riga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
Rixwell Elefant Hotel
#19 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#49 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: Elijas iela 7, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center,a short walking distance from the Old Town, Central Railway Station and International Bus Station. The hotel is also close to the main bridges of the Daugava River. The history, environment and friendly design will help you to relax after a day of business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing