We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Hotel location was great, 8. floor room was small but nice view to railway and river Daugava.
Beds are very hard and i feel strings in my back.
Breakfast (7-11 )was good, but normal coffee ends 9.00
Free wlan was very fast

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kepsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

View from the sixth floor bar is gorgeous! Perfectly located. On the main street in front of the hotel, Bus 22 goes right to the airport The back entrance leads to Old Town and only a few blocks from the Daugava River!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the main street and train station side(front) of the hotel. We had absolutely no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agave5vagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The hotel's location is convenient, the rooms interior are brand new and overall very clean.
The positive features, however, were overshadowed upon setting foot in the hotel.
During check-in, we were told there was 'a problem with the door locks' in some of the rooms (ridiculous excuse! - obviously overbooked. Even the taxi driver commented: 'again their door locks'? and laughed...), and were sent to another hotel in the old city (Justus Hotel, highly recommended). Since our booking was on half-board basis, we asked to have dinner at Justus Hotel but Avalon's reception refused to cover the expense for our dinner. They said 'they can come and have dinner here at the Avalon if they want' i.e. stay in one hotel, eat at another!! Apparently they need to review their policies and train their staff in dealing with such problems in a more professional way.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petros72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Hotel Avalon on 13 Janvara street:
Very interesting inner architecture: open-space lobby with glass elevator zooming up and down.Our room was very clean and comfy, and with the carpet and double glazing it was totally sound proof, despite the fact the room was at the busy street side.
The location is great too, only a few minutes' walkig from the very heart of the city.
and with the 22(a) bus from the airport stopping a few metres from the entrance. the railway station a bit further on.
We hadn't expected too much from dinner , at a 10€ extra...Still, it was a nice surprise.
There were two types of menus:the first with starters and main course, the second day with main course and dessert, and with 3 or 4 choices per course.The dishes may not be affluent,but they were tasty and with an eye for detail what the decoration is concerned. There was also a veggy dish.
The terrace on the 6th floor had a nice view and was quite cosy.
So, yes, we certainly recommend this hotel and if ever we visit Riga gain, we know which hotel to pick!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nadia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We (mature couple) stayed here in early July and were very pleased all-around with this hotel. We chose this hotel for its location at the edge of the Old Town and because it was convenient to a bus stop (#22 from the airport). Our room included an excellent breakfast buffet and they even included dinner as a bonus. The dinner included a soup or salad choice plus an entree choice(chicken, fish, pasta or meat-stuffed... zucchini?)--all quite good. The staff spoke English, were all very friendly, and helpful, as was everyone we encountered in Riga--friendly city. Out the back door and up a cobbled street and you're in charming Riga Old Town.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank koz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

A good, modern hotel right on the edge of the old town - ideal for exploring on foot. Also has a car park (many city centre hotels do not), which you have to pay for, but it is worth it if you need a car (as we did). Rooms clean and good size, and have aircon!! Although it is on a busy road, and opposite the railway station, the double glazing is excellent - we had no disturbance from noise. The deal we had included breakfast (good) and dinner. This was from a limited choice menu, which was fine for one or two nights, but decided to pay extra to get more choice. Food is excellent however, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robaxeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

It is an fine hotel, not four star, but it has everything for a good stay of a few days.
Fine room, good bedding, fine bathroom with shower and bath. Quit in the room, no noises from outside. Airco did not function well, room is clean. Great breakfast, free meals are not as good as the breakfast. Nice bar and bar terrace on the roof overlooking old Riga.
From the the hotel you almost walk in the old city, or easy take a cab to everywhere you want.
We would recommend the hotel if the price is ok. (it was during our time)

Room Tip: Ask if the airco works and check it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billienetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 112 in Riga
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Tallink Hotel Riga
Tallink Hotel Riga
#16 of 112 in Riga
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 112 in Riga
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Address: 13 Janvara St 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range: £47 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing