We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy staying at Avalon”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy staying at Avalon”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Excellent modern rooms with a bath tub and beautiful view to Riga Old town. Wonderful location and easily reached also by car, just at the edge of the restricted driving area in old town. Friendly staff, high quality breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krisse_FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    368
    100
    19
    9
See reviews for
118
338
97
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a weekend trip to Latvia, Riga. Booked Avalon Hotel after looking on the reviews. It has nice, big rooms. Good cleaning. Nice bathroom. The hotel bar has polite and quick personel. The front desk is another story. They forget what you ask about (we had requests in advance), they seemed to look at you as something to interrupt they daily routine instead of a guest. But customer service is not what Riga is famous for either. Would anyway consider the hotel again, the cleaning lady and other part of the staff is ok, and it hold a good standard. Service gives a big minus tough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stian Hagemann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel is sited opposite the main train, bus and tram stations on the edge of the small old town and opposite the central market so its handy for everything worth looking at in Riga. The hotel offer free Dinner with your stay and the food is OK but the same each day we stayed. The hotel charge for TV and tea and coffee in your room. Service is OK but the room off the Atrium can be a bit noisy

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vejen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Good hotel-breakfast dinner included in the price.Good location-200 meters from bus station(Riga coach station)-I booked for one day trip to Tallinn true Luxexpress(very good buses) -price for one direction-21(27-biznes class-recomendet).
The internet in the hotel is very good (wi-fi in all hotel rooms for free).The Tv is with prepaid -10 lats per day(too expensive)!!!The breakfast is a good ,the dinner -very good!
The taxi from airport cost 10 lats(fixed price-I make mistake to buy voucher from inside store Baltiks taxi) -but is much more cheaper if you take a cab outside the airport-maybe 7-8 lats to the old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasabov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vikersund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

In October was my first stay in this hotel. Nice, quiet and cleen. So when I went back to Riga I felt safe to order same hotel. This time it wasn't thor quiet. We got room number 312 first. Stay away from this room!! You have the noice from the kitchen from 05.30 a.m till 12 p.m.
After two nights in this room, we finally got another room.
The breakfast was ok. I think it was too little choices of meat. The dinner was good.
Next time I go to Riga, I probably stay in the same hotel. I will just avoid room 312 and the rooms next to it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I was slightly nervous about booking an hotel not far from the bus station but I needn't have worried as this hotel also has an entrance onto the old town, a short walk from the Dome Cathedral. Breakfast was very good and the 2 course light dinner included in the room price was extremely well presented and very tasty. In fact we came back to the Avalon for another light evening meal on our final day in Riga. I consider this to be a real "find" and would stay there again. UR

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dinah1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Avalon for two days during a seminar i Riga in April. The hotel is located close to the railway station, and just outside the beautiful old town. The location is ok.

I had a double room on the third floor. It was just what you could expect at a modern business hotel. The bed was good.

The breakfast buffet was ok. We also had a good lunch in the hotel restaurant.

I will probably not choose this hotel if I go back to Riga one day. But it was not bad at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sraLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing