We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Would stay again.”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked a 3 night stay at a very favourable rate and I definately got value for my money. The hotel is nothing special, but with a comfortable bed, nice breakfast and friendly staff you dont need much more. Will stay there again if I go back to Riga as it was very conviniant located just on the edge of the old town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HenrikRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    386
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
128
351
97
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

six of us went to riga for my sons 30th.We landed late evening jumped in a minibus outside the airport 15 quid k kand in 15 mins we were there.Hotel in great location on the edge of the old town,in front of the river excellent. The check in was quick 3 rooms together as requested.We were on the 6th floor facing the river great view over to the markets.So cases in and off we went.The old town 5 min walk ,what a fantastic place one of the prettyiest and interresting places ive seen.But first we hit some bars as it was saturday night it was full of locals which was good ,they were freindly and up for a good time.It was also independance day so there was lots going on.Back to the hotel inthe early hours the hoter bar was still open so we had a few more where we were joined by some freindly norwiegans who also liked the local beer.The next day was remembrance day so once again there was plenty going ceromonial marches ,outdoor concerts etc.AII in all great hotel great resort

Room Tip: high room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patsy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbury, Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The Avalon equals the best hotels at which I have ever stayed. I landed at the airport late at night and could have taken the number 22 bus but noting that all the taxis quoted their fares per kilometre painted on the side I decided to take one. the driver quoted a flat rate of 9 lats which would be somewhere between 10 and 11 English pounds. Although I arrived after the restaurant had closed they made me some soup with bread.
All the staff spoke good English and all were most helpful. The hotel is well placed; you only walk for about ten minutes before you are in the old town. In the opposite direction there is a rail and bus station and a huge market which is worth a visit. I just went for relaxation and not for Christmas markets but nevertheless there was a small but good value market.
My room was excellent in all respects and there was always a good wi-fi signal at no extra cost.
BBC World Service was available on the television. The bar was excellent and prices of drinks were quite reasonable. I look forward to returning in warmer weather.

Room Tip: I chose a room facing the back of the hotel but do not think there would be a problem at the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianfromKingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This hotel is well placed near the Old Town which is easy enough for you to explore on foot. Have a taste of local ambience in the hugh Central Market across the road. There are stores inside and outside with lots of fresh fruits, nuts, cheeses and meat.
We were initially given a room which had a few steps leading to the main sleeping area. Bad idea , if you have lugggage, kid and seniors with you. We requested for a change and was granted - much more comfy and seemed more spacious.
Breadfast spread is reasonable but has the added advantage of cooking fresh omelette with ham/chese/mushroom on request at no extra charge.
Service is reasonable. Cost of meals are also affordable.

Room Tip: Request for a room which does not have steps leading to the sleeping area. The higher floors would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 169usj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I was really surprised, the hotel was much more than I expected for that money. Very comfortable rooms, top level breakfast, nice bar and even a cigar room. The service at the reception was quick and friendly. And I have seldom, if ever, experienced such service as at the bar. Thank you Ikars, you are the best!

Overall experience was very good, clean, comfortable, friendly and good value.
Only small minus is the location/surroundings, but with 5 minute walk you are in the Old Riga.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay very much.
SInce arriving early at the hotel, check in wasnt till 3pm, we sat in the hotel bar and had drinks and food. Which was very nice and so very reaonsably priced.
After Check-in a little later, we went up to our room on the 4th floor. It was a lovely spacious room which over looked the street and the central market. The room was spotlessly clean and was cosy.
We had breakfast included in the rate we paid for and we wasnt disappointed as there was so much to choose from.
The hotel is right on the edge of the Old Town, and a less than 5 minute walk will take you right into the main area, with pubs, shops and restaurants. Also good location for the Christmas Markets. About a 20 minute drive from the airport also.
Cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!!

I cancelled my booking with the travel agencies concerned,within the booking deadlines. But the hotel still decided to charge my card. I spoke with the Hotel Reservations Manager Anita, and the Hotel General Manager Dimitri on the phone both who refused to refund the charge. Even when the travel agents got involve they still refused to refund the charge.

My opinion of this hotel is that it run by jobs worth's, and should be avoided at all costs!!! There are better hotels in Riga and in the same location who offer a better standard of customer service than the Hotel Avalon!!!! In the I have ten years, I visiting in RigaI have never come across a hotel run by a bunch of jobs worth's. I feel that both the Reservations Manager and The Hotel General Manager both must of attended the Basil Fawlty School Of Hotel Management!!!!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank WeymouthBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
638 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing