We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, perfect location”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a relatively new hotel, and is perfectly located for exploring the old town, and for the central bus station. If you arrive by bus, just look up and across the canal - you'll see the sign. We booked over the internet, and got a room with a view of the Zeppelin sheds, so I don't think they're discriminating in any way against internet bookings. It does appear as though some of the rooms look inwards onto the atrium, though.

The decor is modern, but with a retro-ironic leaning to the sort of godawful 70s wood veneer that I haven't seen since cheapo furniture warehouse MFI went out of business. Rooms are comfortable, with a mini-bar, safe, iron, hair-dryer etc. No tea and coffee making. The double glazing works well, we were never aware of the heavy goods train that regularly rumbles right past the front of the hotel.

There's free WiFi everywhere in the hotel, but in our room (803, right at the top) reception was of the just-about-works-if-you-stand-on-the-toilet variety. Once you get a connection, the link is 90s-dialup slow, their internet connection is nowhere near up to the number of guests trying to use it. No business center, but ask at reception and they will give you an email address to mail etickets etc to, and they will print them for you, so you can collect them later. Most convenient.

On the sixth floor, there is a terrace bar, which has fine views of the city. We were fortunate enough to sit out and watch a combined city sunset and thunderstorm whilst sipping the local brew, which was fairly memorable. Only downside is there's no actual bar service there, you have to pop down to the ground floor in the elevator and get your drinks there; monumentally idle as I am, I can't really consider this a complaint tho. Plus the ground floor bartender is a funny guy.

Breakfast is the usual buffet selection, my only gripe here is that the hotplate thingies for keeping the hot food warm need to be turned up several notches. It is tepid at best. There's a wide selection of cereals and bread products etc instead tho.

As part of our booking, we were given "gift vouchers" for free evening meals, which must be chosen from the "chef's special menu". We've had some experience of free hotel dinners, so braced ourselves for the worst, but we thought we'd give it a go before nipping in to town for something edible. The selection is small (four mains, two desserts on the first night, two starters. two mains on the second), and the portions aren't massive either: but that's where our expectations foundered - not only did we get a generous basket of bread rolls, but the quality and presentation of each dish was utterly excellent. Somebody in that kitchen has considerable pride in their work, and they are clearly working miracles with a limited budget. Absolutely first class.

I'm giving this full marks, because it was significantly better than my expectations (which is rare), and apart from crap internet I can find little to complain about (which is pretty much unheard of). Good job, Hotel Avalon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blowback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    368
    100
    19
    9
See reviews for
118
338
97
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed two nights in a double room and enjoyed myself. The hotel is clean and modern and I have no complaints.

My room was pretty spacious. I stayed on the 3rd floor, windows facing the street and old zeppelin halls. The room had two beds, writing table, free wi-fi, tv, AC, safe, ironing facilities, mini bar and wall-to-wall carpet. There was also coffee and tea but they weren't complimentary. The bathroom had a shower and a bath tub. The bathroom looked clean and nice.

My room had a locked door to the room next door so I'm guessing it's possible to join those two rooms. I heard some noise from the other room but otherwise the hotel was quiet.

I enjoyed their breakfast. There was a lot to choose from. You could also order omelets and such but it cost extra.

Some rooms have windows facing the reception area. Great terrace in the 6th floor. You could order food and drinks from the lobby bar and take them to the terrace.

The location is great if you want to spend time in the old part of the town. The railway station is pretty near and there are couple of shopping malls near by. Also the old zeppelin halls, where the locals shop, are close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel is ok but i can't say it is 4star level. The breakfast was scanty, there was no kettle and tee in the room, and no sponge for shoes. But the location of the hotel is very convenient, there is free wi-fi on the hotel's territory. Room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeYastr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I liked this hotel... the location is excellent.... closed to the bus station and right next to the old city... very clean and comfort...staff very helpful and the restaurant very good with good prices... don't try the pasta there....get something else...:)
I just wander why they always give you rooms with no view every time you book through the internet...:(

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokia, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Visited this hotel last year with our team from work. Overall, this was a good-quality hotel with comfortable rooms, meeting room facilities and a good location for exploring the Riga town by foot. Opposite the hotel, you can find a huge marketplace area that offers everything for everyone. After a few block's walk, you will reach the riverside from which it's easy to take boat tour on the river (or even up to Jurmala for a day). The breakfast buffet in Avalon was of above average; not the best or the most versatile I've been to, but have no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naanamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed there one night. Rooms are modern and clean. Very professional and frendly staff. BREAKFAST ITS SO DELICIOUS. You can choose what you would like to eat. I would stay here again. In my opinion Hotel Avalon is the best hotel in Riga for value and price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmmwdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Good location with nice rooms, the one one the 4th floor had stairs, don't know if that's the reason you could hear the neighbors too well...
Other thing, it was wintertime, and the rooms had close to no heating.
Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsteinBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing