We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Rates, Good Service, Near Old Town Riga, Latvia”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable Rates, Good Service, Near Old Town Riga, Latvia”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

A friend and I stayed for a week at the Avalon Hotel which is located on the edge of Old Town in Riga, Latvia. Our room was insulated from traffic noise below and this was great since our room looked out onto the street where trolley cars and traffic was a constant but never interfered with our sleep. If we walked out the back door of the hotel, we were immediately in Old Town Riga and it was very easy to spend time exploring Old Town since there literally was no "walking distance" from the hotel. In addition, it was easy to catch a trolley right outside the hotel or walk several blocks to the underground train station.

The stay at the hotel includes a very generous breakfast spread as well as a couple limited but inclusive choices for dinner. The rooms are good sized. If you are looking for a luxurious booking, this hotel is not for you (go stay at the Palace Hotel); however, if you are looking for a room with a reasonable rate that is clean, quiet and includes breakfast and dinner and that is near Old Town, this is the place for you.

I want to mention that while I was there, I was in need of a doctor and the concierge at the hotel provided an excellent recommendation for a doctor. She even called the doctor's office to let her know that I was on the way (and it was approximately 5:30 p.m.). There was a pharmacy in the same building as the doctor's office and the pharmacist stayed past closing time to fill my prescription. The service staff at the Avalon are very accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aija45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    373
    100
    20
    9
See reviews for
121
341
97
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent 3 nights during 2013 Christmas in this hotel. We had looked at the different hotels in Riga for couple of months prior to our arrival. At end we choose this hotel because of the location, value for money and free dinner provided to the guests.

It was very comfortable stay indeed. Hotel located in a superb spot in Riga, 10 minutes walk from Riga Train Station, 5 minutes walk from Riga Central Bus Station and right across from Riga Central Market. Old town just behind the hotel and river just couple of minutes away. We arrived by train from Moscow and it did not take us long to find the hotel although its annoying using the underpass to cross the street.

Check in and check out was fine, most of staff are friendly and helpful. Room is very modern, bed is very comfortable, bathroom is well heated but not well planned. Shower is in the bathtub and the tub is very high. Even for someone like us with long legs it tricky getting in and out. Toilet is too close to the basin so you feel your under it while sitting. We had a view of the old town from our room. Old town has quite a bit to see but the foreign exchange rates are unfavourable compared to other places.

We were very impressed with the quality of the food, breakfast is great, all food has been freshly prepared. We also enjoyed dinner, while free and included in our stay it was definitely top quality food and well presented. We truly enjoyed the food during the christmas days. They have different menu for each day, some days is entree and main, other day is main and dessert.

Considering the price we paid, this hotel is definitely good value for money. They do have this early check in policy where they charge, I found it is very unusual for a 4 star hotel. I can understand if it is in high season then it is fine. But if it is low season like christmas, then it should give the convenience to the guests. We do appreciate the hotel give us the convenience during our stay and we will definitely come back to this hotel if we are in town.

Room Tip: old town facing higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Hotel Avalon, Riga, Latvia, is situated at the border of the Old City of Riga, not fare from the Central Market, Its fronton is looking at the "new city'" and railway, when the back is facing the Old City.
The multistory building is new, with very nice decor inside, including lobby and rooms.
The staff is polite, English, Russian and Latvian speaking. They are trying the best, but sometimes there are some remainings of the "Soviet" habits.
Breakfast is reach and tasty, with a variety of milk products.
An important note for Jewish observing travellers: the central Riga's synagogue is in a walking distance from the hotel (5 min).
Be careful when visiting the Central Market, don't do it at the dark time of the day!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms, facing the Old City. When booking directly (or after booking by Internet) ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed two nights here; location is obviously very convenient, on the "right" edge of old town "Vecriga" across the street from the bus station and very near the train station. Tram stops directly outside too. The hotel was a bit better than expected, especially the spacious, modern lobby and helpful staff. I was upgraded to a "superior room" which is really a normal 4 star room at best. View was out towards the river and the railroad bridge; not bad, and the sound insulation worked. Really impressed with the breakfast, one of the best I've had in the Baltic states. I would avoid the standard rooms and especially, the rooms facing "inside" the atrium, which have zero privacy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed in that hotel for a weekend with my fiancee.I had booked a superior room that it was a very simple room. On our arrival day we had a meal in the afternoon 2 courses in the restaurant. Because that day it was a meeting we had to eat in a big room,like a conference room. We went at 17 and our drinks came at 17:40. It was only one waiter for 16 people (a la cart) and he had do go every time from the 6th floor with a queridon down in the first floor to bring drinks and food.
The restaurant manager or the F&B sould help this person a bit more.
The food was really nice also the dessert.
The breakfast was very good and with big variety. We were very happy with the buffet.

The reception was very helpfull, only think was that i had a surpice order to be in the room with our arrival and when we came she called and asked from the staff to take the order in the room in front of us and because we understand Latvian ,my surprice was not surprice any more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergliebe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you're arriving late from Vilnius by bus (bus station is right across the street) and need to spend one night before taking a flight the next day, then don't bother looking somewhere else.

It's close to Old Town so you won't waste any time and will be able to take profit of your free time.
The inner patio can be very busy meaning : noisy too!

I didn't like the interior "design" but was OK for one night.

Note : if solo traveller, get all the food you want for breakfast at once, you might be surprised by discovering your table had been cleaned off and reallocated to someone else while waiting for other people to get served at the buffet.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank macegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel in November 2013. The service at the reception and at the restaurant was good but I completely disliked the room. The sink at the bathroom has a crack. The design of shelfs in the bathroom is that you have literally no place to put your own stuff. To find a place even for a toothbrush would be a challenge. The minibar was absolutely employ, there was an electrical kettle to make tea and coffee but no tea or coffee provided. When, on my second day of stay, I decided to boil some water I discovered forgotten tea bag in the kettle. How long it was soaking there - nobody knows.

The food and service at the restaurant is very nice. Enjoyed it for every occasion: breakfast, lunch, reception or coffee breaks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#3 of 109 in Riga
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#15 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing