We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel, with excellent location in the old town. Tram stop and bus stops just infront of the main entrance and big bus station just few steps away from the hotel. Special thanks to extremely nice and competent staff, just simply great service!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeemuS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    363
    97
    18
    8
See reviews for
113
336
97
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Right on edge of old town and 200m from train station.room and toilet a bit small but very modern and very nice .we went in February very cold so rap up.hotel has a smoking room next to bar with air con what a joy not to have to stand on street.great for short break .airport about 5 mile away 15 mins taxi 13 euro.i would recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with my 2 kids for a city break trip.

LOCATION: The location of this hotel is very good. Very close to the main train station, bus station. You look at the river on one side, and get to the old town in about 5 minutes walking. Old market hall buildings are just a short walk away on the other side of the river. Close to everything, if you are there to visit the old town.
ROOM: The room was good size for the three of us. We had a room with the view to the river looking at the historic market hall. This was great for us. In front of the hotel there are tram tacks, so, if you are a light sleeper this could be a problem, since you can hear trams, especially early and late in the day, when everything else is quiet. (Was not a problem for us). Bathroom looked like it was under construction - some tape on the pipes, which were coming out of the uncovered hole in the wall, exposed wires on the lamp. This did not impact any functionality, but looked a bit scary. Beds and pillows were comfortable.
BREAKFAST: Breakfast was good. Good variety and it changed a bit every day. Everything was very fresh. Restaurant staff was amazing. Always kept refilling everything. Very helpful (even with kids spilling and dropping things) and very friendly.
SERVICE: Service was good. Even before we arrived the hotel sent me an e-mail offering to arrange airport transfer. I used their offer, and everything worked well. We arrived earlier than official check-in time, but our room was ready. Everything in our room, which was a double room with an extra bed, was prepared for the three of us - enough towels, shampoos, etc. and refilled every day. Restaurant staff was fantastic with everything. Reception staff was not that great, we had to wait for about 15 minutes for someone to pay attention to us, they were busy with other people and just ignored us. But some others on another day were very helpful with check-out and taxi to the airport.

Good practical location for the visit to historic city. I probably would not recommend this hotel for a romantic break (that bathroom was not so romantic), but otherwise everything was great.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room with the river (and tram tacks) view, if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liza302816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good location (airport bus leaves from right in front of the hotel; close to the train station for out-of-town excursions; close to the old town). Tasty breakfast one of the best I had .The hotel is excellent - very polite and helpful staff, I booked the special offer with breakfast and dinner including in the price room - quality of food was also great. Recommend the hotel for all travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isolagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is well situated - quite close to the bus and train stations, and right on the edge of the Old Town. It's clean, breakfast is good, the rooms are quite spacious, and the views over the market were interesting (they were once hangers for Zeppelin airships!). This moves up from being a normal business class hotel purely because of the helpful staff, who are really delightful. I don't know how much it cost, as the company I was working with paid for the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel was Just as expected. Nice, clean and tidy hotel. Very friendly and helping staff. Felt comfortable and welcome. Ok view from my superior double room. Coud'nt open the window without a key, but the room had aircondition so there was no need for opening a window. A little noisy aircondition when you are sleeping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thorism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Ok hotel at the Old Town.
Was unlucky the first night and got a room inside the hotel with no fresh air. The room was to hot and difficult to sleep.
The hotel was fully booked so couldn´t change the first night. The staff was helpful the second day and I got a "normal" room overviewing the Central Market. Much better air quality and I could open my window. Would clearly be a strong 4, considering location and value for money, if it havent been for the first night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19MO76NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#13 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing