We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Avalon for a week and found our stay very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location and close to the old city. Reception staff is extremely helpful and they are also fluent in English. Double rooms are a decent size and we were very happy with our room at the end of the corridor. There is a big selection at breakfast and caters for all tastes. We had a special deal that included supper and we used our dinner tickets on 2 occasions. Although value for money, this special menu did not have a great selection and I also got the feeling it was not favoured by the attending dining room staff as they were not over eager to serve us. Next time I would not go for this option that includes dinner. The bar staff on duty is really helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    367
    99
    19
    9
See reviews for
118
338
97
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
503 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 983 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good hotel, at the edge of the old town, not far from coach (and train) station. Bus stop in front of the hotel. Excellent the outwards soundproofing. Good the breakfast. Excellent value for money (….but just SOMETIMES!!!!!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Mountains, NC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very close to the city center where you can walk the cobble stone streets and seeing the buildings, watch the people and enjoying the sights. Staff was friendly, rooms large enough with ample supply of needed items.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott10jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First of all there is notthing closer to the BUs station than this hotel, and at the same time it is just by the historical city centre, so practically everything is in a walking distance.
We arrived at 7 am and the good thing that we were able to enjoy the rich buffet breakfast for only 10 Euros, comparing for minimum 25 Euros in Holliday Inn chain.
The staff was extremely freindly and helpfull. The rooms are pretty well and equiped as per 4 star hotel should be.
I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Kind personnel, second time I have been here, and I cannot complain about the service. Cannot find a reason not going here when I will be in Riga. Close to the centre, easy access to the old town. Good choice in breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Hi,
We have been for 3 days in Riga and stayed in that hotel. Prices could be a little lower but what really was on low level is service: room was not cleaned properly. I have ordered fondant for desert that suppose to be hot when it served but I got it cold and when I asked waiter, aswer was that kitchen made them today(few hours before!!!) but something went wrong that's way it is cold.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Павел Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellastone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a city break to Riga. Paid very very little for the room, so didn't have our hopes set high.

When we arrived, the building was very impressive and new, everything was spotlessly clean. The receptionist was extremely helpful and fluent in at least 4 languages I could just about pick up. The hotel is very close to the centre of Riga too.

The room was small but spotless and had everything we needed for a city break. Breakfast was a fantastic array of local and international cuisines.

We dined in the hotel restaurant one night and it was fantastic. The waitress looked after us well and the food was fresh and vibrant. A good hotel for a romantic break away. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing