We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Hotel in Old Town Riga best of both worlds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #14 of 109 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel in Old Town Riga best of both worlds!”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I travelled to Riga with my Husband to celebrate an anniversary, we stayed for 4 days at the Avalon and were very impressed.The place is spotless! We spent many a time languishing in the Lobby Bar being attended to by Janis the fantastic barman, and observing the very diligent cleaning staff beaver away at every nook and cranny at what seemed any time of the day! We were upgraded to a Junior Suite on the 7th Floor, which had a view over the rooftops to Old Riga, very quiet and lovely facilities in the room ie slick bathroom, nice decor, flat screen tv and iron & board which was very useful, our only small gripe was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room for that early morning cuppa before going down to breakfast, which was very good, even fussy eaters should find something on the cold or hot buffet! All in all this modern hotel was an excellent base for our trip, being a very short walk into the Old town and its bars restaurants and lovely old buildings. Look out for the Dancing Old Lady in one of the Town Squares she is a hoot and is there every day dancing away to her beatbox! We found Riga to be a little bit on the expensive side if you wanted to shop for anything other than the stalls set out with knitted hats, scarves and socks which seemed to be a staple item and Amber jewellery is everywhere! There are 3 main shopping centres - one in the Old town and one in the financial area 10 minutes walk from the hotel..very swish, new, 6 floors high, full of DESIGNER shops, no Primark item types here!
We enjoyed the trip, Riga is lovely, weather not too bad 3 degrees whilst we were there so it wasnt too Baltic on the edge of The Baltic!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandTigger555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    364
    99
    19
    8
See reviews for
115
337
97
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Avalon Hotel for 2 nights in early October and I totally disagree with the 2 previous reviews. After reading the July review it was with some trepidation that I decided to book this hotel. The main reason I booked it was because we were arriving in and departing from Riga by bus and I knew that it was close to the bus station.

To say that we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel would be a gross understatement. Everything about the hotel was first class. The room was lovely and spacious, the restaurant great, the foyer and reception area were beautiful with a huge atrium letting in lots of light and the breakfast was great. It is a very modern hotel in a perfect location, right at the start of the old town. We also found the sraff to be very efficient and helpful

If we ever get back to Riga we will certainly stay at the Avalon again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Is it in great location, yes.
It looks modern in the pictures, yes. It's kind newish, yes.
There's lots of glass in it and it has tall lobby, yes.

But is it a great hotel, no. Not even a good one.

It has no soul in it. It feels like in 90's somebody had million bucks and decided to build the best hotel in Riga. And he/she did, built a modern glass house in the middle of Riga. All the pictures you see are from that era. After that owner has probably got fed up with the hotel business and newer visited the building.

The construction is in much worse condition than it looks in pictures. Rooms are the worst. We had the second most expensive rooms but only luxury thing was the nice view to railway. Both rooms were smoke-free and there were signs not to smoke. Unfortunately rooms smelled awfully, like sleeping in a cheap cigarette case. Overall cleanness was below average, especially the bathrooms were filthy. Also, the bar in room was missing one bottle. (Noted the staff and we weren't charged for that). Wifi was free.

Service was in line with the look. Stuff were cocky and unprofessional. In dinner one waitress was talking in her cellphone while bringing us the food. Pleasant exception was bartender who was very nice chap.

We got one free meal for price of the room. Used it in the last night so we didn't have very high hopes. And yes, only good thing about it was that it was free. It's almost funny when you sit in this very luxurious looking place, got your food in very expensively looking plates and it tastes like.. nothing. The food didn't contain a taste. Ended up going to city to really eat something. If you must eat in hotel - buy some food from Stockmann near hotel and eat in your room.

If I had to say something positive about this hotel it is the breakfast. Sure there were some dishes that were couple of weeks old and one of us had to throw up after eating old fish but at least there were lot of things to choose from. Juice was good. Porridge was good. To tell you the truth, maybe some other good things too but they are all override with all the bad experiences.

Even if you like cheap hotels I couldn't recommend this to you. This is not cheap in good way. Usually cheap hotels feel cheap because they don't have money and you kind of accept that. This hotel feels like it has money but just doesn't care if there's customers in it or not.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koeln
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Avalon hotel is located at the boarder of the old city of Riga and 15 min by taxi from the airport.

The hotel has a nice lobby with a bar. But that's already from a positive standpoint.

The rooms are standard, the furniture not the nicest. The towels have sometimes blood spots and the overall atmosphere is not comfortable.

The included breakfast is one of the worst breakfasts I had in the last couple of years.

The price is low but the quality of the hotel is also low. I would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcbenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

This hotel has everything you need(except 24hr room service), the food was quality, the service was top class and the rooms are spacious. Wi-fi connection is strong.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EC-Oban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
widnes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

this is a very nice hotel very nice staff and service, the rooms are very nice and clean,the hotel is in a prime position and everything is on the doorstep,the food is excellent and very nice, and the price to stay here is very reasonable overall the hotel is excellent will definatelly be staying here again,on return trip to riga, the only thing i would say to the hotel is to have tea and coffee making facilities in bedroomsand this would make your stay even better

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topclassjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Situated on the edge of the old town this hotel is in a great location for several reasons. You can take the no. 22 bus from Riga airport and it stops just a minute away (you pass the hotel on the left just before you need to get off the bus). The bus stop for the return to the airport is right outside the hotel. The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to the railway station, bus station, the market and the cinema and of course all the attractions of the old town. The hotel was very clean and well sound-proofed and there's free WiFi in the room. For English speakers there were only two TV channels - CNN and VH1. We had the deal of free dinner as well as breakfast. The only downside was that we had to choose from the chef's 2 course special and it was the same menu every night with one starter to choose from - fish soup - and 3 mains. The food was good but as we were there for five nights we chose to eat out a few times - Province and Rooster restaurants recommended for great Latvian food. Breakfast was pancakes/porridge, sausages/bacon and omelette/chips in the hot section and cereal, ham, cheese, Baltic herrings etc in the cold. No fresh juice but it was all good. Reception was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khandr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.3 mi away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: 13. janvara iela 19, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Riga
#10 Business Hotel in Riga
#10 Family Hotel in Riga
#14 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Avalon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical part of the Riga – Old Town – the Avalon hotel offers the unique opportunity to enjoy the Middle Ages charm and elegance of the city combined with modernism and comfort. The new four-star Avalon represents the combination of modernity and antiqueness with the full reflect of the New life in the Old Town. The panorama elevator will let you feel this special atmosphere in the Atrium of the hotel. With a view of commercial and shopping center, Daugava River, the old town churches and towers the Avalon hotel is ideal place for tourists and business persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing