We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, quite, extra service mind and nice live music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palete

Palete
Ranked #632 of 944 Restaurants in Riga
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At the end of the 1970s, several new restaurants with a historical and romantic feel have been opened in Riga. It has to be mentioned that the longest queues were to restaurant «Birka». The restaurant has quickly become popular as a place where guests оf Old Riga can enjoy cosy and authentic Scandinavian atmosphere, beautiful live music and traditional kitchen. Largest watercolor collection that counts 26 works of famous Latvian artist, Janis Brekte. As the years passed many things have changed, well-loved cafes closed down and new ones opened, but “Birka” remains everyone’s favorite to this day.
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, quite, extra service mind and nice live music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We're just there on 31 Aug. It took a while to find this lovely restaurant and we were very hungry. After about 15 minutes go up and down on the narrow street but it worth!

Lovely decoration and waiters are very welcome. He begins by introducing wines and menu. We pick salad, fish and the Latvian Lamb. They're all excellent! As a result, we ordered another TWO dishes of The Latvian Lamb! The waiter's friendly and kind.

Just visit them...they won't let you down!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kulawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A deception”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The restaurant is situated on a small street in Old Riga. The place is nice. The starters were OK, but unfortunately all meat (rumsteak and duck filet were overdone). The service was OK. The bill for four (starters, three courses and wine) was 150 Lats, which is equivalent to 211 Euros or 300 USD which was far too expensive for what it was. A deception.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
727 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“One of the best anywhere in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is rare. Me writing a review whilst I am still in town. But there is a reason. This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in twenty years....and amazingly last night they were far too quiet and deserve to be much, much busier. The young chef will go places and is about to enter a Baltic Chef Competition. Second last year, but on last nights performance he will storm it. Tiger prawn tartare very fresh. Steak with mushrooms and bacon, perfectly prepared and chocolate fondant to end - well I was in heaven. Brilliant, friendly service, a delightful pianist and the weather outside just right. This place a real find. The only down side was that the atmosphere was only ok, only because the native Lats must have been down the beach and there weren't many diners in.... A real find - do find it though if you want a Michelin star quality experience in Riga that offers real value for money. MSB

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
601 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This place is tucked away, we stumbled upon it while exploring the back alleys of Riga - in other words we were lost at the time.

The restaurant looked inviting and we went in. The mix of food, value for money and service was right, and it is worth anyone's time trying to find it and enjoy a dinner there!

Because it is way from the main squares, it is not as "touristy" as many other restaurants, which adds considerable to its charm

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent and quiet restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Small restaurant out of the way from the main street. Highly recommended if you want to enjoy good food together with a nice background live music (we had a guitarist). The chestnut soup was perfect and the latvian lamb was superb.

The service was very friendly and recommended us the perfect wine that matched our dishes.

Even if it's not the cheapest restaurant in Riga, it deserves a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palete also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Palete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing