We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful but a work in progress”

Gauja National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$227.24*
and up
Private Tour of Sigulda and Turaida from Riga
Ranked #3 of 36 things to do in Sigulda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful but a work in progress”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a lovely day trip here, walking through the forest and by the river. Train and bus connections with Riga are easy to navigate but timings from Riga are a little odd so check the day before you go. A beautiful area and great walking- possible to do several different circuits of different length depending on your ability- the signposting is not so good yet but it is clear they are working on this. We managed to find out way around as the paths are mostly clear (sometimes a little unclear) but as long as you have a map it should be fine. Go to the information office at the station as the visitors centre which can be found on maps is not easy to find in real life!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eelbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    50
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Easy day trip from Riga”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Visiting the park is an easy day trip from Riga. Buses & trains go on a regular basis.
I took the bus there and the train back. The park is a 30 minute or so walk from the
bus/train station; there is also a local bus that goes up to the castle. The signage in
the park is okay; would help if map boards were also provided. There is nothing
special about this park and recommend only if you have idle time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 7469moog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sigulda and Turaida”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We recently had a great day trip to Gauja National Park from Riga.

It was easy to take the bus from Riga station (tickets purchased on board for around €2) which took just over an hour to get to Sigulda. We got a map and advice from the tourist info office beside the station which helped us navigate around Sigulda to see the Lutheran church, old and new castles, and walking stick park on our way to the cable car. The ride across the valley was beautiful, then we looked around Krimulda before walking to Gutman cave. At first glance the cave is small and unimpressive but, on closer inspection, it's interesting to read the engravings and drink from the spring.

The walking route to Turaida isn't easy to find but we took a path into the forest near the cave and, keeping the traffic noise on our right, we made it to the village.

The castle itself is great to see and the views from the tower are beautiful. There is also a lovely garden area and various sculptures.
We took a bus back to Sigulda then a train to Riga. All in all a great day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Pod_on_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Day trip from Riga - Forest Cat!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Take the train from Riga. Round trip tickets about 5EUR. There's an information stand that can give advice in English. Train station toilet at Sigulda very good. You can buy a local map at the store at the station, although there are various maps located throughout town with signs and stuff.

It's about a 20-30 min walk out of town to the edge of the park. Once you cross the bridge, if you go right along the river edge, you'll come across a very friendly cat. He will follow you for about a quarter of a mile. From there is is easy to get to Gutman's cave. There is a coffee hut near Gutman's cave.

It was raining when we went, so we didn't walk too far. There are places to eat in town, although the little cafe we went to could have had better service. Cheap, though. Great day trip, would have loved it in better weather for longer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beekysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is amazing place offering a lot of culture, nature and activities. Real diversity. We saw deers in the forest after visiting of real castles.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gauja National Park also viewed

Sigulda, Vidzeme Region
Sigulda, Vidzeme Region
 
Sigulda, Vidzeme Region
Sigulda, Vidzeme Region
 

Been to Gauja National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing