We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel just to sleep. Would not stay there again”
Review of Villa Alberta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Alberta
Ranked #2 of 13 Sigulda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were visiting this hotel this weekend, spent one night. This is a hotel in 5 min walk from the city center. We were the only visitors and that's why we were able to stay in luxus room. Room Victoria has a really good design, but it needs a repair.. it was really cold in the room because f balcony door had a problem to be closed.
The biggest minus is that hotel has no Restaurant and Bar (but on name of the hotel is written that there is restaurant) and the breakfast is average. There is no internet or Wifi in hotel and there is no option to pay for it to get it..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubova K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

The hotel left an ambiguous impression.

We stayed in Victoria room, which felt exclusive and royal. Generally, this is not the style we prefer, but even so, we couldn‘t help ourselves appreciating it. Great care was put into creating the Victorian interior, selecting furniture and flowers, and paying attention to details like painting, lamps and even beginning of the 20th century phone.

The reason why we chose this hotel was actually because the room was equipped with bubble bath, which we were happy to use ...for approximately two minutes. Then it just stopped working with no aparent reason. Later we tried to turn it one many times, but succeeded only once, for a minute or so.

The breakfast was another disappointment. Choice was rather limited and the food boring in comparison with other 3* hotels we stayed in in Latvia. Curd dessert was three days beyond the expiry date and had mold on it.

All in all, the fantastic room compensated for most of the flaws.

Room Tip: Choose depending on what style you like, they have 13 thematic rooms. We would highly recommend Vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is clean, good-looking, out room was nice. I was impressed that there were neither sleepers nor nightgown in the lux room. We had to ask the staff to get sleepers.
I was shoked by the breakfast. There was minimum fresh and home-cooked food: only omelet. The rest of the food was artificial, canned and very cheap: margarine instead of butter, bad quality sausages, bad coffee. I was really disappointed by the breakfast. I didn't want to go to the breakfast next morning, but unfortunately there are no cafe or restaurant nearby.
In august it was cold in the room, but the heating wasn't on.
My opinion is that staff of this hotel don't make efforts to help guests enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariatih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Very good place to overnight to view Sigulda and surroundings. Room - Country-was just like indicated. As a touch of country style, plastic flours were placed on the ceilings :). Hard to tell about service but breakfast only. We needed only that. And breakfast was the biggest dissapointment.... Pitty I forgot to make a pics. Fist morning we got : sliced bread - where fresh bread?? or bagels ? Sliced cheapest sausage, sliced eggs - 2 or 3 for appr 8 guests. But the top was cheapest cheese in alu foil and so called slovakian made canned pate... as I opened one of that can my youngest asked - smells like a dog food.
Location - indicated that is in the park,. but it is hardly to call a park couple of trees around. If so whole Sigulda is in the park.
I read in previuos reviews that Alberta is owned by guys from US. May be they forgot about their property and business ?
Politeness... as we stayed 3 nights here, no one of servants told me Good Morning . So I repeat - good place to sleep for visiting Sigulda.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deivisposkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This was the middle of our trip through the Baltics and we are so glad we stayed at the Villa! Both Lauris and Jill were very good to us - keeping the bar open late and a full, cooked breakfast in the mornings. The rooms were very comfortable and the beds just sucked us in. It is a bit far out from town, but that just added to the feeling of isolation that we were looking for. This is a great launching point to explore the park - we were able to do it all on foot. This is a good place to remember to use bug repellant, we learned this the hard way. Shower was good and the bathroom was bigger then most. They offer the option of western outlets in case you have forgotton your adaptor. There are other little perks that remind one of the states, including the decor. Rooms offered a lot of storage space so you could spread out a little. They also had a pool table and sauna downstairs, though we did not use these. Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We have just spent two enjoyable nights at the Villa Alberta guesthouse in Sigulda. The rooms at this guest house all have their own individual themes and all seemed spacious and clean.

The guest house is very well designed, the room was comfortable and the bathroom was large, but what really made our stay were the friendly and super helpful owners. We were also provided with the best breakfast we've experienced during our 5 week trip through Eastern Europe - juice, coffee, fruit, freshly made eggs/omelet, bacon/sausage, tomato, fruit, yogurt, etc.

The only draw back is probably the location - the villa is about a 15 minute walk from town, but if the weather is good it's an enjoyable walk. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We had a perfect vacation! The room was decorated great and the service was outstanding. Enjoyed the surroundings,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witchieintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigulda
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sigulda
Hotel Sigulda
#1 of 10 in Sigulda
177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spa Hotel Ezeri
Spa Hotel Ezeri
#2 of 10 in Sigulda
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Livonija
Livonija
#3 of 10 in Sigulda
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Birini Castle
Birini Castle
#1 of 2 in Birini
39 reviews
14.1 mi away
Karlamuiza Country Hotel
1.2 mi away
Prieka Pietura
Prieka Pietura
#6 of 10 in Sigulda
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alberta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alberta

Address: Livkalna 10A, Sigulda 2150, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Vidzeme Region > Sigulda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sigulda
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Alberta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Bed & Breakfast is located 10 minutes walking distance from various tourist attractions and offers nine exclusive rooms, each decorated in various styles (New Orleans, Alaksa, Country, Seaside, Wild West, Mexico, Jamaica, Victoria and Santa Fe). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Alberta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing