We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best you can have in Talsi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Martinelli

Martinelli
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Talsi
Price range: US$7 - US$34
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Central European, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy family owned restaurant with international menu and monthly gourmets' offer where local and sezonal products are used. Traditional Latvian Grandmother's meal is also offered.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best you can have in Talsi”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The title says it all. Oysters are delivered directly from France. Ingridients are local and "slow food". Wine shop nearby, so the wine selection is not an issue for most of the time.
It is a bit pricey though, if compared to other places around the town, but the price/performance is still the best you can get around the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food...”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here at least once or twice a year on my trips to Talsi. This is my first review. I have to say the food and hospitality are always first class.

I had the pork chops with mushroom gravy. Both are very very tasty.

I look forward to coming back again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank kasumrall289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It Was Good”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

There are very few places to eat in Talsi and this one has lots of class.

There are many traditional Latvian dishes to choose from. The pork seems especially fresh.

Service was great and meal was enjoyed by all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Texasduckkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restautant in Latvia”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stumbled across this little unobtrusive restaurant, and could not have been more pleasantly surprised. Warm and cosy with great food and friendly, helpful staff. You have to try the roast pork. I wish we could have stayed at the B&B. Will definitely return. There were six people in our party and all agreed it was an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BigGreenFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A delightful place to stay and eat held together by the most attentive and friendly staff!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Walked through the door after cycling 110 miles in the sun and rain-I didn't smell or look great and the lady on duty was warm and friendly! I planned on staying one night but elected to stay for another! Great people-great food-great room! I had the room with the jacuzzi bath, which after a days cycling was amazing!!
Would definitely come back, infancy once I get home after my two year cycling adventure I will be bringing the girlfriend for a couple of days!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoplesswonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martinelli also viewed

Talsi, Kurzeme Region
Talsi, Kurzeme Region
 
Talsi, Kurzeme Region
Talsi, Kurzeme Region
 

Been to Martinelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing