We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect cosy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Start

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Start
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Spindleruv Mlyn
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cosy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel and the staff was fabulouse. Very friendly barmen and the old lady in the front desk. Rooms are big. Tree Wi-fi. Staff is trying to speek English, not very well, but if you compare to other places in the town they speak very well:)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaL148, Director of Sales at Hotel Start, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Darius, thank you very much for your review and sharing your opinion. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have a possibility to welcome you again in Start or in one of our hotels of Small Charming Hotels group. All the best, Daniela Purkrabkova, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I spent last July weekend with my family at this hotel. We stayed in room # 111 which offered comfortable space and lovely view over Spindl valley. Room seemed to be rennovated recently.
Since I am an avid biker I often spend weekends in Spindl, but so far never had such good breakfast in hotels there. Spindleruv Mlyn is unfortunately not a place to seek culinary delights, but the Start is pritty much above the average. Enjoy the view from the hotel terrace as it is fabulous. I loved their fresh cucumber drink.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the Spindl valley, they have lovely view. The other side is nice too, but this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hejkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just returned from a short winter break in Spindleruv Mlyn and hotel Start was a perfect choice. Small family atmosphere, great and helpfull staff at reception as well as the waiter in restaurant. If you travel with children we suggest to order also halfboard for your stay as it was cheap and tasty. The property is fully non smoking, very closed to the centre and ski lift "Hromovka". Last not least-their breakfast, huge selection with home made blueberry cake.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tyrol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have spent a January weekend at this hotel and it was a nice surprise. The Start is a lovely, white coloured facade, elegant property sitting right above the centre of Spindlermühle, about 200m from the heart of town. Rooms are cosy with wooded ceilings and newish looking spacy bathroom. There is a nice lobby bar with helpful bartender Radek and a restaurant, cooking mostly local cuisine. Breakfast was wonderful, I stayed in other hotels in this resort before, but breakfast at the Start is the best by far. The only improvement I would suggest is larger boxes in the ski room, as it was a challenge to place 4 pairs of skis in one of them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkur, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Very nice and recomended hotel, nice room, very clean and cousy.
The restorant is very good , we had breakfast and dinner.
The location is great very close to chairlifts and to the town center.
The ski room and the spa is nice and clean.
Front desk 24 hr, and WiFi at the loby,

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaL148, Manager at Hotel Start, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear Elly,
thank you very much for your nice review and we are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always very motivating to get the feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
All the best and kind regards,
Daniela Purkrabkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spindleruv Mlyn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#2 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort & Spa
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort &...
#4 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wellness hotel Windsor
Wellness hotel Windsor
#10 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zatisi Hotel
Zatisi Hotel
#9 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Olympie
Hotel Olympie
#3 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orea Resort Horal
Orea Resort Horal
#5 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Start

Property: Hotel Start
Address: Bedrichov 17, 543 51 Spindleruv Mlyn, Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park 543 51, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Krkonose National Park > Spindleruv Mlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Spindleruv Mlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Start 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-friendly Start Hotel set in picturesque grounds right above the heart of Spindleruv Mlyn is located just 200m walking distance from the centre of the resort. The Start Hotel is fully non-smoking and offers quality facilities and comfortable accommodation not only for summer and winter sports enthusiasts but also for families with children, for which is just 100 metres from the hotel children´s ski school with ski lift and snow tubing.The Start Hotel is located in a forest clearing with an amazing view right above the centre of Spindleruv Mlyn in Bedrichov area. The town centre is within easy walk just 200 metres away from the hotel. There are a great range of bars and restaurants, discos and shops as well as a water park and health centre in the town.The Hotel Start offers 31 comfortable guest rooms, of which 21 are double rooms, 6 three-bed rooms and 4 four-bed rooms. All the rooms have own toilet and bathroom with hairdryer, towels and hotel cosmetic set. The amenities also include telephone with direct inward dialling, satellite TV channels and free Wi-Fi internet connection. Room temperature can be controlled independently in each of the guest rooms.All hotel rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Start reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing