We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Horal”
Review of Orea Resort Horal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orea Resort Horal
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Spindleruv Mlyn
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holiday in Horal”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was several times in hotel Horal in the past few years. I usually go there out of the main season with my family.
Hotel building is classical communistic heritage but with good food, outside and inside playground for children, cold swimming pool for swimming and warm jacuzzi. There is also sauna, massages, fitness. Rooms are clean. Service is good.
It's approx. 2,5 km far from the center of Spindleruv mlyn, but uphill...
There is usually a lot of German pensioners...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tutsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Horal.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    71
    49
    11
    14
See reviews for
151
78
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I would like to share my experience from this hotel. On beginning i have to say that this is my fifth stay in Orea hotels so i can compare level of service within Orea network.
First at all i think that from outside this hotel would need some reconstructions. I know how much company invest to reconstruction from inside however first look is first look. Staff of hotel were more or less polite and nice to us. One small unprofessional moment was when lady on reception didn't know that i can earn airline miles for stay in Orea hotels and she ask us to pay stay however everything was paid in advance. Room was nice and clean. It was pitty that we had room on frist floor without balcony and with view of wall behind hotel. I was really surprised once i found out that WIFI is not free. Within orea hotels this never happend to us. I know that fee WIFI is down in restaurant or bar however it is more convenience to have it in room. I have to say that breakfast and dinner buffet is excellent. Really top class. Within orea hotels is only hotel Sklar on same level. In horal is outstanding really view to country. Prices of drinks are really high but it is still acceptable. We paid also massage and i have to say that it was really nice. Specially after 20 km of walking. Hotel is pet friendly so we didn't have problem with our Dog. Orea hotels keep very high standard of hotel accommodation in Czech republic and hotel Horal is nice example how things should be done. I really missed balcony and better view that's way only 4 stars instead of 5.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor (no balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrej Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear guest
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our mountain hotel. Thank you for your positive review. We are doing our best to ensure the most beautiful stay to all our customers.
Your feedback is very important for us and we are taking your opinion seriously.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my family spend few days in Spindleruv Mlyn in Hotel Horal. This hotel is one of the best hotel in Spindleruv Mlyn. You can be there not only during winter but during whole year. This hotel is great with location,service, rooms and spa. This have very good program for children so the parent can spend time in spa or in the bar and about their children look after in play room. Each day you have full buffet breakfast with differents kind of meals and as well if you choose the buffet dinner your choise will be right. Each day was different offer. I can only this hotel recommend for holiday and when I will have time I will come back with my familly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iveta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear guest
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our mountain hotel. Thank you for your positive review. We are doing our best to ensure the most beautiful stay to all our customers.
Your feedback is very important for us and we are taking your opinion seriously.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel over the New Year period. I last stayed at this hotel 12 years ago at a business event and I can confidently say not much has changed in that time. The hotel was built in the communist era and has maintained its looks both from an interior and exterior point of view. The rooms albeit dated (including furniture and fittings) are clean and it appears the bathrooms were recently updated again they are basic but clean. That is only good thing I can say about this hotel.

Now the bad:

1) It appears that this hotel is looking in every way to save money. This includes the extremely poor lighting in the communal hallways with what appears to be 15 Watt bulbs and only a few of them are turned on. The waiting staff are all from some catering school and some of the cooks also (from what I could see) What was depressing was that these young people seemed to have adopted the gloomy atmosphere of the hotel and were non-communicative without even a hello or thank you.
2) We had a package with included breakfast and dinner. The dinner was a buffet and it was absolutely terrible and inedible. Poor quality ingredients, over salted and limited choice. I guess this could be down to point 1 above. We decided to eat out after the first experience. The restaurant felt like a 1960's works canteen with long communal tables and dated decor. Even the ice cream cups were from a different time in history, in fact at least 20 years old+ (pictured). Breakfast was basic but OK.
3) The reception staff were not welcoming or warm. They were not rude but felt like they didn't really care. They didn't welcome you on arrival or asked if you had a good stay on departure.
4) The drinks at the hotel bar were expensive and were even higher than Prague prices.
5) The hotel pool was cold and dated. The whirlpool/Jacuzzi smelt of heavy chlorine. The changing areas were dated and the floors were dirty.
6) The New Years buffet was a slight update from the the usual buffet on offer. The entertainment was poor and they had some weird system around how you pay for the drinks you had. It was difficult to understand and not transparent.

Overall, this is a very dated hotel and it does not represent good value for money. It needs a major refurbishment to bring it up to modern hotel standards. In the meantime, they should reduce the '4 stars' to 2. I see the manager responded to a reviewer on TA to say the room equipment are in line with the 4 star rating as certified by AHR. This is not an international rating agency but the Association of Hotels and Restaurants (AHR) in Czech Republic.This is an organization where as a hotel you can become a member. They are rating themselves!!

I will never go to this hotel again. This was a last minute booking and didn't expect much but this hotel didn't even reach my minimum expectation. Avoid this hotel there are better elsewhere and the owners and management need to move into the 21st Century rather than sticking to the past. Retro is OK sometimes but don't try to be anything else than you claim to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CZonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Horal.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our family spent a great Christmas time in the Orea Hotel Horal. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive with the high-quality services. The accommodation was very comfortable. We recommend the stay in this hotel to everybody.

Family Fischer

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateřina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our mountain hotel. Thank you for your positive review. We are doing our best to ensure the most beautiful stay to all our customers.
Your feedback is very important for us and we are taking your opinion seriously.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I and my husband went there in pre-christmas time and had an awesome time. The staff was very nice and the food was delicious. The room and bathroom were both clean and pretty. We woke up every morning with beautiful view of the mountains and the sun on blue sky. We went skiing few times, btw the skiing is really good there, and after the skiing we most enjoyed the spa. I would recommend this hotel right away. Thank you, hopefully next year again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for choosing the OREA Hotel Horal for your last stay.
We are pleased, that you spent a nice time in our hotel, OREA Hotel Horal. We are looking to see you soon.

Kind Regards
OREA Hotel Horal's reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Thinks did not start well, no tea / coffee facilities in room, so my daughter asked for a kettle to boil water for her baby to be told by the receptionist they did not supply kettles and discouraged the making of tea or coffee in the room. Have travelled extensively and never heard this before. Not kiddy friendly at all. The hotel itself i felt was nothing more than average in every respect and very dated. Also located a good mile plus uphill out of the town. Food once again average and nothing to get excited about. Upside the rooms are spacious and very clean, but overall lacks any atmosphere. I also might be a bit picky here but the xmas decorations were equally poor. In summary have stayed in hotels in the town before, unfortunately I have to say in my opinion this was the worst.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan P, Manager at Orea Resort Horal, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. Room equipment meets the standards of 4 star hotel. We have official certificate from AHR.

OREA Hotel Horal´s reservation team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spindleruv Mlyn
0.9 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#1 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort & Spa
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort &...
#4 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Spindleruv Mlyn
Clarion Hotel Spindleruv Mlyn
#7 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Olympie
Hotel Olympie
#3 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellness hotel Windsor
Wellness hotel Windsor
#9 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
61 reviews
9.2 mi away
Orea Resort Sklar
Orea Resort Sklar
#1 of 18 in Harrachov
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orea Resort Horal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orea Resort Horal

Property: Orea Resort Horal
Address: Svatopetrska 280, Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park 543 51, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Krkonose National Park > Spindleruv Mlyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Spindleruv Mlyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orea Resort Horal 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orea Resort Horal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing