We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpina
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Be careful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We'd stayed here in Sept 2008 and had an ok stay. Because of its location we recommended it to friends as a good base for a skiing holiday. On arrival at Spindleruv Mlyn we were taken by snow mobile up a ski slope to the hotel which was a good start, we were then given our room keys. Our room was very small (our friends was even smaller) with a dirty bathroom, after complaining to reception a 'cleaner' came to the room; to clean the toilet she took the soap dispenser from the sink, literaly put it in the toilet to squirt under the rim and without gloves wiped the pan out and replaced the soap on the sink! The room was noisy, being over the restaurant and with very thin walls. After skiing one day we used the hotels hot tub & sauna, but on checking out we found they wanted to charge us £10 each for this, although no signs or staff mentioned this at the time. This caused an argument but ended with them waving the charge. My girlfriend who is Czech was upset by this and said after that the manager we were arguing with was very rude about us while talking in Czech.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-L-Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    6
    11
    5
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Having just returned from this hotel, I wanted to share my experiences. We parked at the designated car park just next to the ski lift and called reception to send down a ski-doo to take us up to the hotel, which was v. fun!! However, I found out later that we would only get 2 trips included (1xcheck in/1xcheckout), all other trips would be charged for (8EUR eachway). As such all the other trips had to be on foot, via the ski slope, which after a couple of drinks/dinner in the town was not too pleasant! The hotel itself was OK, the room was tiny with no balcony just 2 windows (with a view of soviet apartment blocks!). The problem was (as with other reviews) the narrow walls made you wake with every sound from the neighbors! Breakfast was served as a buffet in the restaurant, with some rolls and salami/chesse and juice which tasted of water with a drop of orange! We wanted to use the sauna/jacuzzi, but we had not reserved it 24hr prior, so it was fully booked already. Overall, I would only recommend staying here 1) in the summer when it is more accessible and 2) if you are on a budget and can’t find anything better in the centre!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workrjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Overall the stay was merely OK!
Unfortunately the room was tiny, no more than 2 beds pushed together, a slim (getting dressed) space and a toilet and shower room. Paper thin walls ensured that every sound was broadcast and the neighbours shower room walls were next to ours so it sounded like a torrential dounpoar every time they washed.
The restaurant is decent and the food though unvaried is ok, the standard continental fayre.
They have lockers for outdoor gear and a warm room for drying your wet clothing which is good.
One of the worst experiences i've had in any hotel happened when dealing with reception management. We had already used the Jacuzzi facility earlier in the week and went to use the Sauna and Jacuzzi later in the week and they announced that they would be charging the two of us 400Kc for both sessions for the Jacuzzi and Sauna. This was the first time any charge had been mentioned, from speaking with otehr guests we had already learned that there was no charge for this but now they want to charge us and for facilities we hadn't even used. We asked where any notice or literature was detailing this cost and they could not produce any thing whatsoever. The only thing they could say is "This is a normal charge in Hotels in England so what is your problem!". Our problem was that this ficticious charge seemed to have been fabricated just for us. Later a Czech friend translated for us after overhearing the conversation that they were insulting us in Czech calling us "some sort of idiots" between speaking to us in English.
We didn't pay the charge in the end, they backed down after not being able to produce any sign or written word of the charges.
Overall, because of the unpleasant staff and claustrophobic room we would not reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimoceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Spindleruv Mlyn hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

Me and my g/f have stayed one night in this hotel over valentines weekend. The hotel is accessible by car in the summery only. In the winter the guests can be taken to the hotel by skidoo only becuase the access road crosses two ski slopes and therefore is closed in the winter. You have to leave the car at the designated area in the central parking lot under the skiing hill approx. 400 m from the hotel. On check in and check out guest and their luggage will be taken by skidoo to/from hotel.

Hotel has a restaurant where once can get some food from the menu. Also it serves as the restaurant for the breakfast. Breakfast is good with plenty choices. Views from the hotel are fantastic. It is a nice walk to the village, about 20 mins on foot or for extra fee on skidoo in the winter. We have enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alespesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2005

We are a family of four and spent a week at Hotel Alpina in December 2004. It was being newly refurbished during our stay. The ammenities were good bordering on great in the refurbished section, the family size apartment was spacious and well appointed and the food in the resturant was above average. . We had a sick infant during our stay and needed assistance in finding a doctor - they were unwilling to help us. The hotel management and desk staff were unfriendly, condescending, unhelpful - even bordering on hostile at times. A new management team would lead to a good hotel.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spindleruv Mlyn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort & Spa
Hotel Bedriska Wellness Resort &...
#4 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Olympie
Hotel Olympie
#3 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#2 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Start
Hotel Start
#8 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jelinek
Hotel Jelinek
#5 of 72 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vysluni
Hotel Vysluni
#21 of 37 in Spindleruv Mlyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Property: Hotel Alpina
Address: Tabulove boudy 7, Spindleruv Mlyn, Krkonose National Park 543 51, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Krkonose National Park > Spindleruv Mlyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Spindleruv Mlyn
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpina 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing