We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream place for our wedding weekend”
Review of Margis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margis
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Trakai
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Margis over the weekend of 2 and 3rd of August 2013.

First of all the location is amazing on lake margis in Trakai. They have used the lake location well with the main hotel having views to the lake and a lakehouse close to the shore. In addition there is a boat shed and a couple of saunas which we made good use of.

The staff were exceptional, we didn't lift a finger all weekend. They were always on hand but completely unobtrusive.

The rooms were clean and well looked after, we had booked out pretty much the whole place so our guests experienced all the rooms. All were very satisfied with the standard of accommodation.

We seen a bad review online about the food. We had in total 7 meals here over the weekend and all were very good. It's difficult to cater to all tastes when dealing with 83 guests (and kids!) But they really went the extra mile to make sure everyone was satisfied.

A magical weekend that all guests and more importantly my wife and I loved and will remember for a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had nice party in hotel Margis, everything was ok, but after party we received bill for extra hours and nobody informed that extra hours are runing.
Recommendation- before party pay attention to all details.
Good location, very nice view.
breakfeast- we would like a better breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for bigger room with view to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valdas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I had a trip in Lithuania with my family, because i wanted to see country of the lakes. In internet i found atractive Hotel "Margis" (it has 4 stars) in Trakai, near beaytiful lake.

prices are as usual normal, we paid 100eur for double room including breakfast, for us it is normal price for our trips in Europe countries. Especily in 4stars hotels.
It has beatiful view from the hotel rooms. I and my family was surprised, clean fresh air, far from city noise.
All service was quite good, no any porblems or misunderstandings from hotel staff. All staff is very helpful and speaks eanglish, so with we did not had any problems.
Breakfast was very tasty, healthy and not heavy. Food in restaurant was delicious, with fast service.

Thank You for good spend time at our holidays.
With the best regards Niels Hörbiger

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 2-night stay at "Margis" hotel where we booked a 1-room apartment on the top floor (the best category room the hotel had to offer). Unfortunately, I should think really hard of anything positive to say about this place... First of all, it is not even to close to a 4-star rating - even without close examining one can easily notice that EVERY space of the hotel (spa and pool area, restaurant, lobby, etc.) is decorated with the cheapest materials possible. It gives a really bad impression and the place looks shabby (for example, the pool and the whirpool bath is not covered in ceramics, but in some rubber coating imitating it), the lobby is extremely small and unwelcoming, no elevator (its a 4-storey building), very poor sound isolation (we could basically hear what our neighbours were saying in the room next-door, but we were at least happy that we stayed on the top-floor and didnt have to listen to the noise above us).

Our room was suppossed to be a "lake-view apartment", but the reality is rather different: yes, there is a lake in front of a hotel (approx. 200 meters), but when looking from the balcony what you notice at first is a huge and very messy construction site in between the hotel and the lake (there doesnt seem to be anything happening there, so theres no noise or anything, but the view and the surroundings look so shabby), there are also another 2 houses under construction just in front of the hotel on the shore of the lake.

But the most shocking expereience we had was at the reataurant - we went there the first night we came. First of all, the table was not clean, some of the knives and forks on the table were dirty (!), the table-napkins were obviously used and not changed (!). We waited for it to be taken care of, but when none of the waiters did anything, we pointed out that fact to one od the girls and what she said was that there are a lot of people in the reataurant and waiters did not manage to take care of everything. But there was a maximum of 9 tables occupied and at least 3 waiters and 1 bartender working that night so it didnt seem that there was a lack of personnel, it was more likely a lack of proffessional attitude...


The food at the restaurant is not worth mentioning at all... A completely culinary disaster. And no surprise one of us got something different from what was ordered and my husband had to go up to the bar 2 times and ask for the situation to be solved, as none of the waiters would come up...

The breakfast served inthe same restaurant left a better impression, we really liked the freshly baked croisannts, there were also sausages, eggs, vegetables, cheeses, hams, cornflakes, etc., but compared to other places we stayed at we missed a selection of sweet breakfast itmes - there were no pancakes, cakes or biscuits. The only thing you could do was put jam on the above-mentioned croissants and make a little treat for yourself :)

Now to some positive aspects: the room was quite nice, we ahd a sleeping and sitting area, a bath, a balcony. It was not a regular double room, but an apartment, so it was located on the very top and felt rather private. But we really missed at tea and coffee making facilities and the minibar was also locked.

But the room service lady was very nice (we met her the first day we came as she was still cleaning our room) and the next day she took a really good care of the room, so it really brightened our stay.

Another positive aspect - the hotel seemed fully booked and the receptionists allowed the guests to uses the spa and pool area free of charge not only in the mornings (as indicated on the hotels website), but also in the evenings. But as it was very crowded, we didnt have a chance to use it then (went there at extra charge after everyone has left at 10 pm).

Would we reccommend ths hotel to our friends? Its definitely not worth the price we payed (approx. 100 EUR a night including breakfast), the spa area is very poorly decorated, the only good thing in the restaurant is breakfast, the hotel surroundings are not stunning at all. But the sunset we watched siiting on the shore of lake one evening was the most beautiful in this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Мадам Ю
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Инга Н
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TomTraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trakai
5.3 mi away
Apvalaus Stalo Klubas
Apvalaus Stalo Klubas
#2 of 8 in Trakai
85 reviews
7.6 mi away
TonyResort
TonyResort
#4 of 8 in Trakai
76 reviews
8.3 mi away
Aerodream
Aerodream
#5 of 8 in Trakai
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
19.4 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#13 of 88 in Vilnius
537 reviews
4.6 mi away
Trasalis
Trasalis
#8 of 8 in Trakai
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margis

Address: Penkininku k., Trakai 21103, Lithuania
Region: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Trakai
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Trakai
Price Range: £53 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margis 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable hotel rooms and cosily equipped villas are notable for moderate, pure style, details of restful colour and soft forms. Wood is prevalent in the interior of villas. And luxury villas have are decorated in Provence style. Modern European cuisine at our restaurant and professional SPA services allow you to bring home outstanding impressions that make you return here again and again - at any season of the year. We are awaiting you in "Margis" with your friends, family and even beloved pets. Hotel rooms and two-storey villas with large terraces, located near the beautiful Margis Lake, allow you to enjoy comfort and natural landscape of Lithuanian pine forest. Carefully created atmosphere and attentive service reflect our attempts to surpass standards and grant the most beautiful moments to our every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Margis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing