We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location, poor standard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pod Zamkom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pod Zamkom
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bojnice
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at Pod Zamkom one night in august while on a ferry flight mission from Prievidza to Sweden. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful (yes, check in does take time as stated in other reviews but that is apparently how everything works in this part of the world), the Wifi works (but not on the third floor) and the location is superb just next to the castle.

The rooms however.. Both our rooms had a distinct smell of mold and were either very warm or very cold depending on if you opened the window or not during night. No AC and not much ventilation to talk about. The rooms were very simple and not much luxury is provided, which might have been OK if everything else was OK..

If you get a good enough price and like the view of the castle then the hotel might be for you.

Room Tip: No wifi on third floor. No AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnrkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    12
    2
    8
See reviews for
9
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Very unfriendly service. On check in we were left to wait for 15 minutes while receptionist finished a boring, not important phone conversation with her friend.

Bad start, the room is average. Old TV, poor layout and no air con.

Hotel owner is miserable and doesn't even say hi. Its a bad atmosphere with no personal warm and welcome.

It was really hot and asked about air conditioning. Owner said can't help and walked out of my room. He was Abrubt and showed poor social skills. he did nothing to help and said no hotels had air con in the area.

I went inside Bojnicky Vinny dom hotel, just down the road. we were warmly greated with a smile and kind eyes. There was air con. I was shown around the rooms and they all had air con and were modern and cool. Booking with Vinny dom and you feel its more than worth the money. Wish id gone to this hotel instead! I was even given a free glass of wine and a nice chat and I wasn't even staying in this hotel.

Avoid pod hotel its not worth the money and i've never written a bad review in my life about anything before.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jozephzill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bojnice hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Basel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Average hotel located opposite of the castle and in the center of Bojnice. The price is to high for what you will get. The rooms are clean but below average and the breakfast buffet could be improved. WiFi connection was good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fjeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is situated right next to the castle. We had a room with a view at the castle, for the same price. Unbelievable. Won't happen anywhere else. I agree that they need to spend some cash to renovate, because, and I am from Slovakia, this reminded me 90's and not 21st century. Free WiFi was better than on French Riviera where came to Bojnice from. The room was very clean and the staff was great. Breakfast could be included in the price. Extra 6 EUR. Good value overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view at the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Branislav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel while attanding a wedding reception. The best thing is its proximity to the Bojnice castle. It takes about 5 minutes to reach it.

We stayed in the mezonette room, it was sort of basic, but very clean and sound proof, it had 2 bathrooms.

The parking and the breakfast was not included in the price, we had to pay extra for it. It was sort of modest, serving bad coffee and cheap juices.

The staff was though very professional and friendly.

It is true what other reviewers have already mentioned that for this hotel to be true to it 4star rating, there are some things that need to be done (upgrade the interior, reception area? may be?).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majka1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed in this hotel as my friend was having her wedding party in its premises (why, i don't understand, but oh well, guess they were on a tight budget).
The rooms were big, yes, however, it was not a 4*, as everything was plain and basic in the room and bathroom. The basic room was € 73 (+€5 for parking) which was a day light robbery!! We were given room above the wedding venue, with loud music, when I complained at the reception at 01:00 I was told that they always give the wedding guests the rooms above the "party" room as they assume everyone will be up partying till early hours... When i said they should have warned me about this, they just shrugged their shoulders. Then i requested a room in different part of the hotel, only to be told that they didnt have any at my price of €73, only for €83......what kind of customer service is this?! I said i take anything ,as i needed to go up early the next day and did not fancy arguing wtih the reception lady.
The breakfast was charged at €6 per person, we did not take this option as it was rather pricey for slovakian type of breakfast.
Overall, i would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone, as you can get the same room for half the price in a hotel Lipa for example, which is located only 2min walk away.

Also, there is a "spa" in the hotel, however, it is not included in the price (however, guests have 50% discount) but it had to be booked well in advance (not because it was busy, because they could not be asked to open it if they did not have enough bookings!)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

I went to Bojnice for a wedding and stayed at Pod Zamkom for four nights. The hotel is located right accross from the castle so quite a few guest from the wedding stayed at the hotel, with no compliants. The hotel is very clean the rooms are very large, there is an internet service for a small charge. The restaurant and bar is located in the hotel, the breakfast in the morning is okay but it was included with the room. There are several small pubs and pizza places on the same block. There is nothing negative to say about the hotel, the staff were helpful. There is a spa located about 2km away you can walk there. There is a zoo as well but I didn't go to it. Other than the castle and the spa nearby there is nothing else to do in Bojnice it was two days too long.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul-ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bojnice
0.6 mi away
Maxim Pension
Maxim Pension
#1 of 2 in Bojnice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Golfer
Hotel Golfer
#1 of 1 in Kremnica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kupele Brusno, a.s. – Liecebny dom Polana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bojnicky Vinny Dom
0.6 mi away
Penzion Termal
Penzion Termal
#3 of 19 in Bojnice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belassi
Hotel Belassi
#2 of 19 in Bojnice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Zamkom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Zamkom

Property: Hotel Pod Zamkom
Address: Hurbanovo namestie 1581/2, Bojnice 972 01, Slovakia
Region: Slovakia > Trencin Region > Bojnice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bojnice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Zamkom 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel pod Zámkom is a four-star hotel located in the square below the Bojnice Castle in an attractive tourist spa town. The surrounding area, as well as the hotel itself, provides many opportunities for guests to actively relax. The hotel meets the most demanding requirements and provides professional service with an emphasis on individual requirements of our guests, who can stay in beautiful rooms with a view of Bojnice. We have 65 rooms. Each room has its own bathroom (bath, shower) and WC, fridge with minibar, TV, WIFI. Central safe available at reception, safe deposit box upon request at no charge. For your congress or conference, we offer conference rooms within our hotel, as well as a meeting room, a bar, a banquet, a lounge and other variable interior spaces of the hotel for 10 to 190 persons. We offer our clients audiovisual equipment with a projection on a separate screen, air-conditioning and there is also free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Pod Zamkom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing