We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Hotel Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nautilus
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tabor
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This boutique hotel was unbelievable. The room was enormous and just so beautifully decked out. Huge plush bathroom with spa bath. Very comfortable bed. And the view over the Tabor square was breathtaking. The staff were excellent, the breakfast and the food at the restaurant (Goldies) was excellent. Excellent value for money. Do try the Mexican style restaurant just a few steps down from the hotel - really nice food and great atmosphere for a beer or wine.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    53
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
138
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We have stayed in this hotel with my husband during our honeymoon in Czech Republic and booked the presidents' suite. What a luxury! The room was amazing and so was the bathroom. The room had a great view on the main historical square which we enjoyed whilst having a breakfast ordered to our room. The style and the decoration of the hotel was really great and the restaurant with the bar looked fantastic as well (we haven't eaten there, but it looked very friendly with style).
I would definitely recommend this hotel as the other czech hotels have different standards. Here they are ready for foreigners and are ready to prepare you an excellend stay.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LF_Strasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

My wife and I had a 1 night stay in Hotel Nautilus in March while on a short tour of Bohemia. Hotel Nautilus is a real treasure, and has been recently refurbished in a style reflecting the geological interests of its owners. Not only are there fossils used as artwork in all rooms, the style of furniture and fittings is boutique-hotel at its best. Service is excellent and the bedroom was superb, with great bath, shower, comfortable furniture. We ate in the restaurant, which was perfectly acceptable and good value, but not outstanding. Tabor itself is an interesting historical town south of Prague and while we would not normally have thought to go there, we're glad we did, as it provided an interesting counterpoint to the usual Bohemian tourist sites (by the way we were not so impressed with Cesky Krumlov, but much of it was closed in the off season).

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViennaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2008

What a lovely hotel! It is beautifully decorated and thoughtfully appointed. The staff were extremely helpful - even providing us with free bicycles. Tabor is a beautiful old city and worth exploring. If you go there, the Nautilus is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Rooms on the top floor have very limited windows. We were cheerfully moved to another location.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TripKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

Located on the corner of the main square in the old town (yet probably the quietest old town square you could wish to imagine), Hotel Nautilus is the kind of hotel that I wish were in every town in the Czech Republic.
You can eat well, sleep well, relax and feel looked after by the attentive staff in really rather lovely surroundings.
And if you're there on a Saturday in December, Tabor's Christmas market is right on the doorstep. There's nothing like a cup of mulled wine to get you going in the morning.
My only disappointment was with the breakfast, which seemed a little below par when judged against the rest of the place. But I'm probably just being picky.

  • Liked — Beautifully appointed
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JB_UK_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Hotel Nautilus in Tabor in the Czech Republic was a refreshing change as most hotels disappoint - the reality nowhere near as nice as the brochure or website photos. We spent four nights at Hotel Nautilus this July and it was a first class place to stay in all respects. We chose Tabor, a fairytale town in south Bohemia about an hour and a half drive from Prague, to celebrate our mother's 89th birthday.

The hotel, located on a medieval square, was as beautifully fairytale as the town itself and one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at. The English owner spent five years restoring the old building and searching the world for interesting furniture and decorations: the result is a charming, intriguing mix - splashes of art nouveau, art deco, ethnic and modern. The bedrooms are excellent, every one unique in shape and decor. Each of our rooms had an entrance hall, ensuite bathroom and good sized bedroom. Each room boasted wooden floors and limed beams; some had panelling and doors with beautiful stained glass mosaic panels between hall and bedroom; all had tables and chairs for relaxing, silk cushions on the beds, plenty of cupboard space/storage, a safe, large TV and internet connection. Some have lovely views over the town square or countryside.

The rooms were quiet with no corridor noise, unlike many hotels. The staff was very helpful and attentive at all times and the owner spent some time giving us excellent advice on places to visit nearby - including some wonderful UNESCO heritage sites. On the ground floor there is an atrium with a waterfall and a restaurant/bar with a sumptuous gold mosaic pillar. We ate dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent and plentiful and the wine very good.

The Czech Republic has a lot more to offer than just Prague (lovely though that is) and for those who want a peaceful (and cheaper) holiday, look no further than Tabor and Hotel Nautilus.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank turqu0ise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2007

The hotel Nautilus situated on the main town square is surely the best location to explore the historic town of Tabor and surrounding region from or to stay if doing business in the area.

The hotel itself has been lovingly restored to a very high standard; some of the rooms are almost works of art in their own right. This is not a chain hotel with all that conjures up, the facilities and fittings are all modern and full of character, the staff are knowledgeable, enthusiastic and very helpful, working in such a wonderful environment you can understand why. Finding a boutique hotel of this quality outside Prague was a very pleasant surprise.

In addition to the standard of the hotel the restaurant Goldie on the ground floor was a very welcome diversion, wonderful food at very reasonable rates in a very convivial atmosphere, in fact we ate there everyday and did not have a meal that I wouldn’t recommend.

In the UK you would easily pay 4 or 5 times the rate for a hotel of this quality, if you are in the area you really have no choice but to use it!

  • Liked — The amazing decoration & atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank johnlinney_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palcat
Hotel Palcat
#2 of 7 in Tabor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tabor
Hotel Tabor
#5 of 7 in Tabor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellness & Congress Hotel Dvorak Tabor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Elzet
Hotel Elzet
#4 of 7 in Tabor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Biograf
Hotel Biograf
#1 of 8 in Pisek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
Hotel Concertino Zlata Husa
#1 of 3 in Jindrichuv Hradec
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nautilus

Property: Hotel Nautilus
Address: Zhizhkovo nam. 20/20, Tabor 390 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Tabor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tabor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nautilus 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nautilus is a new boutique 22-room hotel on the main square of Tabor, a medieval hill-top town one hour's drive south of Prague in beautiful Southern Bohemia. The interior was designed by the British owners and is decorated in a unique style including fossils, modern art and antique restored Czech furniture. The restaurant serves international food and the surrounding countryside includes numerous stunning castles and villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Tabor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing