We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Pension Baltazar

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Baltazar
Ranked #1 of 40 Mikulov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aiea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Pension Baltazar is about a 15 minute walk uphill from the train station. I stayed in room 3 facing Husova street. Noise was not a factor since there are double windows. The apartment is on the 2nd floor. There is no lift but the host will help with your bags. You will receive keys for the front door, your room, and the back garden area. The garden area is a perfect place to sip on some wine in the afternoon. The room itself was large with a sitting area and a very generous closet. The bathroom was also a good size with beautiful tiled floors with designs imbedded. The bathroom had a tiled shower and heated towel rack. The host, Michael, was great, whether it be suggesting places to eat or answering questions. Highly recommend Pension Baltazar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have travelled to Mikulov during the last week of August, chosen to stay in pension Baltazar because of its great reviews on Tripadviser and were not disappointed. English was never a problem and neither was ANYTHING else come to think of it. Everybody was very accommodating, trying to help us with every/any enquiry we had/may have had.
We have opted for breakfast included option and again I can only recommend. The lady looking after all of the dinners was super attentive, friendly and always ready to help/cook/serve. Food was made to order, always fresh and came in plenty.
The hotel has 6 rooms and this is matched by 6 private parking places. We stayed in spacious room no.4 on 1st floor and as with everything here it was nice and clean. The hotel itself has been very well refurbished.

I would be happy to recommend this pension to any traveller.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paia, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I loved staying at Baltazar. We felt very well looked after, it has beautiful interior and it's right in the center of Mikulov.
The owner is very friendly, helpful, and above all beautiful person.

Room Tip: Room #5 is light and beautiful. A/C kept us cool in hot days. In mornings gets a bit of noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Great location, excellent service, basic, but tasty breakfast. In this tiny city close to Austrian border, time seemes to be stopped, although during the wine festival in September, it obviously gets really busy - we arrived the day after this festival and the staff from the restaurant, we went to eat, still did not recover from the hangover of the previous day :D We stayed also in the house in Cesky Krumlov, the same positive experience. By the way, really great local wine available

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Mikulov is a great place to stay in South Moravia, especially if you have a car. I can't tell you how it works with public transportation since we had a car. 

We chose Balthazar Pension because of the positive reviews, and we were happy with our choice. Michael, the owner, works very hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Although he doesn't live on site, he is just 5 minutes away. His English is excellent.

The interior has been redone with modern furnishings. Everything is spotless. The feeling is warm and inviting with large photographs of area sites decorating the walls. Michael lights a few candles in the entrance and breakfast areas, adding to the ambiance. The breakfast is very good with much variety.

We stayed in Room #3 on the first floor--our friends stayed in #2. Both had king-sized beds with down coverlets and large fluffy feather pillows. The mattress was very firm, typical of the ones we have encountered throughout Europe. The rooms were large, especially #3, with good sized bathrooms. An outdoor patio with three sets of tables and chairs was available for the use of guests, whether to have your breakfast (provided for $5) or your own lunch or dinner. One night we picked up cheese, meats, fruits, and cheese from the local supermarket a short drive away and ate outside. Another group staying there cooked hamburgers on the grill that's available for a small charge. South Moravia is wine country, and Michael has a variety of local wines available in the $10-$14 range, and we took advantage of this service. You just right down what you take and it's added to your bill.

Secure parking is available behind the Pension inside a locked gate. You are given a code. There is also a good restaurant next door in Hotel Templ, and several other restaurants are within walking distance since Mikoluv is a small town. 

The rooms facing Husova Street may get some noise at night from a bar across the street. We were there in September when nights were cooler, so our friends in #2 were able to shut the windows and turn on the large floor fan. (Only #5 and #6 on the top floor are air conditioned.) Our room was above the patio which can be a problem if other guests want to sit outside and talk into the night. We like to be in bed by 11:00 and had to ask other guests to tone it down. Next trip I will bring ear plugs.

If you are looking for a warm, relaxing atmosphere in a small town, consider Pension Balsazar! But you might prefer one of the air conditioned rooms during warmer months.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I can't say enough nice things about Pension Baltazar. The hotel is charming - an old, restored home in what was once the town's Jewish Quarter. We were traveling with a family of four and took the apartment on the top floor. Beautiful and roomy. The manager, Michael, speaks excellent English and is so friendly and helpful. He and the other staff made our stay a delight. Breakfast in the airy breakfast room is substantial, and the perfect way to start exploring the Czech wine region. We had a wonderful stay and I was sorry to leave. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

English-speaking Michael made it so easy and comfortable for us. He arranged bicycles, printed out a map with his suggested routes which we followed - which led to a great day exploring the villages, castles and forests around Mikulov. Our room and bathroom was stylish and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful view of the castle. The breakfast was more than adequate with really good coffee! Mikulov was a unexpected highlight of our trip with lovely restaurants walking distance to our Pension. Pension Baltazar is a highly recommended place to stay in Mikulov. By the way, if you stay in one of the other pensions in the 'family' or group, they offer a discount. We made use of this offer and also stayed in their beautiful apartment in Telc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mikulov hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galant****
Hotel Galant****
#1 of 5 in Mikulov
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Templ
Hotel Templ
#3 of 5 in Mikulov
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zamecek Mikulov
Hotel Zamecek Mikulov
#2 of 5 in Mikulov
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonsai Mikulov
Hotel Bonsai Mikulov
#6 of 40 in Mikulov
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maroli Mikulov
Hotel Maroli Mikulov
#2 of 40 in Mikulov
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Svateho Urbana
U Svateho Urbana
#19 of 40 in Mikulov
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pension Baltazar

Property: Pension Baltazar
Address: Husova 308/44, Mikulov 692 01, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Mikulov
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Mikulov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Baltazar 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Baltazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing