We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat overpriced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Strandly Skagen
Ranked #15 of 26 Skagen B&B and Inns
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Somewhat overpriced hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Strandly Skagen on the second floor. Nice place but somewhat overpriced compared to the standard. However, not easy to find any cheap hotel in Skagen at all. Ok room with a small terrrasse. Central location in relation to the harbor, galleries and shopping. Very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenaCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    14
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for one night before. I had one of the double rooms which was accessible from the exterior back stairs (I was on the 2nd floor so had to take my suitcase up two flights). It was significantly larger than the single rooms in the main hotel and had a large window and door to a balcony. The view from the from both sides was nice and I was able to open both doors and get a wonderful cross breeze. The bed was very comfortable. The floor was a bit creaky, so I hope I didn't disturb my neighbour downstairs too much. There was an ironing board, hair dryer and a small fridge in my room. The staff was very friendly. I arrived after the check-in time, so they left me a note with directions to my room and for breakfast the following morning. It is important to note that the rooms in this hotel are not all the same. My double room was more expensive than the single rooms, so if the content and layout of the room is important to you, make sure to call and confirm what you have. A colleague had a single room and it was very small, the size of a small bedroom in a home with the washroom in the closet. She found it cosy, but did not have a mini fridge, the view or the ventilation my room had. The location is very nice, very close both to the harbour and to the shopping area. It is also walking distance from the train station (about three blocks). Plenty of restaurants right nearby. I did not use the internet (because I arrived late, I did not have the password)

Room Tip: If you cannot carry your luggage up stairs, make sure to arrange for a ground floor room. If price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skagen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ok service.
The room was ok, would have been nice with a proper door to the bathroom.
Very nice breakfast!
The Wi-Fi didn´t funktion in the room, only outdoors.
A nice place to stay one night or two!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gunilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel is somewhat rustic, but it has it's charme. The rooms were spacious and the breakfast ok. The beds though...awsome! If I wanted to bring back one thing from Denmark it would be the great beds at this hotel. Friendly staff but you didn't see them much. The hotel is perfectly located right between the harbour and the Skagen museum.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karetekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skagen hotels
1.4 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 4 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Strandvejen
Hotel Strandvejen
#18 of 26 in Skagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
0.2 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strandly Skagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strandly Skagen

Property: Hotel Strandly Skagen
Address: Oestre Strandvej 35, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strandly Skagen 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Strandly Skagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing