We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary quality, extraordinary price”

Brondums Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$132
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ordinary quality, extraordinary price”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My family and I came for coffee and cake. The restaurant has an old-fashion style, which befits it. The service was nice and attentive.

As for the cake and coffee: they were nothing special. Coffee is standard Danish coffee (no espresso). The "lagekage" was dough and whip cream, also standard, and nothing special.
Same for the other cakes. The hot chocolate however was very good, made from chocolate, not powder.

What was exceptional was the price. Coffee was 60 DKR per person, a small bowl of strawberries was 90 DKR. Overall we paid over 500 DKR and this was not worth the money, even being in a high-end hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaBa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    86
    28
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have had lunch and dinner several times, both in the summer and around Christmas time at the Brondums. The service is always excellent, and the food is perfect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Svein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice but Pricey”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were 6 adults, one small child, that ate dinner at Brondums Hotel Restaurant. The service was excellent, the food very tasty. We shared 2 bottles of wine between us and each ate main entrée. Our final check for this one meal was $800 USD. Yikes!!! Kinda shocking to us, as this is no "Ithaa, Maldives" !!! Seemed over priced to me, but I'm American where eating out is much cheaper and most everyone can afford to (so this could just be me).

Also, at this same time, my little family of three, stayed a few days at this hotel. We stayed in the section called "Admuralgaarden", it's just steps down the road from the main hotel. Our room was a suite with 2 bedrooms & private bathroom with shower. It was nice & bright with big windows, and the linens were clean & fresh, with a very spacious living room area. Unfortunately, I need to mention that the bathroom had a very bad smell of urine that wouldn't go away, but it looked nice & clean. The price for our room was reasonable, and it was just steps from the Skagen's white sand & blue sea. This hotel is also walking distance to a very nice & large Art Museum.

A yummy breakfast was served each morning, in the morning room of the main hotel and was included with our room. Plenty of good things to eat and we appreciated this perk!

Overall we would go back to the hotel, but probably skip the hotel's restaurant, but only because of price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gal-gallivanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An easy choice when in Skagen”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Not the right place to go if you have drained your holiday account. But the meals are worth every krone, I assure you. Everything is cooked and arranged to perfection, with many twists not meant to look smart, but to taste! Service is discrete yet attentive, and you will not have to wait for anything. Treat yourself. We certainly didn´t regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The service and historic charm did the job.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The food was great but not extradionary. The service and the surroudnings were however amazing and the place is truely worthwhile a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vibegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brondums Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brondums Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing