We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Color Hotel Skagen
Nearby Hotels
Ruths Hotel(Skagen)
US$347
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Frederikshavn)
US$147
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Scandic The Reef(Frederikshavn)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Jutlandia(Frederikshavn)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (323)
    Filter reviews
    323 results
    Traveller rating
    106
    149
    48
    14
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    106
    149
    48
    14
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsmin drivemini golfrent bikes from the hotelgrounds are lovelynice hoteltwo nightsliving roomrecommend this hotelferrytowndenmarkwintertimeseasonkilometersinteriorcorridor
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    51 - 56 of 323 reviews
    Reviewed 7 August 2013

    The location outside Skagen is ok if you want to rent a bike or to take the car to the city, but it is too far for walking. Bike rental at the hotel is a plus, the restaurant, the food and the service is good, but the facilities are worn and needs an upgrade. Prices in the season are on the high side. The Skagen area is a fantastic place to visit.

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank SveinMilford
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 May 2013

    While traveling around Denmark, I have stayed at many hotels, some large and some small. One thing they all had in common was free WiFi access. In this day and time where even 5 year olds own smart phones, you expect this as a standard free feature. Even McDonalds gives you this option. Much to my surprise, the Color Hotel Skagen does not. Their option is to ask you to pay for a subscription to public WiFi. To clarify further, it is one subscription per device. The hotel prides itself on having at least three large conference facilities, which were all not in use during my stay and I can see why. Why would any modern business people choose to visit such an antiquated facility, much less your average family? When the hotel manager was queried about not keeping up with the times, her response was that there was a free computer in the basement that could be used to "check your emails and do your online banking". Apparently they have no ideas about viruses or Internet security. Meals are expensive. Two brandy's cost 18 pounds sterling. Television is pay per view. This place could be really nice, but I won't be returning. Give it a miss. There are cheaper alternatives with more bang for your buck.

    Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    2  Thank Jon F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Lisa H, Marketing coordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

    Dear Jon F,

    We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience in staying with us. We have recently installed a new WIFI which gives us a fast and free connection.

    And to comment on your statements - conferences have not paid for WIFI - it is part of their conference package. We do not have a computer in the basement; however we have a guest computer in the reception - free of charge. Regarding the price for brandy - you can buy brandy here for 5 pound sterling but the price will vary according to your choice.
    And payment for TV - We do of course have free TV access to many channels. If you wish to use the hotels PAY-TV - you pay an amount and get acces to all channels for 24 hours.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 March 2013

    Stayed here for a weekend while celebrating my father's 65th birthday. Arrived late on the evening ferry from Norway, receptionist was quick and had the reservation ready.

    The room was a sort of holiday apartment without any amenities, no minibar, coffee machine and seemed very barren. Curtains in the bedroom were white, so you woke up at 6 am whether you like to or not.

    We had an issue with the door, it doesn't latch or lock automatically and was left unlocked all night. There was no notice on the door and after n number of hotel rooms you kind of expect the door to lock automatically. Thankfully, Skagen is a peaceful place!

    Another annoyance was having to pay for internet. Strangely, the reception staff didn't quite understand this was a problem. It is. And having a free computer in the lobby doesn't help.

    Dinner in the restaurant was very good, staff knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet could have offered a larger selection of warm options (...and perhaps a dress code?).

    Room Tip: Try to avoid the apartments.
    • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Shipmate78
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 October 2012

    My group were having a big convention at this hotel. The function rooms are fine and very well equipped. The restaurant and services are fine to accomodate large groups.
    I were on arrival assigned a hloidat apartment, I would have preferred a normal hotel room - which the hotel alkso have. Staying for one night the apartments are "too complicated" and remote for convention attendees like me.
    Thsi hotel can do conventions - however it is a holiday spot

    Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    Thank Lars_Krull
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2012

    This hotels main assets are its friendly and helpful staff and (if you are travelling with a two year old) the outdoor pool. Apart from that, there are not many reasons o stay here. The barbeque buffe in the restaurant did not impress (lots of vegetables but a very limited selection of meat and almost no sauces). The room was rather dated, and wito poor ventilation. We stayed for two nights, but the room was not made after the first night.

    • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank bjorkby
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews