We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take your own tea bags !”
Review of Color Hotel Skagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Color Hotel Skagen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Take your own tea bags !”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just stayed here for two nights with Danish friends who are regulars there.
The hotel is what I would describe as a basic conference hotel , with a lot of space and good facilities. The food is excellent and , as a fish eating vegetarian , they went out of their way to make my food very varied and beautifully cooked. And the staff are charming, well trained and helpful.
They do excellent offers which vary over the year and a mid-week stay can be very good value.
WFI access seems to be hit and miss so this needs some improvement.

But ..... It is a basic hotel with no frills And my main complaint is that there was no tea/ coffee facilities in the room. This may sound petty but a small kettle with all the bits is no great hassle and it would be a great thing to have after a day's cycling or walking. I paid £3 in Danish Kroner for a glass of water and one tea bag which I find an incredible amount and rather an insult.. But then one glass of rose wine was £10 !

However....... I would certainly return because the hotel has a lot of good things going for it and Skagen is a wonderful place to explore. Let's hope they read Trip Advisor and act on some of the suggestions.

Room Tip: A room facing the heath is lovely and quiet and....... take your own tea bags because the ones in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JES1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    112
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
46
119
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The location outside Skagen is ok if you want to rent a bike or to take the car to the city, but it is too far for walking. Bike rental at the hotel is a plus, the restaurant, the food and the service is good, but the facilities are worn and needs an upgrade. Prices in the season are on the high side. The Skagen area is a fantastic place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SveinMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

While traveling around Denmark, I have stayed at many hotels, some large and some small. One thing they all had in common was free WiFi access. In this day and time where even 5 year olds own smart phones, you expect this as a standard free feature. Even McDonalds gives you this option. Much to my surprise, the Color Hotel Skagen does not. Their option is to ask you to pay for a subscription to public WiFi. To clarify further, it is one subscription per device. The hotel prides itself on having at least three large conference facilities, which were all not in use during my stay and I can see why. Why would any modern business people choose to visit such an antiquated facility, much less your average family? When the hotel manager was queried about not keeping up with the times, her response was that there was a free computer in the basement that could be used to "check your emails and do your online banking". Apparently they have no ideas about viruses or Internet security. Meals are expensive. Two brandy's cost 18 pounds sterling. Television is pay per view. This place could be really nice, but I won't be returning. Give it a miss. There are cheaper alternatives with more bang for your buck.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Marketing coordinator at Color Hotel Skagen, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Jon F,

We are sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience in staying with us. We have recently installed a new WIFI which gives us a fast and free connection.

And to comment on your statements - conferences have not paid for WIFI - it is part of their conference package. We do not have a computer in the basement; however we have a guest computer in the reception - free of charge. Regarding the price for brandy - you can buy brandy here for 5 pound sterling but the price will vary according to your choice.
And payment for TV - We do of course have free TV access to many channels. If you wish to use the hotels PAY-TV - you pay an amount and get acces to all channels for 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend while celebrating my father's 65th birthday. Arrived late on the evening ferry from Norway, receptionist was quick and had the reservation ready.

The room was a sort of holiday apartment without any amenities, no minibar, coffee machine and seemed very barren. Curtains in the bedroom were white, so you woke up at 6 am whether you like to or not.

We had an issue with the door, it doesn't latch or lock automatically and was left unlocked all night. There was no notice on the door and after n number of hotel rooms you kind of expect the door to lock automatically. Thankfully, Skagen is a peaceful place!

Another annoyance was having to pay for internet. Strangely, the reception staff didn't quite understand this was a problem. It is. And having a free computer in the lobby doesn't help.

Dinner in the restaurant was very good, staff knowledgeable. Breakfast buffet could have offered a larger selection of warm options (...and perhaps a dress code?).

Room Tip: Try to avoid the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipmate78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My group were having a big convention at this hotel. The function rooms are fine and very well equipped. The restaurant and services are fine to accomodate large groups.
I were on arrival assigned a hloidat apartment, I would have preferred a normal hotel room - which the hotel alkso have. Staying for one night the apartments are "too complicated" and remote for convention attendees like me.
Thsi hotel can do conventions - however it is a holiday spot

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lars_Krull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotels main assets are its friendly and helpful staff and (if you are travelling with a two year old) the outdoor pool. Apart from that, there are not many reasons o stay here. The barbeque buffe in the restaurant did not impress (lots of vegetables but a very limited selection of meat and almost no sauces). The room was rather dated, and wito poor ventilation. We stayed for two nights, but the room was not made after the first night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjorkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Lovely hotel 30 min. walk from the harbour. Splendid breakfast and a great A La Carte Menu

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSigurdHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skagen hotels
1.3 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 4 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Strandvejen
Hotel Strandvejen
#17 of 26 in Skagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#6 of 26 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#5 of 26 in Skagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color Hotel Skagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color Hotel Skagen

Property: Color Hotel Skagen
Address: Gl. Landevej 39, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Color Hotel Skagen 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Color Hotel Skagen is the only 4-star hotel in Skagen. The hotel is located between Old Skagen and Skagen centre in the middle of the beautiful nature. Are you looking for a spontaneous and informal weeekend with your sweetheart or a trip with your friends to experience the culture and nature in Skagen, you've come to the perfect place. We also have first class pampering if you want to enjoy exclusive wine, 3 course dinners and the hotel's many facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Color Hotel Skagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing