We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Badepension Marienlund
Ranked #2 of 26 Skagen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moretonhampstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL STAY”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this outstandingly beautiful place two weeks ago as we were in Skagen to celebrate the 70th birthday of a Danish friend we met years ago in Hampstead. The room was lovely and the whole place decorated beautifully. The owners too were lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is evident from the many good reviews that Badepension Marleinlund is not just a typical B&B but more like a nice hotel. We can only agree with all the positive comments. The owners are available all day and it was reallly nice to be able to get coffee with homemade cookies or just a cold beer to enjoy in the shady garden when we returned from our excurses in the afternoon. Badepension Marienlund is located in the oldest part of Skagen where the fishermen used to live. Judging by the expensive cars parked in the area now those days are long gone. Still Skagen is a very nice place to visit even if you do not drive a Ferrari. We could easily cover the whole area from Grenen where the oceans meet to Gammel Skagen with the beautiful sunset on our rented bikes. Skagen Museum is of course a must but you should be aware that it will be closed from September 2014 to May 2015 due to renovation.

Room Tip: The (only) room on the ground floor in the main building is very nice with easy access to the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frch-Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice place, not a "Badepension" as i imagined it since the sea is a short bike ride or walk away. You can not go directly for a morning swim. But everything is very neat, cosy and in it´s original Skagen style. The room we had was quite good even though we were four, parents with kids 11 and 7 years old. There was a misunderstanding and we had to move to another hotel one day before we had planned. Probably this was my mistake but the host did not make us feel welcome anymore. We had a sick child unfortunately, but there was nothing done to help us in this situation in the middle of high season. Too bad, this is a charming b&b.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We found this well-run little hotel/B&B to be pretty outstanding, and were glad we chose it. Of course, it's not a global hotel chain, but a home-run B&B, and all the better for it.

Pros:
- It's pretty central, walking distance to the beach and restaurants (and they have bikes for rent if needed too).
- It's amazingly clean, even the ceiling panels seemed to be gleaming to me.
- The delicious breakfast is served up on Royal Copenhagen dishes, and on crisp linen tablecloth.
- The garden has lovely chairs to sit outside and relax (and they'll happily sell you a cool beer or wine, at good prices). Plus a cosy lounge.
- Good free WiFi.

Any cons?
- Hardly anything to flag up here. In the room, the curtains are thin, and so the long summer sun acts as a pretty early alarm clock, but this was the same at all the places we stayed.
- It's cash only, but this is a minor point, and easy to find a cash machine in town. But worth knowing in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This small hotel embodies everything that is quaint and hyggelig, the Danish word for all things cosy. Where else in the world are candles lit for your breakfast, served on Royal Copenhagen, a smallish breakfast buffet but picture worthy with its wonderful array of crusty buns and pastries. A world away from the jostling and frenetic pace at American hotel breakfast rooms. You actually want to linger. Rooms are a decent size and bathroom typical Danish with open shower and heated tile floor. Bedding is crisp white linens.The hotel is a brisk 10 min walk to the south end of the pedestrian street. The wind can get pretty fierce, so tuck a headband or hat in your pocket. Take a look inside the pretty church here. Skagen Museum, with its gorgeous paintings, should be on your list.
Enjoy Skagen, wish I was there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex, there was a steep staircase which possibly led to more rooms. not sure. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just spent four wonderful days staying in this gorgeous B and B. It is situated in a quiet street on the outskirts of Skagen, but within 15 minutes walking distance to the town centre. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and we slept under light, yet warm and cosy duvets. Extra pillows were provided upon request. The breakfast was unbelievably good, the table laden with everything one could wish for! There was a cosy lounge where we could sit in the evenings browsing through the many books about Skagen and its artists. We hired excellent bikes from the owner and enjoyed exploring the town and surroundings. We would love to return to Skagen, and to this B and B in particular.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was my favorite accommodation on my visit across Denmark! It is an absolute gem. Charming property - cosy and comfortably furnished rooms with private bath.
The main building includes breakfast room and a great living room with fireplace, chairs, a perfect spot to relax or read on a cool evening. Breakfast is excellent - best I've had in Denmark - and included in price for the room. Free wireless internet. Bike rental is also available - 70 DKK/day - it is a perfect way to explore the area. I did not have a car (train, walking and bike rental) and it was easy to get around. Best of all, the hosts are so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skagen hotels
2.1 mi away
Ruths Hotel
Ruths Hotel
#1 of 4 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#2 of 4 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#6 of 26 in Skagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Strandvejen
Hotel Strandvejen
#17 of 26 in Skagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badepension Marienlund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badepension Marienlund

Property: Badepension Marienlund
Address: Fabriciusvej 8, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Badepension Marienlund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badepension Marienlund Skagen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing