We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Ruths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruths Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Certificate of Excellence
Karise, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Outstanding service and atmosphere
Futhermore fantastic food
Everyone is eager to take good, very good care of you.
Ruths Hotel is a pearl in the most Northern town of Denmark
For your own sake, don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    50
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
40
113
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Cosy hotel in Gl. Skagen. We had a nice bright room with access to a couple of chairs outside and in addition a view across the local cemetary to the beach and sea. The spa is nice, but not up to modern standards. We had a great stay at the hotel, great breakfast and simple food at dinner time in the brasserie. All the staff is kind and makes your stay one to remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_on_a_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel is a complex of several buildings in old Skagen, a small village of mostly weekend houses. We stayed in room 5, a junior suite on the top (second) floor in the building closest to the strand. This is a really pleasant junior suite with two rooms plus good bathroom, attractive, well furnished, plenty of reading lights, comfortable bed with skylight directly above. My wife pronounced the room "stylish".
Food in the Brasserie (the only of the hotel's restaurants open in mid-September)well above average. Breakfast buffet quite small but they will quickly cook bacon and eggs to your order. Good same-day laundry service, done inhouse (can't lose stuff that way).
Our building was only 100 m from the strand. There are trails leading over the vegetated dunes back from the strand. Very nice place to walk. Skagen town is only a five minute drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room so that you can get a bit of a view. Do visit Grenen and the Rabjerg Mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, Manager at Ruths Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Ruths Gourmet Restaurant is open in September and rest of the year, but outside summerseason only in weekends. We hope you will be back some other time to try our gourmet restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Ruths hotel is located in Old Skagen just a few steps from the ocean and in a very scenic area of the Danish West coast. We visited the hotel the first week-end of September and had a very good reception service and a nice clean room in the "Strandhuset" (a bit small though).
In the evening we had pre-ordered a 5 course Surprise menu composed by Cheff Michel Marchaud - and that was one of our best dinners ever. The wine card has a very nice selection of wines but the prices are very high.
All in all a visit to Ruths is recommended but also a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Avoid "Strandhuset " if you wish a spacey hotel room. "Strandhuset" apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSofieBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great place, the top of Denmark, Best location close to the sea, wellness Spa facilities, Food is excellent, multiple choices, Gourmet Restaurant with the famous Chef Michaud, Great Bistro, and next door an original Spanish Tapas Restaurant, very kind and professional staff, high service level is clearly a high priority, not because they feel obligated, but because they like it and enjoy happy guests!
I will come back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just back from a Danish holiday in Copenhagen and Skagen. At Ruths we had a high quality stylish suite, in a good location. Skagen is a unique and lovely place. But beware peak holiday season (mid July). The hotel bar and restaurant is too crowded and there is no priority system for hotel guests. Also, as with all things in Denmark, prices are eye-wateringly expensive for tourists. Do visit Grenen, where the Skaggerak and Kategatt meet, and Rabjerg Mile - unique places.

Room Tip: Stay in main building outbuildings would be a pain during poor weather. Our suite on ground floor ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina T, Manager at Ruths Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Google Translation
Juli måned er den travleste tid på året, og mange gæster kommer netop for at opleve det hyggelige og festlige stemning i Skagen. Resten af året er det muligt at opleve et langt mere stille og fredeligt Gl. Skagen.

Ruths Hotel har 2 restauranter; Ruths Gourmet kører med helt almindelig bordreservation, mens vores klassiske, franske Brasserie kører uden bordreservationer. Alle får plads i Ruths Brasserie, men der kan være ventetid på et bord. Ventetiden fordrives oftest med et glas i den hyggelige pejsestue som en del af oplevelsen og boende gæster prioriteres altid foran udefrakommende ved bordbestilling til kl. 18:00 men herefter i den rækkefølge man ankommer.

Med venlig hilsen
Peter Chr. Jensen
Direktør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

In Old Skagen we have stayed many, many times and love the atmosphere here and it's only a short cardrive to Skagen or you can rent a bicycle. A short walk to the sanddunes and the same to the sea where you can see the sun setting. The hotel is old but they renovated the place not many years ago. You can also stay at Strandhotellet it belongs to Ruth's hotel and it's only a short walk down the road. We have also stayed there many times and love that too. About the rooms it's much up to you what you want to pay, so I'll just say that we've loved all rooms we've stayed in. We recoment this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaStigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagen
1.3 mi away
Color Hotel Skagen
Color Hotel Skagen
#1 of 4 in Skagen
257 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aalbaek Gl Kro
Aalbaek Gl Kro
#1 of 1 in Albaek
85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brondums Hotel
Brondums Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skagen
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Petit
Hotel Petit
#3 of 26 in Skagen
143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Skibssmedien Skagen
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonderstrand
Hotel Sonderstrand
#7 of 26 in Skagen
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruths Hotel

Property: Ruths Hotel
Address: Hans Ruths Vej 1, Skagen 9990, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Skagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ruths Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruths Hotel is a historic seaside hotel located in the heart of a idyllic village called Gl. Skagen that is surrounded by dunes with lyme grass and rose hip bushes and also the beach with the legendary sunset plaza on the Top of Denmark. The hotel itself consists today of four buildings with rooms and apartments designed with Danish furnitures and typical Scandinavian beach side hotel style, an underground parking garage, conference facilities and romantic banquet facilities - all within 200 meters. In the main building of Ruths Hotel is besides the reception also a wellness and spa area with a heated therapy pool, exercise machines, sauna, steam room, massage shower, and the option to book massages, beauty and fitness treatments. The culinary experince in a cozy setting can be enjoyed either in Ruths Brasserie or Ruths Gourmet with our gastronomic head chef Dennis Juhl. Between the two restaurants is our lounge, where a cup of coffee with some exclusive pampering of the sweet tooth can be enjoyed by the crackling fire from the fireplace. Despite the fact that we are a five-star hotel and many describes Ruths Hotel as a luxury hotel, we actually don't strive to give a luxury experience. We want to give our guests a five-star experience of exclusive life enjoyment, and it is with this exclusive pampering that you will experience how the heart rate drops by 10 beats, the body is forced to relax and you will achieve a sensation of presence and time for each other. We can not help it - It's in our nature ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ruths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing