We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific views and excellent cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Annema

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Annema
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Terrific views and excellent cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We went here by mistake, thinking we would be in Old Monemvasia, but it was a lucky mistake. The hospitality is outstanding, and (as long as you have a sea view room) so are the views, across to the empty side of Monemvasia itself. It was October, so no-one else was staying, but we couldn't have been looked after better. I was fully expecting to be offered pork chop and chips for supper, but we had a fantastic meal (see my Annema restaurant review).
Breakfast was a trifle carb heavy, with toast, butter, honey and jam, nutella pancakes AND ham and cheese toasties, but it certainly sets you up for a good climb up to Ag Sophia in Monemvasia!
Room was spotless, standard Greek hard mattress, small shower/toilet, fridge and TV - would be an excellent choice for a quiet break.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for a sea view room - the others are described as mountain view, but you get a roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I would like to say that I had a marvelous time . The hotel was amazing right by the sea with great view and very clean rooms . The people were very kind and we felt right at home. It is very close to Monemvasia only 5 minutes by car. The breakfast was very good and the kitchen had also amazing offers for lunch and dinner with fresh fish and other great dishes. I will most defenetly visit again Annema hotel for other vacations as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Annema for a week in August and found the hospitality to be in true Greek philoxenic fashion. This family-run hotel is well situated for exploring the coast and interior of Laconia and for visiting the remarkable historic town of Monemvasia, which is a short drive away. The view of The Rock, from the hotel, is absolutely beautiful, and there is nothing better than swimming from the hotel's pontoon in a calm sea with it as a backdrop. It did not take us long to realise that the food in the restaurant, is in fact some of the best traditional fayre on offer in the area, and is all prepared and cooked by the family. It is quite difficult to find modestly priced, clean and comfortable hotels in this part of the world, as there are so many self -catering holiday apartments, but this one is a real gem and we enjoyed our stay at the Annema very much.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the bay have the spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Nice location with great views and very clean environment inside and outside the hotel. Very helpful people in regards to what they do. Very good breakfast and excellent cuisine for lunch and dinner. The distance from the castle of Monemvasia is only 10 minutes by car. "

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 6 days during August. It is a beautiful hotel!Very clean, with an excellent View and a wonderful veranda where you can enjoy your drinks by the pool and not only.we were most impressed by the restaurant of the hotel where we enjoyed the homemade dishes that the owners made for us! we send our best wishes especially to Nikos, one of the owners who was so polite and helpful and made our stay so nice! We certainly recommend this hotel and we hope to go again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elli_Anna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had the chance to stay 5 days at Annema hotel and enjoy the beautiful view as well as the hospitality of the owners who treated as exactly as they would if we were guests at their house!
The hotel is next to the sea, our room offered a magic view and was very clean.
We aspolutely recomment the food at tre restaurant.Home made and delicious!!
We look forward to havimg the opporrtunity to visit again!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KATERINA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Me, my husband and daughter visited the hotel in August after we found it advertised on the internet and with good reviews. What a waste of time it was ! Hotel rooms are tiny even to fit a double bed and a piece of luggage and cleaned only "superficially" without attention. Breakfast was a joke. Cheap quality and limited selection. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anna539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
3.3 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.3 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.3 mi away
New Malvasia Hotel
New Malvasia Hotel
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annema

Property: Annema
Address: Palaia Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Annema 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Annema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing