We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 10th year at Topalti”
Review of Monemvasia Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monemvasia Village
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Courbevoie, France
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“My 10th year at Topalti”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Eavery year we spend between 1 and 3 weeks in Peloponese and there's no way we can avoid Monemvassia, thanks to this bunch of bungalows above the new city. You just drink your ouzo overlooking the sea and the Monemvassia rock. Just a dream.
Bungalows have been renewed and are not suffering from time and the vegetation has grown tremendously.
Cherry on the cake: the swimming pool, a delight!
Topalti is the place to stay in Monemvassia, far from the crowed and expensive old town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We picked this place primarily because it had a pool, and the pool was really nice. We got a basic but fine 2 bedroom bungalow in a small development of 15+ bungalows. The development is on the edge of Nea Monemvasia, slightly up the hill, a shortish walk into the centre of the new town.

There is nobody permanent on site but the development is owned by the same people who own Villa Diamanti in Nea Monemvasia, so you pop into Villa Diamanti to check in and they bring you up the hill to Topalti. The linens were changed and the apartment cleaned every day, which we did not expect. This apartment would easily have slept 4 adults. The only negative here for us was the firmness of the beds – I know this is a common complaint in Greece but wow, these were very very firm indeed.

There’s a bakery/icecream shop on the main road to the causeway called Charami (XARAMH) and my word I think it’s the best icecream we ever had. Every night we got a cone here before making our way home up the hill. Bliss. (I would especially recommend the ferrero, we tried almost every one and that was our favourite).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This apartment-hotel is, in my opinion, the hotel of choice for Monemvasia region. 20 villas, all of them fully equiped with all the necessary stuff and with a fantastic view of the Monemvasia mountain. Each villa is quite separate and isolated from each other and offers you the possibility for full relaxation.
I strongly suggest the hotel to families with small children, since is very well protected and the children can play with all freedom and safety. The pool is another advantage of the village.
In total best value-money for the region, which can be used as a bridge for wonderfull close excursions: GERAKAS fiord, KYPPARISSI village (the place where lady D had vacations) and nice beaches in the other side of the peninsula kile PLYTRA beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panathas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

we came with 2 babies, the pool was great and very usefull to cooldown in the hit.
the appartments are very well equipped and very comfortable. there is a realy nice balcony to sit and relax after climbing to the archeological site.
the owner chris was very nice. when we came the village was empty from tourists like in every other place in monemvasia. it was very sad - the financial problems of greece.
these people deserve more!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garbulim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xifoupolis
Hotel Xifoupolis
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#12 of 23 in Monemvasia
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aktaion
Hotel Aktaion
#17 of 23 in Monemvasia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monemvasia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monemvasia Village

Property: Monemvasia Village
Address: Upper Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece (Formerly Topalti Village)
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monemvasia Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Monemvasia Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing