We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the beauty of Monemvasia in this hotel!”
Review of Likinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Likinia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Enjoy the beauty of Monemvasia in this hotel!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

To spend a night in the castle of Monemvasia is a great experience and this hotel makes it even better! We had a beautiful room with windows on three sides, that provided gorgeous views of the castle and the sea. The room itself was very quiet, well equipped, clean and modern. The breakfast is better than usually in Greece (with fruits and fresh omelettes). If you want to swim, there is a gate in the walls of the castle and a ladder to enter the sea (2 minutes walking from your room). The hotel is a short walk from the entrance to the castle, where you can park along the street. It you don't have backpacks, you might want to call the hotel for assistance with the luggage.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabian_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    43
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
236
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Beautifully appointed hotel in the quiet end of town. It is charming and professionally run, and the owner is very hospitable and keen to help. Breakfast is delicious and the owner tends a beautiful surrounding garden.

Room Tip: I would choose a patio area over a view. This way to enjoy sitting down after a long day of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We wanted to stay within the castle and we weren’t disappointed! It is somewhere very different and was a one-off treat for us!
The rooms are very nice, simply decorated and with a nice quality of fittings. The bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioning worked well too. Our only comment was that, in our particular room, the bathroom was very small - functional though.
Breakfast was simple and of good quality, however after three mornings of the same selection, we felt a little variety could have been introduced.
The staff were excellent, very welcoming and good hosts.
The caveat - Parking! The place was extremely busy during our visit, so that meant we couldn't park anywhere on the road leading up to the castle - we had to park at the bottom. This was a walk of about twenty to thirty minutes to our room. In hindsight, because of this, we would not stay in the hotel again, we would rather stay at the bottom of the hill or in the town and make a visit to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkinginAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Likinia. Upon our arrival in the late afternoon, the owner proffered wine and a salad, which was just a perfect way to start our stay in Monemvasia after a long drive. The Likinia experience is top notch all around, from the unbeatable hospitality of the staff to the delicious breakfast to the delightful room with a view of the sea. The hotel is one of the farther ones from the castle entrance so take advantage of their offer to help with luggage transport if you're not up to hauling it over cobblestones and steps.

Room Tip: Pictures of rooms on the website are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The quality of this hotel is exceptional from the stone floors, wood beamed ceilings, trimmed windows, furniture to bathroom fixtures. The location is just steps to the sea. Most rooms have views or a glimpse of the water. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and shown two rooms to choose from. There was water and soda in the fridge and a bottle of wine. All the little things added up to an elegant experience. The architecture is true and organic to the Byzantine era of the rock. In the morning we enjoyed coffee in our room before going down to a delicious and well prepared breakfast-fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, frittata, eggs, assortment of breads and sweets. We wish we could had stayed longer! We will return!

Room Tip: Ask to see what rooms are available so you can choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeceByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, East Sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on excellent reviews & because it was rated No 1 in Monemvasia but for the price paid, we felt it was vastly overrated.
Firstly you should be aware that as the "hotel" is within the castle walls, you cannot take your car/motorbike anywhere near to load or unload luggage. They say 150 metres but it is a climb up & down cobbled streets & takes 10-15ins.
They offer bed & breakfast only & there are no restaurant or bar facilities.
We paid extra for a sea view room which was nice but as there is no public garden area we spent most of one afternoon in our room to keep out of the sun. Lastly, it is built into the side of a steep hill & access is up/down very steep narrow steps which would be impossible for anyone with any mobility issues. The owners were friendly but as they spoke little English & we don't speak Greek, unication was difficult. Breakfast was good but we were overall disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookworm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Likinia for 3 nights, had room 1 with a view over the ocean. The location of the hotel is the most unique of any hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was superb, and the service and breakfast excellent. If you have heavy suitcases, it is good to use the help to get them to the hotel, as it is located in the backside of the caste. There are many good dining options in the castle, and more than enough to see for a 2 or 3 night stay, but there are many other interesting places nearby as well, within a 2 hour drive. We felt sorry we had to leave!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 23 in Monemvasia
170 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Xifoupolis
Hotel Xifoupolis
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likinia Hotel

Property: Likinia Hotel
Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Likinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKINIA Hotel is a newly built hotel located inside the historic Castle of Monemvasia in the Southern Peloponnese. The stone built hotel, which has been constructed with absolute respect to the historic surroundings and architecture of the Castle, is offering a very pleasant and relaxing accommodation to its guests, thanks to its comfortable furniture and modern equipment. All the architectural elements were preserved during construction, such as arcs and cisterns, while there has been a wonderful combination of marble floors in each room and marble walls in their bathrooms. Its beautiful construction, its bright rooms thanks to their numerous windows, and its tasteful furniture are making LIKINIA Hotel a jewel for the Castle of Monemvasia. LIKINIA Hotel is located in Chrysafitissa Square, which is adjacent to the southern part of the Castle's fortification, just above the sea. Thanks to the hotel's proximity to the sea, most of its 4 suites and 12 rooms have a beautiful sea view and its guests may enjoy the coolness of the sea breeze through its numerous windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Likinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing