We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime.”
Review of Likinia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Likinia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Amazing city built into a mountain surrounded by the sea. The hotel owner was very welcoming and helped us plan our 2 days. Beautiful room facing the sea with old world charm. Only complaint was tiny shower but other rooms we looked at were fine as we went with some friends. The square in front is being renovated and will really dress up the hotel some more. Breakfast was different and excellent everyday with many choices. Sat at wine bar next door both nights to begin the evening and owner is Greek guy from queens so we hit it off. We had a great meal inside the gates and outside down the road at the port town looking at Monemvasia all light up at night. Amazing view and my wife's favorite part of a 3 week trip.

Room Tip: Take second floor room in front of hotel with view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reillyelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Likinia Hotel in August. The buildings are spread over the hillside of this fascinating old fortress town and the hotel appears old but is actually mostly new - built in historic style with great attention to detail and incorporating parts of the old castle vaults, arches and basements.
The hotel was a little difficult to find - it's situated in the pedestrians only town at the far end away from the main gate and it took us about 10 mins to walk there after parking the car outside the town walls. Directions could have been a bit clearer and there are 2 entrances just to add to the confusion. Our room was delightful with windows on three sides and views over the rooftops to the sea.
Breakfast is taken in the old part of the building at ground level in part of the old vaults which are open onto a small garden area.
A very romantic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently stayed at this incredible hotel. Our room was Suite One facing the ocean with a comfortable balcony. This breath-stopping beautiful mini castle hotel was ultra-clean, quiet, offered prompt and efficient service, comes with big comfy beds, quiet A/C system and an awesome home-made big breakfast. Mrs Voula and her staff are friendly, interesting and go full force on doing things the right and fresh way. We loved this place and highly recommend it to everyone.Thanks again Ms. Voula and Likinia staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thepack119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at Likinia and it was perfect. The location of the hotel was the best location we could ask, very close to where you can swim. The view from our room was beautiful (room no 1) and the breakfast was delicious. Also very good service- call and ask for help with your luggage when you arrive!
Hope to be back next time when we're in Greece.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rayazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In a few words: fantastic location, great variety of tastefully furnished, fully equipped rooms, superb breakfast quality and, finally, the extra special touch of Greek hospitality from Voula and her team!
What more could one ask for?..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yannos64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed the outstanding service before, during and after our stay. Excellent breakfast, friendly hosts, superb view on the sea, and nice terrace to have a drink after walking (or write some emails outside); ideal location,very quiet but close enough from the center. Special thanks to Alex and Alexandros. The ideal place to visit another side of Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLD6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband, myself and grandchildren with their parents stayed the night of July 23. Our four rooms were lovely with large terraces with sea views, beautifully furnished and fast wi-fi. But the best part of our stay was the owner, Voula, along with her helper Alex. She was so solicitous of the children and truly seemed to love having them at her hotel. There are gardens filled with flowers to compliment the beautiful stonework. Our breakfast was very special also, served under the cool shady arches. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JudyJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monemvasia
0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
333 reviews
0 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kinsterna Hotel
Kinsterna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Stefanos
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
119 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#11 of 23 in Monemvasia
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Likinia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Likinia Hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 23070, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Price Range: £70 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Likinia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKINIA Hotel is a newly built hotel located inside the historic Castle of Monemvasia in the Southern Peloponnese. The stone built hotel, which has been constructed with absolute respect to the historic surroundings and architecture of the Castle, is offering a very pleasant and relaxing accommodation to its guests, thanks to its comfortable furniture and modern equipment. All the architectural elements were preserved during construction, such as arcs and cisterns, while there has been a wonderful combination of marble floors in each room and marble walls in their bathrooms. Its beautiful construction, its bright rooms thanks to their numerous windows, and its tasteful furniture are making LIKINIA Hotel a jewel for the Castle of Monemvasia. LIKINIA Hotel is located in Chrysafitissa Square, which is adjacent to the southern part of the Castle's fortification, just above the sea. Thanks to the hotel's proximity to the sea, most of its 4 suites and 12 rooms have a beautiful sea view and its guests may enjoy the coolness of the sea breeze through its numerous windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Likinia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing