We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Theophano Art Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel on our 3 day romantic gateway in mid of August.
We took the main suite (most likely their signature room). The hotel is clean and spacious. The room was great and unique just like the overall castle experience. The little balcony looking at the sea was great and adding to the relaxation. Shower bathroom was also very good given the conditions. I liked the Apivita organic soap samples they offered us. Our room had marble floors, high ceilings and 9 beautiful windows it was like going back in the medieval times.
Breakfast was an experience as the staff tried their best to make everyone feel comfortable. It is not buffet style. On the other hand, We were offered a range of homemade pies, fruit gelatins, boiled eggs, fresh bread, exquisite jams, and freshly squeezed orange juice.

This is a place for couples more than families with children.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kontiki98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was supposed to stay at the Theophano Art Hotel for a couple of days with my wife and my four year old son but we loved Monemvasia and our accommodation so much that we ended up staying for 5 nights!

I have to admit that I am a sucker for medieval castles and, frankly, staying in a renovated medieval building felt like fulfilling a childhood dream. Sipping my morning coffee accompanied by the likes of Schubert and Liszt, while staring at the sea or examining the walls where Byzantines, Franks, Venetians, and Ottomans occupied in past centuries is as close to a religious experience a 21st century man can have.

The rooms are not roomy in the Four Seasons sense, but have all the modern amenities you can ask for and are tastefully decorated with antique furniture. Our first room, partially crafted within the natural stone walls, had a medieval water pipe running through the floor - protected by glass - and it felt like sleeping in a petite museum hall. Priceless. Despite the heat, I never felt the need for an AC since the thick stone walls keep the indoor temperature very cool.

The name of the proprietor is Fani, a sixty something (?) lady who in another life was probably a Roman aristocrat or the wife of a Venetian Doge. Austere yet courteous with a talent for story telling and a taste for classical music, she met all our needs and upgraded us to a larger room - we had an initial reservation for two nights - with a balcony for the remaining three nights of our stay.

All in all a great experience and we shall be back for more.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with a balcony. Try to get them. All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Costas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The old town of Monemvassia is a truly unique experience-the Theophano art hotel offers a much pleasant and unique accommodation with exceptional architecture, beautifully renovated and furnished rooms and fantastic views from the terrace and homemade produce for breakfast- do not expect any typical 'hotel buffet' type of breakfast.

The owner Mrs Fani can also show you around the music room and library of the hotel and explain the history behind this and also offer valuable advice concerning daily trips and local restaurants. Matoula of course is the first choose.

We will definitely go back there.

tip: to enjoy the hotel and the old town cobbled alley ways, travel light and wear appropriate shoes

Room Tip: ask for rooms with access to the terrace and sea views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DimG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel opened quite recently after years off careful restoration to the building. The result is extremely pleasant. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. There is a lovely terrace with stunning views on the top. Delightful home made breakfast in the courtyard or at a large antique table. Music room, library and easy access to the sea for a wonderful and unique swim in front of the city walls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenza r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Monemvasia is stunning, and Theophano's typifies the settlement, with quirky rooms (I stayed in the old water cistern!) and an all homemade breakfast with jams, yogurts, cakes and more. Service is very personal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here in early June 2014 for 3 nights. Our arrival welcome was rather unfortunate: we opted to travel by bus from Athens rather than to rent a car because I do not drive and my partner had decided that he did not want to drive. The journey took more than 9 hours in total as we had to change buses FOUR times. It was raining on our arrival in Monemvasia and after struggling through the old towns cobbled alley ways we eventually found the hotel. The owner sat us down and immediately started to berate us for having travelled by bus and not having taken a taxi! However, we did not know about the taxi option. We were wet, tired and all we wanted was to shower, settle in and have a little nap. Eventually we were shown to our room which was 10 minutes walk from the main hotel - we had been warned about this fortunately. The owner said she would have our luggage brought to the room by a porter but this took ages and wwe were in our wwet clothing! A word of warning: if you have bad legs, feet, back etc then this is not for you as it was a fairly steep climb up to the room. We were told that the room had a sea view but this was not entirely true, one could see the sea but not from the room. Although the accommodation was pleasant and fairly pretty it was not all that practical and if you suffer from claustrophobia then this is not the room for you. All the buildings in the old settlement are made from stone and this is very pleasing but in this particular room the roof was curved (vaulted) and a bathroom under the curved roof was very impractical, especially the shower and especially is you are tall! Initially breakfast was rather meagre but when we asked for certain items that we had seen other guests getting for breakfast we too were given them...and every morning from then on. The "hostess" Poppi was charming and very helpful and apparently makes some of the jams. The old town of Monemvasia is really charming and there are dozens of "photo opportunities" around every corner. We met some lovely locals and had some delicious meals especially at Matoula's (recommended by Fani) and also at Kanoni where the food, waiter and owners were divine....with a superb view from the roof terrace. There are some delightful speciality shops in the "settlement" including an art gallery selling beautiful graphic images (also in poster form to take home with you). On our departure the owner Fani kindly arranged for us to travel back to Athens by taxi (E40 per person) with two other passengers - a little bit squashed with three in the back! ...but at least this journey only took three and a half hours - from the gates of the castle in Monemvasia direct to the door of our hotel in Athens! On a final note: this is not cheap or run of the mill accomodation so one would expect little things like a few tea bags etc in the room and a kettle (there was a small "briki" pot and little hot plate) ...and 1 teaspoon! I have to admit that our stay in Monemvasia was not only pleasant but memorable and I think that a different room would definitely have made it exceptional.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel with a proper sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Strawsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A first class hotel, combining stunning location, beautiful architecture, a beautiful room and a wonderful personal welcome. We had a large room : very calm and cool, an oasis of rest in Monembasia. Just to imagine that all the furniture, every single item of the hotel had to be taken to the hotel in a cart, because cars are not allowed into the city. The decoration/furniture is proof of the exquisite taste of the hostess and has been chosen with a lot of care!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
253 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#11 of 23 in Monemvasia
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lazareto Hotel
Lazareto Hotel
#15 of 23 in Monemvasia
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theophano Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theophano Art Hotel

Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Hotel Class:3 star — Theophano Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name Theophano Art Hotel is an expression of the fact that, apart from wishing to create a unique environment for guests, we also wanted to display our family collection of art and antique furniture, lovingly hand picked on our travels in Greece and abroad during the last twenty years. The collection ties in wonderfully with the buildings, and invites guests to enjoy it both in their rooms and the hotel's common areas. The common areas are an important part of the hotel as the accommodation is extended outside the individual rooms. The hotel offers a breakfast room and a lounge which overlook the Myrtoo Sea, where guests may enjoy their breakfast, or relax in different times in the day. There is also a shady veranda, a roof terrace with panoramic views and several separate lounges where guests may play board games, read, use the internet. These spaces are also used for events of different kinds. In the past we have successfully hosted book presentations and poetry readings, jewelry and painting exhibitions, classical music concerts, yoga retreats and weddings! In our hotel no two rooms are the same making every stay a whole new experience for guests, no matter how many times they return. The rooms differ both in terms of architecture, views, orientation, size and balcony as well as in terms of decoration and furnishings. Thanks to this, guests forget that they are in a hotel room and they find themselves immersed in the warm atmosphere of a mansion house. The hotel's location, on the square of Chrysafitissa, the largest open space within the Castle, is absolutely stunning. Once there, the visitor can directly enjoy panoramic views of the sea, the historic fortifications and the traditional settlement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Theophano Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing